the way the cookie crumbles.

15 Apr

One thing I’m working on in my life is accepting when things don’t go quite as I’d like them to. Of course, I like to translate this into something relating to food. Specifically cookies. So my new phrase? “That’s just the way the cookie crumbles.”

For instance:

Lately, I’ve been too busy to post daily, so I post every-other-day (and still feel kind of bad about it).

But lately, that’s just the way the cookie crumbles. (PS I’m looking for guest posts :) see bottom of post)

This does not include any of the millions of extraneous meetings I end up having to go to… or the massive amount of reading I’m behind on. 

Sometimes, I end up falling asleep at 11:00 at night instead of hanging out with my friends.

Sometimes, you spend hours meeting to organize protocol for running a laboratory experiment (for psychology) only to realize the program itself isn’t running when you’ve already sat 5 participants down.

Sometimes, I miss 10 easy points on a chemistry test because the teacher poorly explained different types of error… resulting in me leaving chem with tears in my eyes (fortunately I had neuropsych right after and nothing puts me in a better mood than learning millions of neurotransmitters. I’m not even being sarcastic).

Sometimes, I dispense with the drama and just make cookies. And they’re delicious, but crumbly.

That, my friends, is really just the way the cookie crumbles.

I made these somewhat on a whim, and to use up the Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter I have in my room so I don’t eat it all with a spoon (difficult task, let me tell you). Since the peanut butter itself is fairly sweet, I didn’t want to add sugar… But ended up adding a bit in at the end anyways to help with chewiness and flavor. Still, these have less sugar than most recipe, and they’re vegan if you pick the right chocolate chips.

Peanut Butter & Co = LOVE

They are, as I said, crumbly. But really that means that the peanut butter kind of melts in your mouth. And they’re bursting with cinnamony goodness. So what they lack in binding, they make up for in flavor. However, these were originally intended for a package, and there’s virtually no way they would have escaped the harsh handling of the postman unscathed.

So I ate them. (Well, I had help, but…) And sometimes, cookie crumbles are even better than the real thing. Now that’s a lesson in positivity. :)

Cinnamon-Raisin Peanut Butter Cookies
Makes about 18 small-ish cookies 

1/2 cup Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter
2-3 tablespoons of oil
3-4 tablespoons nondairy milk, milk, or water
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup oats
1/2 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (more or less to taste)
1/2 cup raisins, chocolate chips, or whatever mix-in you prefer (I used half raisins, half chocolate chips)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a baking sheet.

In a medium bowl, mix together wet ingredients until well-mixed and caramelly (may take a few minutes). In a separate bowl, mix together dry ingredients.

Roll into balls for dough-ball-like cookies (even more crumbly) or flatten into disks for “traditional” cookies. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until edges are just set. Allow to cool for at least 10 minutes before removing from sheet; they will crumble.

But like I said, sometimes crumbles are even better.

What are your “cookie crumbles”?

If anyone is interested in doing guest posts, I’m thinking I’ll be interspersing them throughout the quarter to at least ease up a bit on my personal load… It can be about anything health, food, life related. :) shoot me an e-mail at cookiesncarrots at gmail.com :)

25 Responses to “the way the cookie crumbles.”

  1. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 15, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Hmmmm. I’m feeling bake-y. I wonder if I could use granola for the oats? and regular PB (all I have)

    Whatcha think dahling? ooh! enter my giveaways! I dont know if you have yet? and if you didn’t – you must! <3

    love ya nicoley!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots April 15, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

      I think it would work! You might have to add a little more flour if the dough is sticky, since the granola won’t quite absorb moisture the way the oats would. You might want to add a bit more sugar/stevia if you make it with regular pb :) up to your tastebuds though!

      Ooh I htink I entered at least oen but I will make sure that I’m all entered in them
      love you too darlin <3

  2. movesnmunchies April 15, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    ah im sorry you are so bsy!! AHHH HOLY COW is that lab really like 10000 hours long!!?!?!?!! how do you do it!!! impressive!

  3. megan @ the oatmeal diaries April 15, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Never feel bad about “only” posting every other day! Just do what you can!! And I agree- PB & Co is the besttt :)

  4. Stefanie April 15, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    As long as you post it does not matter how often. :) Those cookies look good.

  5. Jess@HealthyExposures April 15, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    holy moly. i am dizzy just looking at your schedule; and i thought i was getting busy lately! (er…could have phrased that better, but I’ll leave it.)
    Don’t worry about posting every other day. Quality over quantity, dear :]

  6. Jenny April 15, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    I know just how addicting that cinnamon raisin pb can be, it’s my favorite :) I love those cookie crumbles, I don’t think I’d be able to contain myself. And no worries about posting everyday! I post like every other day but that’s bc my life isn’t exciting at all haha Is this your last semester? I’m guessing with all the lab work

  7. Ma Ma Megan April 15, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    WOAH you have a busy schedule! :O major props to you girl!

  8. beyondbananas April 15, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Those cookies look delicious.. very creative idea! You are doing a great job keeping up with everything! Sometimes life gets in the way tho.. boo to that!

  9. Tara April 15, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    You can’t feel guilty about not posting. I know exactly how you feel, but honestly I’d rather read one good quality post that you put more effort into then two okay posts that were thrown together quickly, you know?

    I just bookmarked this page for the recipe. Cinnamon Raisin is my mom’s favorite peanut butter so I’m gonna make them for her on mother’s day!

  10. Briana April 15, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    I feel your pain, the end of the semester is tough and everything adds up, but you can do it!

    That recipe looks great, I will have to save this page. Great photos by the way!

  11. Kimberley April 15, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    I want to try PB&CO :(

    I love the saying “the way the cookie crumbles” probably because I am obsessed with cookies though ;)

  12. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate April 15, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Wow that is a busy schedule!

  13. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy April 15, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    We had tons of problems with our program in the lab at the beginning of the semester too! So I totally feel your pain! After a week of problems – it was finally up and running! :)

  14. katshealthcorner April 15, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    YUM!!!! I love how little sugar is in these! YAY! :D

    What a great recipe Nicole! YUM! :D

  15. The Teenage Taste April 16, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    Wow! I give you major props for still being able to post with such a busy schedule! I’d love to do a guest post! I’ll shoot you an email soon!

  16. simplynutritiouskate April 16, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    I havent tried cinnamon raisin pb yet but these cookies look amazing I love how little they are :)

  17. Katie April 16, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Im loving these and Cinnamon Raisin PB is my fave besides the Mighty Maple!!

    Yummy!!!!

  18. bakebooks April 16, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Those cookies look so good!

    You are so right – I need to accept that we can’t be in CONTROL of everything that happens. I freak out if I’m late for something or stuck in traffic or someone keeps me waiting on the phone or I didn’t get work done, etc etc etc…

    Such is life. Hang in there!

  19. Amy April 16, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Oh God! Your schedule took me back in time to those days where chem/physics/geo labs sucked the life out of me. You rock for being able to post on that schedule… I know it all too well! Onto the food… these look wonderful and I’m debating making them right now and just eating the dough ;-) I love that you can veganize these very easily too!

  20. pawsitivelife April 16, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    Falling asleep at 11? sounds like a LATE night to me! God, I am sooo happy to be done school, I used to HATE april and exams. I cant imagine running a blog at the same time. YOUR amazing no matter how busy you are

  21. Jess April 16, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    PB & Company IS love!! :D

  22. Kelsey @ Clean Teen Kelsey April 17, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    That’s a great motto! Mine is “Life goes on.” I say that often, because it’s a good reminder that even though something is wrong or not how I want it to be, life DOES go on. Someday it won’t matter, and it will all be fine.

    Yummmm cookies!! I’ve never tried that flavor of PB & Co. I think I’ve only tried White Chocolate Wonderful and Dark Chocolate Dreams. Both are fab. :)

  23. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds April 18, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    I LOVE that last phote. FoodGawker that ASAP! I would love to guest post! Let me know!

Leave a comment