mother’s-day muffins [cappuccino muffins]

8 May

It seems that most mother’s day gifts I’ve given are things that only a mother could love.

Only a mother could love the paint-spattered excuses for “artwork” I proudly handed to her in the first grade.

Only a mother could love being ordered to return to bed for “breakfast in bed” consisting of lightly-burned toast, yogurt, & cereal.

Only a mother could love mug after painted mug of uncreative, polka-dotted ceramics.

Only a mother could love the “gift” of my high school’s dangerously delicious Cappuccino muffins, conveniently charged to her credit card account.

But anyone could love my at-home replication of those muffins. I searched far and wide, and it took a variety of different recipes, but when I finally stumbled upon this gem in Vegan Brunch by Isa Moskovitz, I knew I’d found my winner.

Perhaps not the greatest sacrifice on my part, but it did take some work… And a few less-than-perfect muffins. ;)

Vegan Cappuccino-Chip Muffins
adapted slightly from Vegan Brunch; also found here

1c almond milk (or your fave non-dairy milk)
1 heaping tablespoon instant coffee crystals
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 cup canola oil
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (or more canola oil for a better “crust”)
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 375 degrees and lightly grease a muffin tin.
In a small cup, mix coffee granules with half of nondairy milk; add in the rest of the milk and the vinegar, and set aside to thicken.
In a small bowl, stir together dry ingredients. Make a well in the center and add in oil, applesauce, vanilla, and thickened milk. Stir together until just combined, taking care not to overmix, then gently fold in chocolate chips.
Fill muffin tins about 3/4 full and bake for 22-26 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool in tins for a few minutes before removing and letting cool on a plate.

While I’m not actually at home to make my mom a special breakfast, I’m hoping that sharing her favorite recipe and sending some cyber-carbs will help fill the void until I’m home in a month (!).  I wish I could do more, as this seems like even more of a cop-out than usual.

Only my mother could put up with my incessant chatter, constant whining, the perpetually dirty kitchen & ever-dwindling supply of flour and sugar. Only my mother would make me breakfast in bed almost every day, & make my bed when I “forget” to. Only my mother thinks I’m the coolest thing since sliced bread so I should write a book/open a cookie shop (ah, delusions). Only my mother magically receives telepathic messages when I’m not feeling okay, and knows how to put a smile back on my face.

And most of all, only my mother loves me, hugs me, & listens to me when I need it most.

Love you, mom!

What are you doing for mother’s day? What about you could only your mother love/understand? 
20 Responses to “mother’s-day muffins [cappuccino muffins]”

  1. keepnthefaith May 8, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    Mmmmm looks and sounds so so good!! I seriously don’t think there is anything better than homemade baked goods for a gift. So thoughtful and delicious!!! :):)

  2. Alaina Rose @ Sweetness of Life May 8, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    So sweet! <3 And yum, those muffins look so good!!! How are some of them shaped like hearts?! That's awesome :-)

  3. cinnamonalicious May 8, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Oh wow they look sooooo good!!
    It’s not mother’s day in the UK, and I wasn’t with my mum for mothers day but I made her dinner to make up for it :)

  4. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) May 8, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    These look delicious! Only a mother could love my first attempts at baking a few years ago… they were horrible, but she never complained about the cupcakes with beets in them :)

  5. Ma Ma Megan May 8, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    My mom loves sweet coffee things, I bet she would love these :D

  6. Jenny May 8, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    I definitely do think any mother would love those muffins ;) Happy Mother’s Day to your mommy! :D

  7. pawsitivelife May 8, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Those muffins are AMAZING, my mom isnt one for sweets so I would have to consume these on my own

  8. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate May 8, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Can I be your mom for the day so I can have some muffins?

  9. moveovercelery May 8, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Mmmmmm, they sound so good. I’m sure your mama loved them! And they’re heart shaped! :)

  10. Tara May 8, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    Oooh that sounds so good! I’ve never thought to try a coffee flavored muffin. I really wanted to make my mom your cinnamon raisin pb cookies but I ran out of time. I gave her a voucher for them instead :)

  11. katshealthcorner May 8, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Those muffins are gorgeous!

  12. Jess May 8, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    Those look so cute!

  13. runyogarepeat May 8, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    Oo, yum! Cute post about your mom!

  14. Sophia @ Raven Waves May 8, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    I love the fact that the muffin is heart shaped!! Totally agree with you on the artwork thing too. Only a mama could love that!

  15. fashionfitnessfoodie May 9, 2011 at 6:11 am #

    Love that you made your muffins in a heart shape :) my mom would LOVE these babies!!

  16. Vivianne May 9, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    Aw that’s so cute that your mom makes you breakfast in bed! I’m the opposite, I’ve been making my mom oatmeal for the past week (;

    Those muffins look yummy! I just made lemon poppyseed the other day. So delicious!

  17. Katie May 9, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    How sweet! Love that they are hearts!

    The pic of you and your mom is so sweet!! Beautiful!!

    xoxo <3

  18. allieksmith May 9, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Cappuccino muffins sound delightful! Yum:)
    Your mom seems like she is really awesome too!

  19. beautyrun May 9, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    I baked my mom cookies for Mother’s Day.

    By the way… I LOVE your outfit!

  20. Rach @ This Italian Family May 11, 2011 at 7:02 am #

    Haha! I have definitely given my mom some similar gifts over the years (painted mugs, burnt toast, etc, haha!). These muffins look completely amazing! I’m sure your mom appreciated knowing she was thought of! You two are so cute together, by the way! Love that shot :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

