disney shenanigans: the beginning

11 Jul

You want Disney? You got Disney. ;)

On Friday or Saturday I finally got through all 1900 of my pictures and somehow selected only 400 to put up on Facebook (I’m atrociously indecisive, okay?). Don’t worry; I won’t bombard you with ALL of them.

I’ve decided to mostly do it by park (though some parks will take more than one day), and my Disney posts will be somewhat interspersed so I can pretend like I’m still a “food” blogger (but what’s in a name, really?).

We’re going to get the boring-er stuff out of the way, so some of the logistics and my first day of Disney magic!

The Trip

I woke up at 3:30 to get on a plane at 6:30. Only for Disney, people.

Probably the best part of the flight was seeing the gorgeous mountains out my window when flying over Washington. What a lovely state.

The worst part? No food for, like, 8 hours. Well, we bought overpriced snacks on the airplane (no free pretzels or anything, American Airlines is no fun!) and our connection Dallas was INCREDIBLY tight. So no food there either. Not the most fun I’ve ever had on a plane, but I was asleep for a lot of it so I couldn’t hear my stomach gnawing itself to pieces.

The Hotel

After a nice little thunderstorm as we were landing (definitely saw a lightning bolt from the plane…) and a pit stop at a trashy, cheap gift shop for a Disney princess lanyard (completely necessary), we finally arrived on Disney territory.

We stayed at Disney’s Old Key West Resort. The line the buses always played when we were getting there like to say something about how it “brings the gingerbread architecture and whimsical charm of the Conch Republic right here to Central Florida.” (Can you tell we rode the buses a lot?)

It was rather cute though, I’m not going to lie. And there are lots of benefits to staying in a Disney hotel, even if it is more expensive (we have a timeshare thing that we exchanged for part of the price, or something to that effect). Namely that you can get in for early and late hours at different parks, you have an easy bus ride to all the parks, oh and there are random Mickey Mouses everywhere.

And the best part? They’re villas. Which means there are kitchens.

We didn’t do a whole lot of cooking, mostly just sandwiches and boiled eggs. But it was nice to be able to buy yogurt and such.

First Night Out

Even though I was positively exhausted, we wanted to make the most of our vacation and decided to head out to Magic Kingdom for a few hours that night (we had “Extra Magic Hours” since we were staying at a Disney hotel, so the park was open later for us… until 3 AM.)

Oh, did I mention it was pouring rain? Hello ponchos.


Florida rain is DRASTICALLY different than Seattle rain. I actually much prefer the warmer, denser rain in Florida to the cold nagging drizzle in Seattle. Much better to dance in. :)

After a rather annoying 30-minute wait for the bus, we FINALLY arrived at the Magic Kingdom!

I’ll go into excruciating detail about the absolute wonderland that is the Magic Kingdom at some point (I have 474 pictures of that park alone), but that’s a whole post of its own. Mostly I just adore my the castle. Oh, to be a Disney Princess…

Yes, this was my favorite park. :)

Do you like flying? I go back and forth. I HATE how dry it is in planes but it’s so fun to see a birds-eye view of everything… Assuming it’s clear, that is. :) And I hate being hungry, soooo the lack of even pretzels on a 4-hour flight was not my cup of tea.

Thunderstorms: yay or nay? I like them well enough, except that stuff shuts down. Like I said, though, the really intense summer showers are amazing; they have them in Brazil too and dancing in that kind of rain is SO much fun, and you don’t feel like you’ll freeze afterwards!

22 Responses to “disney shenanigans: the beginning”

  1. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons July 11, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    Def my fav part too =) My sister in law worked for Fantasty Land and now works underground at all the parts (rotating sched)! I need to visit her and get my disney on again =) love it so so so much! rain and all! hehe

  2. keepnthefaith July 11, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    Looks like a great beginning to a trip!! Can’t wait for the rest :) you better be wearing Mickey ears in one!! ;)

  3. sugarcoatedsisters July 11, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    I always get so bored on plane flights! I like them if 1) I bring enough snacks to keep me sane, 2) I sleep for the majority of it, 3) the clouds looks super fluffy, 4) there is in flight TV/movies

    I don’t like thunderstorms too much because they scare me! My family members in the midwest always have crazy stories about lightning so I’m not a huge fan!

  4. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 11, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    I’d get up at 3 AM for Disney too :D But I’m not a big fan of flying. Traveling is super, but the plane ride itself is meh. Dry, cramped, boring. The view is nice for sure, but even that wears off. And then having to deal with luggage and transfers. Boo. But again, I’d do it for Disney, no question ;)

    And I’m definitely a big fan of thunderstorms. I used to love watching them when I was a little kid :D

  5. Tara July 11, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    I love disney! I stayed in the key west hotel the first time I went.. which was when I was 7 so I don’t really remember much. I don’t mind flying because I love to travel. I really don’t mind flying when I can get inflight wifi. Last time i just read blogs and watched youtube for 4 hours and it went by pretty fast.

  6. Ellie@fitforthesoul July 11, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Ohhh I loooooove thunderstorms!! I’m sure Brazil and Argentina (where I’m from) are similar in that regard! This trip sounds fun~And I kind of do like flyingg. Except, most of the flights I’ve taken are to far far away continents–average of 16 hours. 0_0 Those are tough after a while hehe.

  7. debbiecutieface July 11, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    I love Disney! It’s so much fun, even when you’re older! :) And rain and ponchos? HAHA, sooo typical of Disney vacations.

    And you’re right, American Airlines is no fun! They never serve any food, ever…they like to starve their passengers lol

  8. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! July 11, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    Magic Kingdom is totally my favorite park! Disney is just such an incredible place all together…so magical!!!

    I don’t love flying but it doesn’t scare me or anything like that…..its just really boring and really just a hassle in general.

  9. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) July 11, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    I really want to go to Disneyworld! I’ve only been to Disneyland :) I went to Seattle last year and flying over the mountains was incredible!

  10. Brittany July 11, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    Disneyland and Disneyworld..are THE happiest places on earth..YOU luckkkyy girl! I don’t mind flying..the take off and landing suck and the lack of filtration in the air freaks me out a bit, but all in all it’s worth it.

  11. TL July 11, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    so jealous :) i miss youuu

  12. fashionfitnessfoodie July 12, 2011 at 4:57 am #

    Oh to be a disney princess is right! That is my dreammm! I hope to get engaged in front of the castle! hehe

  13. BrittFit July 12, 2011 at 5:03 am #

    AHHH so jealous of that cute house!!! looks like fun :)

  14. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) July 12, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Ah looks like SO much fun!! Why wasn’t I invited? ;)
    Thunderstorms fascinate me so much! Whenever we have one at our house, I can always be found staring up at it. :)
    I generally love flying, except for when they’re really long like the tenish hour flight to Germany. Yeah, that was a little long ;) But oh doesn’t the no food thing drive you crazy?! That used to be my favorite part about flying – the free food! :) They actually did give us food on the way to Germany and then from Germany to Greece. On the first flight I had specifically requested vegetarian food, so I got a special meal. But then they served their other passengers something that was already vegetarian and it looked way better than what I got, lol. And then on the next flight, they served one meal to everyone. I knew it wouldn’t be vegetarian so I said I wasn’t hungry (I’d come armed with snacks :) But it was shoved under my nose anyway… maybe I looked hungry? And it ended up being meatballs and rice. But there were two bread rolls with it so I had those and some swiss cheese that came with it. Haha, bread and cheese – interesting dinner (wasn’t too bad though!) Ok enough of me jabbering about my meals on planes experiences. Hope you have the best rest of the week!! :D
    <3 <3 <3

  15. Rach @ This Italian Family July 12, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    I am a fan of flying. It makes travel soooo fast which is wonderful. Thunderstorms don’t bother me, but I’m not a huge fan of rain. Sunshine is my cuppa tea. :)

  16. hippierunner July 12, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    YAy! i feel like i was there! thank you for sharing. i can’t wait for more! :)

  17. The Healthy Apple July 13, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    I love Disney; so happy you are having a great trip. I love your blog and enjoy reading it every week!
    Safe Travels and have fun with Mickey Mouse and Minnie!

  18. Megan July 13, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    I’m not intimated in the least bit by flying, my only problem is I HATE sitting for too long.
    I miss disneyland – haven’t been there in years!

  19. Jess July 13, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Thunderstorms are a TOTAL YAY from me ;) Love them!!

    glad y’all had such a fun time :)

  20. megpinkgiggles July 14, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    I love Disney! I kind of hate flying tho. I think I’m just such a worrier. It doesn’t help that I’m so akward and do the most ridiculous things…however I’m going on a plan tonight to NYC so I better start thinking positively!

  21. kbwood July 14, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    how fun!!!! I LOVE thunderstorms- something about them in the summertime just makes me happy!!!

  22. missymiller July 14, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    The Happiest place on EARTH!!!!!
    Florida!!! I mean, the Magic Kingdom! (And Florida).
    Yesterday? The rain was HOT…not warm. HOT!

    When you come back come visit SoFla and look me up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

