walt disney world: epcot’s future world

14 Jul

Hi, sorry I’m still failing at posting regularly. To be honest I’m in a bit of a funk (Disney withdrawal? :P haha) but I’m trying to revive my motivation. :)

Boys on the bus!

Our first full day at Disney was spent mostly at Epcot.

EPCOT originally stood for Experimental Prototype Community Of Tomorrow; apparently Walt Disney wanted to create a small utopian society and dabble in city planning. What we ended up with is a fusion of “Future World”, which features a bunch of techy & space stuff, and the World Showcase, which is a tour through some major countries in the world all within one park (which will be covered in another post :) ).

We started our morning out with Mission: Space.

See, none of us knew that this was probably the most intense ride at Disney; it’s a spaceship simulator involving a centrifuge. It was incredibly realistic-feeling (not that I’ve ever actually been launched into space) but I was definitely weaving a bit afterwards and my stomach was less than pleased. Still worth trying, but there’s a lighter version if you’re not up for the crazy spinning.

Of course, we also did Spaceship Earth (as photographed above, that big ole ball!). It goes through a bunch of animatronic scenes in the history of our planet and then speculates about the future. I just love animatronics, so while this is decidedly not a thrill ride, it’s still beautifully done and I enjoyed it. At the end there are also lots of techie futuristic toys and such you can play with…

Brother is focusing intently on racing.

But I just took pictures. :) Typical.

Similarly, there’s a place called Innoventions that has a bunch of different geeky things, including one of those design-your-own-coaster contraptions (though this one features physics), and a place where you can record your body movements and make a video game with yourself as the main character.

Play mine here! haha :)

Nifty, right?

Also within Future World is a little section called “The Land”

This is kind of their “agricultural-hippie” section, but it also features the ever-popular “Soarin’“.

What I liked best was my dad and brother’s worst nightmare… A little boat ride through some of the agricultural research labs they have onsite.

They were growing all kinds of vegetables and fruits and apparently experimenting with state-of-the-art technologiest, all of which was pretty neat to see.

It also ended up on my plate at the “Seasons” food court door (but food will be covered in another post… but here’s a sneak preview :) ).

And for the little ones, there’s THE CUTEST Finding Nemo ride… which I may have gone on twice.

My little cousin is adorable… and a GREAT excuse to ride all the kiddy rides ;)

So here’s the general breakdown.

Most popular (aka get a Fastpass or get there early!): Soarin’, Test Track (which was a lot of fun but I didn’t really get pictures of it).

My Highlights: The Seas with Nemo, Spaceship Earth, Test Track, Living with the Land (that boat tour)

Lowlights: Captain EO. Great dancing (Michael Jackson), decent special effects (Spielberg), apparently NO screenwriting/plot.

Recommendations: If you want to go see Soarin’, get there early. Even Fastpasses go REALLY quickly. Also, Test Track closes when it’s raining, so you’re probably better off doing that fairly early too. And Epcot has the best food. At least in my opinion. :)

Any fun experiences with EPCOT?

Do you use your younger relatives as an excuse to go on kiddy rides? I totally do… But I also shamelessly go on them myself anyways. 

19 Responses to “walt disney world: epcot’s future world”

  1. sugarcoatedsisters July 14, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    Epcot = SO MUCH FOOD! That’s the one thing I remember about it! My most vivid memory was from my junior year of high school when I went there with my high school dance team. I had chocolate crepes and got SO sick with food poisoning. I started vomiting during a practice later that night (the night before competition!!!) and so did 3 other girls on our team of 15.

    It was terrible, but Epcot was fun! And I made sure not to have chocolate crepes my senior year when we went again :)

    – Nicole

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! July 15, 2011 at 5:37 am #

    Epcot is actually my least favorite park…..I went there to do the track and then left…I just think its so boring there lol! I am more about the thrill rides, coasters, and excitement! Epcot just didn’t do it for me.

  3. Tara July 15, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    I just played your game, haha. that’s so cool! I’ve never been to epcot but i really think I would enjoy it. I think it would be cool to go when they have the food festival! I also had no idea they had the living with the land tour. My sister would hate it but I would force her on it. i wish I could say having a younger sibling means I get to enjoy the kiddie rides, but she’s too adventurous and has been a roller coaser rider since she was a baby.

  4. Stefanie July 15, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    Epcot is one of my favorite Disney parks. I like to browse the countries. Test truck is fun but gave me a bad headache the last time I went on it. My dad is a little obbsessed with The Land ride. I think we went on it 2-3 times in one Disney visit. He is into gardening so I’ll give him a break. Most, if not all, the food served at Disney is grown off site. It is funny how they make you believe they grow all of their vegetables. It would be hard to do for the vast quantity of people they serve daily.

    Thanks for the information on the Innovations. I always wondered what it was all about but never got the chance to go in and check it out.

  5. fashionfitnessfoodie July 15, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    You’re totally having Disney withdraws… Its the greatest place on earth!

    I’ve done the drink around the world at Epcot :)

  6. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 15, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    Girl you’re TOTALLY making me crave a trip to Disneyland! I haven’t been there since I was like 5 years old, so I don’t think I ever went to EPCOT, but I’ll keep your recommendations in mind :D I might be planning a trip this summer… finger’s crossed!

    And I totally use younger relatives as an excuse to play with toys and do goofy things. I have no shame in doing them myself, but at least being with someone younger doesn’t get me as many strange looks ;)

  7. keepnthefaith July 15, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    This is seriously neato. Since I’m sure I’ll never make it here, thx for going into detail about everything :)

  8. Alaina Rose @ Sweetness Of Life July 15, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    How fun! It looks like you had such a blast. I’ve been enjoying all your photos, on here and on facebook. I especially loved the Harry Potter photos. :-) Awesome!

  9. thebeautynotebooks July 15, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Love Mission Space! I used to be terrified of roller coasters, and I remember reading a book from The Baby Sitters Club where everyone went to Disney World and one of the girls (Mallory, maybe?) got sick on Mission Space. So when I finally got over my fear of roller coasters, I was a little worried going on Mission Space because I remembered the part from the book. But I obviously had nothing to worry about; the ride was pretty small as far as roller coasters go, and so much fun!

    also: soaring = amazing!

  10. ittybitsofbalance July 15, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    I loveloveLOVE Epcot! But I barely stayed in the future world– I skipped straight to the food :D

  11. lactosefreelizzie July 16, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    I’ve never been to epcot, but i totally would love to go!

  12. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) July 17, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    I don’t have any little cousins/siblings so I use the “I’m still five years old” part of my brain as an excuse instead. ;)

    Haha, awesome game! That’s too cool! :D

    Aww this post is making me want to go to epcot sooo badly!!! If you ever go back again and need a buddy to go with, let me know. ;) I would even go on the kiddy rides with you. ;)

    Hope you have the most amazing week girl!!!

    <3 <3

  13. Jess July 17, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Sadly, I’ve never been to EPCOT, or disney world/land…insane I know ;)

  14. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel July 17, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    that is toooo cool! ok totally need to play your video game!! <3

  15. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel July 17, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    just finished level one, haha your character is awesome!!

  16. Katy (The Singing Runner) July 17, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    I LOVE Epcot!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE it! Although I love all the parks. ;) It’s a shame I haven’t been since running the 1/2 in January, and even then, I was (literally) running through the parks. No time for rides. ;)

    Oh, and is it creepy that I played the game? Lol!

  17. Amelia @ princessandthefrosting July 19, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    Great blog, glad I found it :)

  18. Ellie@fitforthesoul July 19, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Confession: Greg and I went on the Peter Pan ride at disneyland last year!! teeeheeee :D you are cool.

  19. katshealthcorner July 20, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Haha, I totally use my younger siblings/cousins to do that! :) It’s just so much fun to be a little kid! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

