Friendship & Mixed-Berry Muffins

10 Jul

Hate to start a post with an apology, but please excuse the crap photos; these were made late at night and I forgot to re-photograph in the morning, and I really wanted to share the recipe despite the photographic failure!

When my friends come over, I like to spoil them. Fatten them up. Perhaps it’s the Brazilian-mother instinct in me (though really, I think mothers of all varieties are prone to overfeeding their guests!). I have been known to wake up over an hour early just to make fresh pancakes. One of my best friends is a camp counselor this summer and had this week off while her parents are still in Australia, so she opted to come and stay with me. I know that she tends to be more meat-and-potatoes in her eating habits than I am so I decided to make her a special breakfast: muffins. They were well-received with a perfect crumb and delicate sweetness that satisfied everyone; Devon had to reserve and hide herself a muffin for her last morning with us so my parents wouldn’t eat it!

These were a Martha Stewart recipe (originally for just blueberries, but I used a frozen berry mix to diversify a little, or something) so obviously they were perfect in taste. My only qualm with the recipe was that it was damn near impossible to get the muffins out of the tin without having them crumble. Of course, when I looked up the recipe on her website (I got them off of another blog originally) I read that we were to be generous when buttering the muffin tin and that flour was to be used. So clearly the Pam spray was insufficient. Minus points for presentation, but how can you resist those delectable berries?

Martha Stewart’s Blueberry Muffins: Diversified
adapted ever-so-slightly from here; original recipe here

2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter (room temp)
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk

Preheat oven to 375. Grease a muffin tin very well with butter or spray (consider tossing some flour around as well).
In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and salt.
In a separate bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy (about 3 minutes). Mix in eggs one at a time, then add in the vanilla. Add flour mixture and mix until just combined. Add milk and stir until just combined. Fold in frozen berries (keep them in the freezer until this point so they don’t melt and make the entire batter purple!)
Divide mixture between 12 muffin cups (batter will be thick).  Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

