Ginger-Raisin Bran Muffins

13 Jul

There is something delightfully comforting about the gentle heat of ginger. I could wax poetic about my adoration of this simple root for hours, but rather than bore you with the details, I will simply present you with a somewhat sub-par photographic display of my love. It may be hard to tell, but these muffins were made in my heart-shaped smaller-than-normal-but-bigger-than-mini muffin tin. Spreading the ginger love, man!

Filled with gingery-sweet goodness

This recipe came from Vegan with a Vengeance with minimal modifications by yours truly. While I am no longer vegan (and my former veganism is a story for another time) I still enjoy baking vegan when possible. I’ve already mentioned Isa and her other cookbook, Veganomicon; VWAV is her original, and I have been a follower ever since I discovered it. These muffins are relatively healthy (particularly since I cut some of the oil out) and the pockets of sweet heat from the crystallized ginger and the raisin are positively delightful. They’d make a fabulous on-the-go breakfast. My mom mentioned that chocolate-chips would be good instead of raisins, but I like them as-is (back to the raisins vs. chocolate chips debate… alas!). Make them. Enjoy them. And feel good about it.

Ginger Raisin Bran Muffins
adapted slightly from Vegan with a Vengeance

1/2 c raisins
1 1/2 c all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 c sugar
2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 c wheat bran
1 1/4 c nondairy milk (I use Unsweetened Almond Breeze)
2 tbsp canola oil
1/4 c applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 c chopped ginger

Preheat oven to 400. Lightly grease 12-muffin tin (in my case, a 12 mini-muffin tin; I halved this recipe). Soak raisins in hot water to cover, set aside.
Sift together flour through salt (dry ingredients). Mix in bran. Create a well in the center and add ingredients through vanilla. Mix with spoon until just combined. Drain raisins and fold in along with crystallized ginger.
FIll muffin cups most ofhte way full and bake for 20 to 22 minutes (~15 for the mini ones) until toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy!
With my muffin tin, a half-batch made 10 with about 86.8 calories, 1.8 grams of fat, 1.5 grams of fiber, and 1.5 grams of protein.
With a full-sized muffin tin the muffins have about 144.6 calories, 3.0 grams fat, 2.5 grams fiber, and 2.5 grams protein.

Leave a Reply

