“Carrot Cake” Pancakes

14 Jul

I am obsessed with pancakes. If it were up to me (and if I weren’t quite so lazy about it) I would probably eat pancakes every day. The kind they serve in the dining hall at school might do in a pinch, but I’m fairly certain they’re of the frozen-and-thawed variety; nothing like the fabulously fluffy kind you can prepare at home!

Of course, if I ate the fluffy-Ihop variety every day I’d probably expand indefinitely, and while this is sometimes tempting, I usually opt for healthier substitutions. I used to make “protein pancakes” featuring soy flour and wheat bran to cut back on calories and amp up nutrition, but honestly they were kind of a mushy mess a lot of the time. So I was happy to find some healthy pancake recipes on HungryGirl that seemed to cook up in an at least somewhat fluffy manner. I did struggle a bit with keeping them from burning (clearly) but they were delicious and properly spiced and everything. I drizzled with sugar-free maple syrup, used extra pumpkin in place of the pineapple, added some ginger, nixed the glaze, omitted the raisins and used up some blueberries that were beckoning to me from the fridge, but otherwise I followed her recipe (wow, that was a lot more modifications than I remembered…)

They might not be the most perfect-looking specimens, but they were delicious, filling, and nutritious, and that’s more than enough for me.

Morning, sunshine!

Carrot Cake Pancakes
adapted from HungryGirl

1/4 cup shredded carrots, chopped
1/4 cup egg substitute
3 tbsp. canned pure pumpkin
2 tbsp. Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze (or milk of choice)
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1/3 cup whole-wheat flour
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1 no-calorie sweetener packet
3/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1/4 tsp. ginger
Dash salt
~1/3 cup blueberries

Place carrots in a microwave-safe bowl with 1 tbsp. water. Cover and microwave for about 1 minute, until softened. Once cool enough to handle, add egg substitute, pumpkin,  soymilk, vanilla extract, and 2 tbsp. water. Mix well and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine all other pancake ingredients: flour, baking powder, sweetener, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and salt. Stir well. Add carrot-egg mixture and mix thoroughly. Gently stir in blueberries, if using.

Bring a skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium-high heat. Add half of the batter to the pan to form one large pancake. Cook for 2 – 3 minutes, until pancake begins to bubble and is solid enough to flip. Gently flip and cook for an additional 1 – 2 minutes, until both sides are lightly browned and inside is cooked through. Plate your pancake. Remove skillet from heat, re-spray, and return to medium-high heat. Repeat with remaining batter to make a second pancake. [I just made smaller ones and got 3 or so of them, use your own basic pancake-making technique however you’d like!]
With my modifications, these provide about 210 calories and 10 grams of fiber!

11 Responses to ““Carrot Cake” Pancakes”

  1. Erika January 4, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    Whoa! A stack of carrot cake pancakes for only 210 cals?! I must give these a try…

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 7, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

      They’re pretty good… but hopefully you aren’t worrying just about calories too much!

      • Erika January 8, 2011 at 11:05 am #

        Oh no, I think these would be a great snack!

  2. Angie @ The Fitness Apple January 15, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Guess who just made these thanks to you?! Me! :)

  3. Kayla January 15, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Um, yummy! I definitely will be making these!

  4. Kelsey @ Clean Teen Kelsey January 15, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    These sound super good! I used to love Hungry Girl recipes. I oughta look in that cookbook and see if there’s anything good. :)

  5. katshealthcorner January 17, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    These look SO good! :) I absolutely love carrot cake, so carrot cake for breakfast is all the better! :)

  6. kate@ahealthypassion April 21, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    These sound incredible im a sucker for all things carrot!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flapjack Frenzy | FoodFitnessFun - January 15, 2011

    […] Nicole’s Carrot Cake Pancakes […]

  2. Easter Recipe Inspiration - April 22, 2011

    […] Carrot Cake Pancakes from Nicole […]

  3. bunny-eats. « Of Cookies & Carrots - April 24, 2011

    […] to read reaaaally old blog posts from last summer before I *really* got started blogging. Click here for my embarrassing early post, and the recipe. :) What have you been doing with your day? […]

Leave a Reply

