Banana Biscotti

16 Jul

I have been craving biscotti like a madwoman. Why? I don’t know. Perhaps it’s because I am decidedly addicted to all things crunchy and equally addicted to coffee. Biscotti are generally one of my favorite cookies, I think… Along with virtually every kind there is, anyways.

I stumbled upon this little recipe for banana biscotti on (where else) foodgawker. It fit nicely with the fact that a) I wanted biscotti b) It’s relatively low in fat c) I had four overripe bananas living on my counter, and most of the recipes I wanted to make involved a set of 3 bananas, leaving one poor soul out. So I set out to make these lovely little bites after dinner one day! (Do pardon the pictures… I should really get in the habit of baking in the morning!)

My pictures again don’t do these justice. They have that delightful crunch and are almost-buttery and delicious. They’re not too sweet, which is helped by adding some mini chocolate chips into the mix (I did this for one of the two logs I baked). I personally liked the subtleness of the flavor, though I would have been happy with a little more banana (and I used a fairly ripe banana as well). Overall, I was happy with these and will probably make them again to satisfy my biscotti cravings. I wonder if they’d work with pumpkin?

The only real notes about the recipe are that I added mini chocolate chips instead of drizzling chocolate, mainly because I’m lazy. I also never got to try them with coffee. Darn. Oh, and my ability to cut things in even pieces is apparently nonexistent. I liked the thinner ones better as they got crispier, and could generally have baked them a few extra minutes to really get that proper crunch. Enjoy!

Banana Biscotti
taken from here (I made some changes to the directions, but…)

1 3/4 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup mashed ripe banana (about 1 large banana)
1 tablespoon canola oil
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
mini chocolate chips to taste (optional)

  1. In a medium bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Set aside
  2. In a large bowl, combine oil, banana, egg and vanilla. Mix until well blended. Add flour mixture to the banana mixture and stir until just combined. The mixture is quite dry, and you do have to mix it in forcefully with your hands, but it will work, I promise. If you want chocolate chips, this is the time to try to mix them in (it works to kind of “fold” them into the middle when you’re shaping the logs as well).
  3. Take half of the dough and shape it into a log (the original instructions say to put it on a lightly floured surface but I put it straight on the parchment-paper covered cookie sheet with no ill effects). The log will be bout 8″ long; flatten it out to a 3″ wide rectangle. Repeat with other log and place on greased/parchment-lined cookie sheet about 2-3 inches apart.
  4. Bake for 30-35 minutes, until firm and cracked on top. Transfer logs to a wire rack to cool for 15 minutes. [I let them cool on the sheet, oops! It still worked…] Decrease oven to 275 degrees.
  5. Once cooled, place the logs on a cutting board, and cut each log diagonally into 1/2″-3/4″ thick slices with a serrated knife. Place the slices cut side down on the cookie sheet. Return to oven and bake an additional 20 minutes; flip the cookies over and bake another 20 minutes on the other side. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.
  6. If desired, put some semi-sweet chocolate chips in a ziploc bag. Place chocolate in microwave for 40 seconds. Continue in 10-15 second intervals until chips are melted. Snip off a tiny corner of the ziploc bag and drizzle over biscotti.

If you make 20 biscotti, each has 74.2 calories, 1.1 grams fat, 0.4 grams fiber, and 1.5 grams protein.

Leave a Reply

