Candy Cane Kissed Pixies

20 Dec

Candy Cane Kisses are my new best friend. They’re creamy with just a hint of crunch from the “peppermint candy” spread about. I don’t really like white chocolate, but these sure hit the spot. Not to mention that they’re a-freaking-dorable.

So I bought a bag. Or three. And I decided to incorporate them into my holiday baking. You may remember the other day when I mentioned the millions of cookies I had to bake for my 13-year-old brother’s school… These were paired with the cinnamon bears for the first day.

Sadly, I neglected to take a picture of them on their own. So you’ll just have to see those damn bears again. ;)
I essentially just took a regular chocolate crinkle/pixie/snowball/insert-other-name-here recipe and stuck a kiss in the middle as it was coming out of the oven. The result was yummy and cute, everything you need in a holiday cookie.

In the future, I’m probably going to try another crinkle recipe for this, or even just a chocolate cookie recipe. There are lots of ideas out there. Recipe Girl even came up with a special recipe just for these fabulous little holiday kisses (and appears to be as addicted as I am, if not more so!).

Good thing I’m all stocked up!

Candy Cane Kissed Pixies
Adapted from Pillsbury’s 2001 Cookies & Candy Magazine

1/4 c. margarine or butter
4 oz. unsweetened chocolate
2 c. flour
2 c. sugar
2  tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
4 eggs
3 tbsp. powdered sugar

In a large saucepan, carefully melt chocolate and margarine over low heat, stirring constantly. Once the mixture is smooth, remove from heat and allow to cool.

In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt, stirring to combine. Add eggs and chocolate mixture; mix well. Cover dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour or until it’s easier to handle.

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Lightly grease a cookie sheet (I used parchment paper). Roll dough into 1-inch balls and roll in powdered sugar. Place 2 inches apart on cookie sheet and bake for 13-18 minutes or until edges are set and the tops are “cracking”. While they’re baking, unwrap about 60 Candy Cane Kisses (I made a half recipe, so it was only 30). Immediately after removing from oven, press one Kiss into the center of each cookie. To maintain the “Kiss” shape, try not to move the cookies until the chocolate has completely re-set. Otherwise you might get a slightly puddly, but still festive-looking kiss.

Enjoy!

One Response to “Candy Cane Kissed Pixies”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Holiday Baking Part 2: Chewy Chocolate-Chocolate-Chip Cookies « Of Carrots & Cookies - December 26, 2010

    […] As I mentioned before, last week I was given the task of baking 200 cookies over two days. I’ve already talked about the two recipes I made for the first day… Cinnamon Polar Bears & Candy-Cane-Kissed Pixies. […]

Leave a Reply

