An Araya’s Outing

26 Dec

Whenever my friends and I are in town, we have a very specific outing we always go on: Shopping on University Ave (near the University of Washington) coupled with lunch at Araya’s Vegetarian Place.

I love Thai food, and I love that my friends love Thai food. At school, most of my friends are more meat-and-potatoes types; my home friends are far more granola, and that’s why I love them. After some driving in circles due to bridge closures and awful holiday traffic, we finally made it to the restaurant for their lunch buffet (with tax, it comes out to about $10, all-you-can-eat vegan Thai goodness!)

Here are my two redheads enjoying their meal:

And my other friend and I enjoying ours:

And the lone picture of the food, since I’m still a little embarrassed about taking pictures of food in public (and my blog is still a secret…. shhh!!). I am singularly obsessed with their soups. Then again, I’m just generally obsessed with Thai soups. And I think I ate half of the serving plate of steamed vegetables. As in, a half a zucchini. My ability to consume vegetables astounds me…

Needless to say, we left with pleasantly full stomachs and hit up the shopping.

So should you find yourself in the vicinity of the University of Washington, in need of delicious Thai food for not too much money, go to Araya’s. You won’t regret it, I promise. Especially in good company. :)

We’ve even defaced one of the tables, a few years ago… but with love, so it’s all good. :)

2 Responses to “An Araya’s Outing”

  1. Tori @ FIToriBLOG.com December 27, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    How cool to go back and see your “defacing” still on the table! :)

Leave a Reply

