Pumpkin Bran Oat Muffins

5 Jan

I started this blog with the intention of telling you all about healthy recipes I was making.

And then the holidays happened.

To be sure, I haven’t gained any significant amount of weight from all the cookies… Nor have I been working out. Nor do I think there’s any cause for concern about all of this; I just wouldn’t want you to get the impression that all I eat are cookies!

I mean, sometimes I eat muffins too!

These muffins were an answer to my cravings for something healthier, but still carby and delicious. They’re definitely ‘healthy’ tasting, though my family rather enjoyed them. I mean, they’re fat-free and have bran in them, so of course they taste healthy. Straight out of the oven they’re kind of mushy, so much so that I’d consider lowering the amount of pumpkin next time. But if you let them cool properly, you’ll be left with a guilt-free treat filled with the spicy goodness of pumpkin pie and the health benefits of bran and oats.

I’m sure these would be delightful with chocolate chips. If that’s still healthy enough for you ;)

Pumpkin Bran-Oat Muffins
Adapted from here

¼ c. egg white substitute
2/3 c. sugar, Splenda, or sweetener of choice
1 ½ – 1 ¾ c. canned pumpkin (originally calls for one entire can, or 1 ¾ cup, but I used 1 ½ cups, and thought they were still a little too moist)
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2/3 cup nonfat milk
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
½ cup oats, ground to a flour
¼ cup wheat bran
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Spray a 12-serving muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray or line with paper baking cups and spray insides with nonstick cooking spray. Set aside.

In a large bowl combine pumpkin, eggs, splenda, vanilla, milk and stir well.

Sift in flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. Fill prepared muffin cups equally, sprinkle tops with extra cinnamon.

Bake 15-20 minutes, or until a wooden toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

If you use Splenda, each of these has a measly 68 calories, 3.1 grams of fiber, and 3.4 grams of protein!
With sugar, they have 111 calories.

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Bran Oat Muffins”

  1. katshealthcorner January 6, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    These sound SO good!!! and so healthy too!!! :)

  2. vegansunshine January 6, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Mmm I haven’t made muffins in forever! I want some now, thanks a lot. ;)

    Whitney

  3. miracle fruit tablets January 7, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    Enjoyed reading this post, is there an RSS feed I can subsribe to for my miracle fruit site?

Leave a Reply

