a sugary struggle.

7 Jan

I have a confession.

My life is a sham. I am no baker. I am no cookie connoisseur. I am nothing. Those 500 cookies I baked over break? They were all for naught.

I cannot decorate cookies to save my life.

Okay, okay, maybe I’m being melodramatic. About the first part, that is. I really can’t decorate cookies. And have very little patience for it. I will happily bake you hundreds of cookies and leave you with a bowl of icing and let you have at it. There’s just too much room for creativity; I don’t ever even know where to begin!

Luckily, when I suggested to my friends that we bake sugar cookies, I pretty much got to do just that.

Never underestimate the amount of time a crew of college-age kids can spend decorating cookies. And never, ever overestimate their supposed artistic ability. Our first example of this came from the poor gingerbread house, and this is our newest episode of Give-Martha-a-Coronary…

Luckily, some of them turned out okay.

As the mature quasi-adults we are, we used sophisticated shapes and colors to convey an air of elegance.

By which I mean we made swirly unicorns.

Want to try your hand? Forget that Christmas is long past, just make them anyways! This recipe worked really well and made just slightly soft, thick cookies. I really enjoyed them.

And shoved them into my mouth quickly so I wouldn’t have to look at them for too long.

Classic Sugar Cookies
from Good Housekeeping Cookie Book
3 c flour
½ tsp bp
½ tsp salt
1 c. butter
1 ½ c sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. In a separate large bowl, beat together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs separately until well mixed. Beat in vanilla. Add dry ingredients and mix until combined. Divide dough into four flattened disks and wrap in cellophane, then allow to chill for 3 hours or overnight (I imagine this can be modified).

When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350 and pull out one quarter of the dough and roll out on a well-floured surface to about ¼ inch thickness (thinner if you want a crispier cookie). Cut out with fun shapes like unicorns. Bake for around 8 minutes or until edges are just slightly brown (the baking time really varies, so keep an eye on them!).

Decorate with your favorite icing recipe and enjoy!

The bakers. I’m on the right ;)

10 Responses to “a sugary struggle.”

  1. Ashlee (ashandlewplus2.com) January 7, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Love love love your cookies. You have inspired me..

  2. snackgirlgoeshealthy January 7, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    what ethnicity are you?
    and don’t worry! I’m not a huge decoartor either! Especially cookies! They are so hard to frost!
    I think they look cute the way you did them though!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 7, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

      I’m Brazilian! Not a common one haha :)
      This picture makes me look perhaps more “ethnic” than usual though… lol.

  3. thefitnessapple January 7, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    THOSE COOKIES LOOK SO AMAZING, the colors are just great! you have a talent!

  4. movesnmunchies January 7, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    ahh that is the coolest decorating i have ever seen! LEGIT!!

  5. adventuresofpretendcook January 8, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    Those cookies looked wonderful. I have never really decorated, mainly because (like you) I don’t know where to begin. Loved the swirly unicorn. ;)

  6. January 9, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    I love the cookies! The unicorn one makes me think of charlie the unicorn on youtube!:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas Cookies! (or just sugar cookies…) « Of Cookies & Carrots - January 13, 2011

    […] know I just posted about sugar cookies, but these ones are a little different. They’re a bit softer and cakier than the recipe I just […]

Leave a Reply

