typical.

8 Jan

Remember all that fancy-pants, emotional crap I spewed for my New Years Resolution?

Scratch that. My New Year’s Resolution is not to lose another damn one of these:

For those of you who have not yet reached college OR those of you who have passed it, that is an ID card. At different schools, it serves different purposes. At mine, it is your key to food, your dorm, and the gym. So, essentially, my life.

I tend to lose them. I mean, I know people who are worse; thus far I lost one last quarter and one this quarter. Not even in a drunken stupor. Au contraire, my friends, I only ever lose things when stone-cold sober.

Of course they were both in the most obvious of places. Yesterday I literally had the card in my hand, walked into my building, and when I walked back out 5 minutes later it had disappeared. I was starving and cranky after four hours of classes and couldn’t be bothered to wait around for someone to find mine, so I spent $15 on a new one. Two hours later someone knocks at my door.

Typical.

Other typical things? This salad, which I ate for lunch. I eat almost the exact same salad, filled with fresh greens, for at least one meal a day. Sometimes I get crazy and add a bunch of beans or tofu (they’re hidden in there somewhere). If I’m feeling decadent I’ll toss in a few croutons. But I’m hopelessly addicted to the fresh, crisp feeling of crunchy vegetables.

This is, in large part, why I am not a daily-eats blogger. You would get bored. You probably still get bored, but trust me, this is better than it could be.

I spent the rest of my typical day in a frenzy dashing between buildings and classes and labs and learning. Heaven forbid! And, of course, taking pictures of myself on photobooth. The most distracting program known to man.

Nice face…

Typical.

A little more normal…

I did, however, try a little something out of the ordinary yesterday:

That’s my bedding, in case you were wondering.

Yes, a cookie. To balance out my salad. And in lieu of fresh-baked cookies made by yours truly, this really did taste good. Definitely healthy, but still actually a little too sweet for me! I loved the crunch of the walnuts, though, and the fact that I didn’t feel as bad about eating it as I might have had it been a massive cafeteria cookie. Not exactly a nutritional powerhouse, with 360 calories (oops) and not much to show for them, but fabulous for when you’re craving a cookie. And carbs. Which, for me, is always.

After enjoying my eats, I walked outside into the sunshine. Oh, California, how I love thee.

Typical.

9 Responses to “typical.”

  1. movesnmunchies January 8, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    oh i LOVE Nanas cookies! i used to eat one every single day.. for a solid 5 months.hah!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 8, 2011 at 11:00 am #

      I had a brief but serious fling with Baker’s Cookies, if you’re familiar with that brand… Definitely had about one a day, lol.

      Actually now I’m craving them! Ahh! ;) I just sometimes have a hard time justifying eating other people’s cookies when I can BAKE my own…

  2. snackgirlgoeshealthy January 8, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    wahoo! I love salads!
    I lose my permit allllllll the time girl!
    I always end up finding mine tho! lol

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 8, 2011 at 11:02 am #

      Yeah, I usually do too, and if I were patient I would wait long enough to look for it. But it always seems to happen when I’m starving and need food immediately. Usually I’m not that lax about spending money for no reason, buttttt…

      Seriously though, my goal is to not lose any more! ;) Or my keys. I’ve only lost them once though.

  3. Kailey- The Caffienated Nut January 8, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    haha if i have a salad you better believe i get a cookie too :)

    My ID also works for my food & dorm so I know how scary that can be to misplace it! my roomie almost had a breakdown until she realized she was holding the ID the whole time haha.

  4. Priyanka January 8, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    Losing ID is like the worst thing for students. Love the salad!

    Cute blog!

  5. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) January 9, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    Haha – I lose thing so easily too! Well, normally I don’t really lose them, I just think I do (e.g. not being able to find the sunglasses that are on top of my head ;)
    I have a salad nearly every day during the summer, but when the cold comes around I reach for something a bit warmer like maybe some roasted veggies.
    And thanks so much for you comment on my blog :)

  6. adventuresofpretendcook January 9, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    I remember the days of college and ID’s. I feel for you because I may or may not have lost a couple in my day. It sucks when you do!

  7. thefitnessapple January 10, 2011 at 6:53 am #

    You have been awarded the Stylish Blog Award on my blog, Check out my latest post to find out what I mean and how to pass this award on! :)

    Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

