Christmas Cookies! (or just sugar cookies…)

13 Jan

Yes, you read that right. Clearly I am in severe denial about the fact that Christmas was, oh, over 2 weeks ago?

Actually, what happened was that I bought a lot of Christmas-themed things, then baked a lot of Christmas-themed things, then must post about a lot of Christmas-themed things. So there are still a few more “Christmas” cookies hiding up my sleeve ;)

I promised you this recipe awhile back, when I talked about the massive number of cookies I baked for my brother’s school. I don’t have particularly good pictures (this was before I found my DSLR when I was at home), but these are a staple for in our household for both holiday baking and regular-baking (particularly when we need a LOT of cookies)

I know I just posted about sugar cookies, but these ones are a little different. They’re a bit softer and cakier than the recipe I just posted, and originally came from a baking class my brother did in kindergarten (awww!). I guess they’re supposed to be like those big, slightly fluffy bakery cookies with cream cheese frosting, and not so much the type that you decorate in a detailed manner. They puff up a bit, as you can see…

Whatever they are, they’re damn good. In this case, we got lazy and used store-bought frosting, which kind of ruined their elegance-factor, but given that they were going to a bunch of middle-schoolers, it probably wasn’t an issue ;) I’ve included the cream cheese frosting recipe they come with; they’re amazing with the frosting and some mini chocolate chips on top! Alternatively, they’re splendid dipped in or drizzled with chocolate (but what isn’t?)

Enjoy!

“Great Aunt Mill’s” Sugar Cookies
Makes about 60-70 medium-sized cookies

½ c butter
1 ½ c sugar
3 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 tsp baking powder
3 (generous) cups flour

Beat butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla. Add flour and powder and mix. Do not over beat.
Turn onto floured plate and cover. Chill at least 2 hours
Roll to 1/8 inch thick (I like it a little thicker, for fluffier cookies). Cut with cookie cutter. Bake on parchment lined baking sheet for 7-10 minutes at 400 degrees.

Mom’s Cream Cheese Frosting
1 8 oz package cream cheese (room temp)
2 tbsp butter
2-3 c powdered sugar
2 tsp lemon juice
2 tsp milk

Beat cream cheese and butter until smooth. Beat in 1 cup powdered sugar. Beat in lemon juice and milk. Beat in remaining powdered sugar until firm but not dry. Add drop of milk to thin if needed.

10 Responses to “Christmas Cookies! (or just sugar cookies…)”

  1. movesnmunchies January 13, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    NOTHING beats a good sugar cookie!

  2. Lee @ College Foodie Finds January 13, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    1. I like your granite countertops
    2. homemade frosting in the bomb
    3. it’s never too late for Christmas Cookies!

  3. carlee January 13, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    LOVE sugar cookies. Especially the soft, powdered sugar, sugar cookies. They’re da best!

  4. paoang January 13, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Hey there :) Thanks for stopping by!!

    Ahhhh those cookies look AMAZING girl! ♥

  5. thefitacademic January 13, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    These look amazing! Sugar cookies are so fun to make! I always do a cookie-making party around X-mas time : )

  6. Angie @ The Fitness Apple January 13, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    I really love this, You’re bringing back Christmas with these cookies! 2 thumbs up for that!

  7. IHeartVegetables January 13, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    Its sad that people only make sugar cookies like, one month out of the whole year!!! I’m perfectly ok with christmas season denial ;) I say bring on those sugar cookies!

  8. TheSceneFromMe January 15, 2011 at 5:58 am #

    I like my sugar cookies piled with fluffy icing!
    I still have Christmas candy around here I am hoping disappears soon!

  9. Maryann (The Balanced Bean) January 15, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Those look delicious! It’s never the wrong time of the year for a sugar cookie :)

  10. Kelsey @ Clean Teen Kelsey January 15, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Sugar cookies are classic! I had to experiment quite a bit with them when I was trying to find the right one for my fruit pizza crust. :) Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

