an adventure.

16 Jan

Yesterday was a spectacular, sunny day here in California.

Though it does weird me out that the leaves still haven’t finished falling off the trees…

And while maybe I should have been spending quality time with my biology textbook, I decided to go on a jaunt to Trader Joe’s, the land of delicious, cheap food. It’s about a 2.3-mile walk (thank you Google maps).

I know walking around by yourself is not always the most brilliant of ideas… but it was broad daylight, and I was walking on busy streets, so I felt like I’d be okay. Of course, I also didn’t have a cell phone (my luck this week has sucked, I also broke my phone…) so I don’t fully recommend this mildly reckless and spontaneous behavior to everyone… But on the kidnapping-front, things went well! There were only a few mildly unsavory characters on my way, and they didn’t give me any trouble at all (perhaps because I looked like shit. Perhaps).

After what seemed like an eternity, I came upon that harbinger of health-food goodness known as Trader Joe’s.

And purchased what I’d come for: Armenian Joe’s Eggplant Wrap

I love this wrap. I have dreams about it occasionally. The lavosh is to die for. I read a review somewhere calling it bland, and while it’s not bursting with flavor, I really enjoy the eggplant and the wrap itself is great. The sauce is pretty good if you like tahini (I don’t, really). And it’s not too expensive. And it’s filling. Someone said they could only finish half… This seems absurd to me, but, whatever.

I then perused the aisles of delicious cereals and breads and cheeses and crackers and candies and whole grain pasta… Basically, I want to live in Trader Joe’s. And eat all of their food. Alternatively, I would like my own apartment stocked solely with things from TJ’s. I’m kind of obsessed.

Here’s where things get sticky. I walk back, and upon my arrival, purchase a soothing beverage to go with the second half of my wrap (I devoured the first half outside Trader Joe’s).

(I’m a recovering diet-coke addict. This is a more natural alternative, and I’m still not having one every day, so I take it as progress, yes?)

And I made faces with the second half of my wrap. I’m awesome.

At this point I realized I had lost my keys. This led to a bit of a frenzy as I called Campus Safety to let me into my room (my roommate was gone for the day, and had actually left her keys in the room…). Of course, I didn’t have a cell phone. So I had to borrow someone’s. I debated walking back to see where they might have fallen out of my pockets, but after 4.5 miles decided I was probably done for the day, though I might go back tomorrow.

And then I managed to lock myself out again later. I was in a bit of a harried mood by the end of the day when I talked another friend into driving me back to see if my keys were where I’d sat to eat my wrap at TJ’s (they weren’t).

The silver lining? The beautiful California sunset.

Oh, and that wrap. ;) Worth the 4.5 miles… perhaps not the loss of keys. But still.

What’s your silver lining of the day?
or
What do YOU love to stock up on at Trader Joe’s?

28 Responses to “an adventure.”

  1. healthyexposures January 16, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    heh…when I saw “I’m Awesome” and a link, I KNEW it was going to be that song. So annoying. Yet so catchy :P
    That wrap looks ahhhmaazing. I SO wish I was walking distance to a TJ’s! I’d be happy with driving distance, actually – considering driving 3 1/2 hrs for a TJs is a little inconvenient for me :P I love how they’ve got different names for their products – Baker Josef’s, Armenian Joe’s – so cool :P

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 16, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

      I LOVE that wrap. I’m so sorry your Trader joes is not accessible! :( Clearly you need to just go and buy half the store every couple of months ;) haha.

      And I’m minorly obsessed with that song. Even though it’s terrible. But I can’t say the words “I’m awesome” wthout it getting stuck in my head, soooo I figured I’d share the love ;)

  2. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) January 16, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    I’ve actually never been to a Trader Joe’s! I really want to, but I guess they don’t have them where I live :( . My favorite thing to stock up on at Whole Foods, though, is dark chocolate, peanut butter, and oats! I don’t think that I could live without those foods :)

  3. Kayla January 16, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    I have never been to Trader Joe’s but after reading this and many other blogs about it, I’m pretty much DYING to go!

  4. Erika January 16, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    I think I need to give Trader Joes another chance. I went early July when the one near me just opened and it had nothing. Maybe they didn’t have the full stock yet?
    Anyways glad you enjoyed the wrap. I love “I’m Awesome!” that song is SO catchy! :-)

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 17, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      it gets stuck in my head for dayyyyyys!!! lol. :)

      def give it another try… Clearly I’m pro-TJs though so, I mean, I’m biased ;)

  5. snackgirlgoeshealthy January 16, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Your SOOO incredibly pretty, its not even funny! Talk about having the prettiest face shape ever!!

    I have yet to go to trader- Joes! However, it is on my list of things to do ASAP!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 17, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      YOu are too sweet :)

      Definitely do it! You won’t regret it. At least not in my humble, addicted opinion ;)

  6. Angie @ The Fitness Apple January 16, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    I wish I lived in cali, and I wish I could get my hands on that wrap. I’ve never been to trader jones I must do it!

  7. movesnmunchies January 17, 2011 at 12:36 am #

    i lve in the UK where TJs doesnt exist!!! ITS HORRIBLE!! but i have fam bring stuff from there and i just got tons of loot.. peanut flour is th eony thing iv gotten from there and its gOOD!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 17, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

      I have a package of peanut flour at home and have yet to crack it open! Must have my mom bring it for me when she comes to visit… hmmm ;)

      • kissmybroccoli January 17, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

        Definitely! That stuff is the bom-diggity! Love it!

  8. Jenn January 17, 2011 at 2:05 am #

    Hi! I just stumbled onto your blog and love it!! Hilarious!! You are a great writer and I totally agree with u, Trader Joes is AMAZING! Haha, I’d live there too and eat all their food!
    Glad I stumbled into your blog! :)
    Hope your night is great!!
    Jenn

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 17, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      Aw thanks! That’s so sweet of you. :) Yeah, I would NOT mind living there… or at least working there… I wonder fi they get a discount? ;) DEFINITELY something to look into ;)

      I hope your night was great and your day today too!

  9. thefitacademic January 17, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    oh my gosh, i am SO SORRY about your day – I would have been in a horrible mood! Way to be positive with the silver lining!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 17, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

      Honestly I had a good 5 minute mental breakdown, and ahd this been last quarter when I was uber stressed it probably would’ve turned into a day-long fiasco… I think I’ve gotten used to a lot of little things going wrong for me. now it’s ALMOST comical ;)

  10. Gill (snaxandthecity) January 17, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    My silver lining was that my lunch was way more awesome than expected, in a day that involved CRAZY London traffic and a five hour finance class!
    I wish wish wish wish I lived near a Trader Joe’s – it seems to be a mecca for healthy eaters!

  11. healthyhelper January 17, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    thanks for stopping by my blog! love yours too! especially the name :) Trader Joes is awesome…I’ve been there a few times when visiting my sister in san diego but i wish there was one wround my area!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 17, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

      I’m super spoiled to have one really nearby both at home AND at school… ahhh the west coast ;) haha. Thanks for stopping by! :)

  12. Allison @ PickyEatingRD January 17, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    Love love loveeee Trader Joes. Whole foods is great too but the prices at wole foods make me smile. I am also a recovering diet coke addict!! My boyfriend made me stop cold turkey and I feel way better!!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 17, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

      I had some yesterday after more than a week without (I’m not opposed to occasional consumption, except that it’s a bit of a slippery slope :P ) and I just got SUPER shaky and did NOT feel well… obviously not something I should be consuming as often as I used to!

  13. Courtney January 17, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Ouch! Sorry you got locked out! :(

    I totally agree that walking by yourself can get super creepy, lol.

    My fav TJ’s item is their chocolate-covered dried edamame… don’t knock it till you try it! :)

  14. BrittFit January 17, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    I am obsessed with EGGPLANT! That wrap looked to die for :)

  15. kissmybroccoli January 17, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    So many things:

    1. I think I’m the only one that had never heard that song/seen that video before. It’s awesome! (haha) I love the part with the snuggie! Made me laugh out loud!

    2. You are gorgeous! Love your smile!

    3. That wrap looks ridic! You had me at eggplant! I think that sauce sounds great too!

    It was a yucky raining day today. My silver lining was that since I’m still off of work, it didn’t matter because I didn’t HAVE to go anywhere!

    I can’t go to TJ’s without buying a whole wheat pizza dough. You can’t beat dough for 99 cents! I always grab a couple and freeze them. And lately I am totally obsessed with their plantain chips!

  16. squigglefloey January 17, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    Love that Eggplant wrap from TJs as well! I love how their fruit is so cheap for individual pieces. Since I’m a college student I can just stop by after class or whatnot and grab a 19c banana hehe (our TJs is right across the street from our campus)

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 17, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

      OH MY GOD I am so jealous. Except I’d probably spend wayyy too much excess money there, even though it IS totally cheap, I currently have meal points I’m supposed to be using rather than spending real money…

      Thanks for stopping by! :)

Leave a Reply

