Sparkled Ginger Cookies

19 Jan

I guess I’ve always had a thing for gingers.

In elementary school, my favorite book was Anne of Green Gables. My best friend was decidedly red-headed.

In high school, and now, two of my four best friends are true redheads; one of the others has dabbled in temporary redheadedness.

An oldie but a goodie :) I’m the brunette… And the darkest one…

But my true love affair is with ginger, singular, that lovely, spicy, fiery root which is my redheads’ namesake. I like it pickled. I love it candied (as does my mother, who eats it by the handful every night). I like it in tea. I like it in stir-fries. I like it in roasted veggies. I like it in cookies. I like it everywhere. (Did that sound dirty? ;) )

These cookies, the Sparkled Ginger Cookies from Vegan with a Vengeance, pay perfect homage to the warm, comforting heat of ginger. They’re chewy. They come together in a snap. And the glint of light on the sparkling sugar topping makes them elegant enough for gift-giving. Even my brother liked them, and I had never pegged him as a molasses person.

And while these, like their pictured friends, were once Christmas cookies, they would be equally delightful on the snowy January day I know many of you are experiencing (not so here in California, I might add… ;) ).

Or, you know, in the middle of the summer. Any time, really.

They’re that good.

Sparkled Ginger Cookies
From Vegan with a Vengeance
Makes 2-3 dozen cookies

4 tablespoons turbinado or demerara sugar (regular sugar works if you don’t have either of these, but coarse sugar is best)
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 teaspoons ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 cup canola oil
1/4 cup molasses
1/4 cup soy milk
 or nondairy milk of choice
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease two cookie sheets. Place coarse sugar in a bowl and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, sift together dry ingredients. In a separate mixing bowl, mix together oil, molasses, soymilk, sugar, and vanilla extract until thoroughly combined. Add dry ingredients to wet in 2-3 batches, mixing only until combined.

*Note: I didn’t find the dough too sticky, but sometimes it helps to refrigerate it for a little bit if you’re having trouble!

Roll dough into approximately 1-inch balls and flatten between hands (or with a glass, if you wanna get fancy ;) ). Press one side of disk into coarse sugar and set on baking sheet, sugar side up, with around 1 inch between each cookie. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until edges are starting to firm up and tops have started to crackle. Let cool on sheets for 3 minutes before transferring to wire rack to cool completely.

Serve to your favorite ginger, and enjoy. :)

15 Responses to “Sparkled Ginger Cookies”

  1. Angie @ The Fitness Apple January 19, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    “Vegan with a vengeance” lol, You look gorgeous in that picture! Oldies are goodies sometimes! :)

  2. thefitacademic January 19, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    haha, I love how you begin your ginger talk by referencing red-heads! Too funny!

  3. healthyexposures January 19, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    I LOVE ginger, too…and these exact cookies were in my “christmas goodie bag.” they were, hands-down, my favorite…and I don’t even call myself a cookie person. I guess it just depends whether they’re ridiculously-amazing ginger cookies or not ;)

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 20, 2011 at 9:22 am #

      My FAVORITE gingery cookie is martha stewarts’ chewy chocolate ginger cookies. They’re absolutely phenomenal. not vegan, but probably veganizable.

  4. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) January 19, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    Those looks deeeeeelicious! I’ll have to make some for my mom as she’s been trying to eat more ginger for her headaches. I was just telling her how I would try to make her some ginger oatmeal, but I think she would like cookies even better :) (and I probably would too ;)

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 20, 2011 at 9:23 am #

      Oh please do! And let me know how she likes them. If you reallyw anted you could probably even put diced candied ginger in these… They’re plenty good on their own but perhaps adding actual pieces of ginger would be even more effective for headaches, etc.

      And cookies make EVERYTHING better ;)

  5. BrittFit January 19, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    yay ginger. so good for you :) and cookies…you can’t go wrong there. perfect combo girl

  6. movesnmunchies January 19, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    ahhh i LOVE ginger snaps,,, soo i would love these even more!

  7. Kristina @ Life as Kristina January 20, 2011 at 4:18 am #

    Wow-that’s a lot of red heads! Love it!
    Great recipe-I just started getting into ginger based foods..and sweets? yes please!

  8. stephchows January 20, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I’m like that for anything gingerbread.. bagels… cookies… bring it on!!

  9. janae @hungryrunnergirl.com January 20, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Um, YOU ARE GORGEOUS!!! I love ginger and I will be making those cookies asap!

  10. adorableschildren January 20, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    Those cookies look good. I love ginger and green tea, mmmm.

  11. Ashley January 20, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Those cookie look good. I love ginger and green tea…mmm

  12. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons January 25, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Ohmygosh TOO FLIPPING FUNNY! My bff is a ginger and my hubs calls me a “daywalker” ginger. =)

    Glad you found me in blogland — love your blog too! <3

Leave a Reply

