bubba gump’s shrimp

24 Jan

As I mentioned, I had the delightful opportunity to spend last weekend gallivanting about the shores of California with my mom, aunt and grandmother. While I insisted on no fewer than two meals at Whole Foods, and I did “treat” them to lunch at my school (minor detail being that my mom pays for the meal plan that paid for it…), we did also find a lovely little restaurant in Monterey to treat ourselves to a “proper” meal out on the town.

Actually from Santa Cruz, but this is untouched… it was this blue!

When you’re by a large body of water, it seems like you pretty much have to indulge in seafood. I rarely eat fish, but decided this was probably a good time to make one of my exceptions. Enter Bubba Gump.

Some of it had a bit of a kitschy feel, but the view of the water right by our table was to die for. And honestly, the lively movement of all the people around us was invigorating. But I’ve never seen Forrest Gump (I know, I know!) so all of the references were entirely lost on me. Story of my life.

My aunt started out by being adventurous and ordering herself a margarita (since my mom was the one driving the crazy-windy-Santa-Cruz roads, this was okay). Of course, it was shared.

My grandma, who can hold her alcohol surprisingly well for someone her size, took a few large gulps and savored every moment of it.

My mom, who has never had more than a sip of alcohol in her life, was less of a fan.

She also got tired of me taking pictures of her. Said she looked old, or some such nonsense.

 

My aunt showing off her ring… Well, that’s what I tell myself anyways.

That’s better!

The food was lovely as well. We ordered shrimp skewers…

Some kind of garlicky shrimp in a pot (I never eat seafood, remember?)…

and tilapia with pineapple-mango salsa (my selection, though we shared all the dishes amongst us)

I think my favorite was the shrimp skewers. Especially the vegetables. I really just like vegetables. And the cajun seasoning was awesome. Plus there was that slightly smoky grilled flavor… YUM. Though in general I do prefer tilapia, and salsa on anything is fantastic.

All in all, it was a successful meal.

And everybody went home happy.

I’m so glad everyone thinks my grandma is as adorable as I think she is :)

Especially after dessert ;)

What’s your favorite kind of seafood?

19 Responses to “bubba gump’s shrimp”

  1. Kristina @ Life as Kristina January 25, 2011 at 4:14 am #

    Those pics are great-looks like a fun lunch! We ate at one in the airport I love the “flipping sign”!

  2. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) January 25, 2011 at 4:47 am #

    I don’t eat seafood much (its’ not really worth eating when you live in the middle of the U.S.), but when I get it, it’s either shrimp, ahi, or mahi mahi. Your grandma is even cuter now! :)

  3. Rachel (tea and chocolate) January 25, 2011 at 6:13 am #

    What a cute idea for restaurant! PIneapple-mango salsa sounds incredibly good right now. And your grandma is adorable. :)

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 26, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

      pineapple mango anything is always good in my book ;)
      (what can I say, I’m Brazilian, I’m tropical by nature :P )

  4. movesnmunchies January 25, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    cute restaurant!! perf for me.. i LOVE SHRIMP!

  5. paoang January 25, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Can you believe I’m allergic to shrimp?! I used to eat ’em like it was my BUSINESS!

    And omg- you’re grandma’s so adorable.
    I’m glad you had a nice time!!!

  6. Erika January 25, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Hehe! Your family sounds awesome! Glad you had a great meal and got to spend some quality time with your loved ones! :-D

  7. purplebirdblog January 25, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Nice meal! And your family is so cute! I love most seafood… I don’t think I can pick a favorite!!! :)

  8. Meg January 26, 2011 at 6:22 am #

    Your family reminds me of my own, I love it :)

    Runnn Forrest Runnnn! Best movie ever, haha!

    Seafood is delicious…ALL OF IT!

  9. Kelsey @ Clean Teen Kelsey January 26, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    I’m not a big seafood fan, sorry. :P but I have to admit that the Run, Forrest, Run! sign made me laugh. I think a 86% chocolate square is the perfect dessert. :)

  10. allieksmith January 26, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    I have always wanted to go to Bubba Gump’s! You are soo lucky, and all of your pictures made me smile :) My favorite seafood is salmon !

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 26, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

      having grown up in the Pacific northwest i can’t say i object too much to salmon either ;)

      You shoudl go! It was really fun. :) I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures! Thansk for stopping by :)

  11. TheSceneFromMe January 26, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    Coconut shrimp is my favorite seafood! I’ll order whenever I see it on the menu. And when it has a creamy pineapple dip to go with it, yum!

  12. simplynutritiouskate January 26, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    Yum that food looks delicious- I love scallops they are so buttery and sweet…

  13. blackbookkitchendiaries January 26, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    your grandma is so cute:) i love going to bubba gump’s .. although it has been awhile. thanks for sharing this post.

  14. Sophia @ Raven Waves January 26, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    I’ve been to the Bubba Gump’s in Chicago before. So good!! My favorite seafood is shrimp by far! :)

  15. Katelyn January 30, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    I have gone to at least three different Bubba Gump’s, and Times Square is definitely my favorite:) Before I went veg, I used to slurp down a Peanut Butter Cup smoothie EVERY time!

Leave a Reply

