pimp my blog!

28 Jan

Hey blogfriends! (however many of you there actually are…)

Gratuitous unflattering photograph for your amusement ;)

So, my blog is relatively new. Fortunately, it also seems to be expanding slightly! Which is quite lovely for me. So I have a few… questions. In the never-ending quest to PIMP MY BLOG!

But I do hope your taste is better than his…

1) How do you like my name? It admittedly took me awhile to come up with but I’ve always been a little bit uncertain about whether or not it was too boring/too similar to dozens of other blog names out there. Some of my other ideas:

  • Confessions of a Cookie Monster (Upside: I think it’s cute and catchy. And I love alliteration, in case that’s not abundantly obvious… Downside: Does not reflect the “healthy” part of my life that I hope to expand upon when I actually have a kitchen…)
  • Confessions of a Carrot-Munching Cookie Monster (Upside: Does have both carrots and cookies! Downside: kind of a mouthful!)
  • Keep it the same!
  • I’m also open to other suggestions/variations on a theme

2) What would you prefer to see more of? I feel like most of what I HAVE are cookie recipes and semi-decadent recipes, but I have a couple of backlogged “healthier” things too. It seems like my carrot cake pancakes were popular, and while I’m unfortunately pretty limited in my ability to explore more pancake options, I could be posting more about daily things to eat in college, or something (though honestly my diet is fairly boring!). Do you like pictures? Do you like stories? My regular recipes?

I’ve been having something of a quandary/tug-of-war regarding the healthy lifestyle I purport to live and the butter-filled cookies I love to bake and blog about, so… Yeah. Any opinions or comments would be much appreciated. :)

3) Anybody have any tips on making my blog prettier? I kind of think I need a better header. I’m not super interested in paying for things just yet, but I’d be open to it in the future… I guess I’m evaluating my options! Anyone who wants to assist me could totally be compensated with cookies :P

Sorry for the horrendously boring post, but I wanted to see what people had to say. :) I’ll be back to posting my other mildly-interesting musings and recipes soon enough ;) I really appreciate any feedback anyone has!

lots of love,
nicole

ps new here? wanna see a real post? scroll down!

33 Responses to “pimp my blog!”

  1. whatkateiscooking January 28, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    I love your blog name the way it is :)

  2. healthyexposures January 28, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    I love your layout, your content and your name! I don’t think you should change it one bit…especially your name! I feel like that’s just one of the things you don’t change once you start blogging, but I think that’s a quirk of mine, haha. I think it portrays your “happy balance” between a healthier lifestyle and yummy confections quite while. And I like alliterations, too ;)
    If you would like any help header-designing I can volunteer myself if you are interested :)

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 31, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

      Yeah, I was a little hesitant about name-changing too… I guess the general consensus is to keep it so that’s what I’ll do ;)

      Thank you so much for the offer, I may just take you up on that! I think I need to get some stuff together in my mind first though haha so it may wait til my school-life calms down a touch ;) You’re a doll for offering though!

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree January 28, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    Hey Nicole!!! I love your blog name so much….except I have a question: Why is there an ‘of’ why isn’t it just “Cookies and Carrots” ….is it like alluding to “Dreaming of Cookies and Carrots”?? Just wondering….but I still love the name! Totally portrays healthy w/ cookies ;)

    As for a header…make sure you find a layout on wordpress where you can customize it. I just type in “header” in the layout search engine and found one I liked with good color schemes. Then, I made my own header in photoshop. You can also use pics or another program you have that can “make stuff”. If you aren’t quite sure how to use it, or you need inspiration, feel free to email me! (I think it would be super cool if you took a picture of a picnic basket with a bunch of carrots and cookies in it. Or if you had a cookie jar with carrots sticking out…)

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 31, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      Those are both adorable ideas! I’ll hopefully be working on some semblance of a header in the near future…

      I guess to me the “of” is sort of making it into a poetic line, of sorts. I’m not entirely sure how to describe it, haha. Like, this is a blog of cookies and carrots… Hmm. I dunno! I always sort of took it for granted, but it’s definitely good to know that it’s not always translating properly ;)

  4. Sophia @ Raven Waves January 28, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    I’d say to keep your blog name the same. I’d love to see more recipes, and other more personal posts (like life posts, what you like to do, etc.) :)

  5. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons January 28, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Keep the name =) I like it. and then figure out how you want the blog to look and start taking baby steps in design. Or you can do what a lot of bloggers do and have someone re-design the blog for you!

    Keep up with what you love and we’ll always be back to say hello =) promise <3

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 31, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      that was one of the sweetest comments I’ve ever received. Thank you so much :)

      I’m thinking of having someone redesign it eventually, just not sure I wanna put up the money right now ;) (ahhh life as a broke college student!)

  6. Olivia January 28, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    Your blog is so fabulous, I’m so glad I found you! I think the name’s fine; honestly I think changing it only confuses people! Can’t wait to read more from you, I’m new to the blogging community too (like brand new!) so feel free to come check mine out!

  7. Jordan January 28, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    I’m fairly new to blogging too, so I feel your pain! Though you’ve already built up a bit of a readership… Impressive! I think your name now is precious, but I also really like “Confessions of a Cookie Monster.” I think the content is more important than the name, though, and you seem to have well thought-out posts.
    Hope to read more from you!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 31, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      Aww, thanks! I tried to read your blog and it says its’ protected or something :(

      I do like the name confessions of a cookie monster, but I think at least for now I”m sticking with this one… Gah. I hate decisions, though ;)

      • Jordan February 1, 2011 at 7:53 am #

        Thanks for letting me know! I think I took care of the problem… Makes me feel a little better though! Haha.

        I absolutely hate decisions- if you aren’t sure, it’s not worth changing your name. If it isn’t a name you just love and “know” is the right name, you’ll probably change it again anyway, so why mess with what’s working now?

  8. Lee @ College Foodie Finds January 28, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    cute myspace shot :) haha.

    1. I had this problem too when I was trying to decide on a name. The shorter the better…i think it is easier for people to remember. Did you ever think about switching to a .com ?? you sould! Blogger or WordPress could still host you….but I think that .com’s are a lot easier for people to rememba.

    2. I wanna see more recipes, actually I wanna eat your recipes.

    3. I think a different header is a good idea! It would give you more pizzaz. I made my in illustrator….but not many people have it. You could always use like a photo or something?

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 31, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

      Haha i know right? Some things never get old ;)

      I’m terrible at decisions, hence me waffling on the name. Sigh.
      I would love to switch to a .com eventually but I’m kind of hesitant on the whole paying front and all that jazz. Definitely something I’m thinking about for the future though!

      And you are ALWAYS welcome to my cookies ;) haha. I have lots of recipes stored up, I just have had limited time to make proper recipe posts.
      Thanks for the feedback!

  9. Ayla January 28, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    I think you should keep your blog name the same. It’s cute. :) Confessions of a Carrot-Munching Cookie Monster is cute too but like you said, a bit of a mouthful.

    More recipes would be good (maybe go back and forth between healthy/not so healthy? one day healthy, next day a little less healthy) but just more of you too! I’ll admit that when a blog is pretty much all recipes I get a little bored but when you have a good balance of tasty recipes and also YOU thrown in, that’s what makes me want to keep reading. I hope that made sense!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 31, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      Definitely makes sense and something I’ve been kind of tryign to do, I just feel liek my life itself is less than enthralling so I have to put in some baking here & there ;)

      Most of the stuff I’ve got photographs of tends toward the unhealthy side… I think my life will be a lot easier when I have my own damn kitchen! ;)

      Thanks for the feedback, love! :)

  10. Angie @ The Fitness Apple January 28, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    To have a successful blog be personal and talk about your close relationships it lets us get to know you better :)

  11. movesnmunchies January 29, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    i like the name!! i would love more recipes and how you view things such as food, calories, exercise, carbs etcc!

  12. coffeeandthepaper January 29, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    I really think you’ve got a good thing going right now – don’t change! Besides, since your blog is still relatively new, I think it’s best to kind of see where things go and then make decisions about the future. Your blog ends up changing as you change, but that takes time!

  13. Kat January 29, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    Thanks for the blog comment :) Im always on the lookout for new and exciting recipes. Especially healthy ones! I also like seeing what other people do to stay healthy, its a great motivator!

  14. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) January 29, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Honestly, I never thought that your blog needed any improvement! I love it just how it is! But you could put some carrots in the background of your blog name (or maybe some cookies and carrots) to bring in a little more color.
    I love pictures, so I say the more pictures, the better! But you already have great photos!
    Keep up your wonderful blogging – it is FANTASTIC!

  15. Lauren @ WWoB January 29, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    I like the name – dont change it! (and keep the ‘of’)
    I would really like to see more recipes – even if you think they are too easy or simple! Those are ALWAYS the best recipes anyway. This is real life, after all!

    About prettier – I used to have this theme and LOVED it for a few months, but then I found it to just be to cluttered and flashy. I ended up changing mine to something more streamlined. Its a great theme, but Im just throwing that out there because its what I did!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 31, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

      Hmm, definitely something to think about… I do like your layout as well, very clean! :)

      And I’m gonna try to work in some more of my pseudo-recipes but recently I’ve fallen into ridiculous food rut where I subsist on my school’s salad bar and packaged oats. Which is really just lame. (hello, midterm season!)

      Thanks for the feedback! :)

  16. kissmybroccoli January 29, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    I think your blog is cute as is, but I am curious like Alex from spoonfulofsugarfree…where does the “of” come from?

    As far as post content, I personally like stories about how your day went, trying new recipes/favorite recipes, and the occasional “what I ate” days where you would post all your eats for the day. And the more pics the better!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 31, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

      I explained up above that I guess I fancied myself a poet when I came up with it and it’s kind of good to know that it’s not always translating well haha… But I dunno if I’ll actually change it. Thanks for the feedback though!!! :)

  17. January 29, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    This is a great idea to help improve your blog! I love your name. I think you should add some more pictures and recipes. Can you add some kind of picture to your header because that might look good? Sorry I’m not much of a help. Layouts confuse me:p

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots January 31, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      No you’re definitely helpful! Thank you so much for the feedback :) I def need to look at adding some kind of picture-header to give it some pizzazz… Weekend project, perhaps ;)

      <3
      n

  18. drdutch January 29, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    I think your name is fine. just put a few more pics and recipes up. Maybe a video every so often.

  19. BrittFit January 30, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    I like the way your blog is now. its simple and honest :)

  20. Erika January 31, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    I love your blog name the way it is! Although, I think “Healthy Cookie Monster” has a nice ring to it. ;-)
    Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

