back to december.

1 Feb

Yes, I’m a Taylor Swift fan. Judge me all you want… her lyrics aren’t necessarily profound, but those songs are so damn catchy!

Unfortunately, I have no experience dating Taylor Lautner and thus have no basis for writing about going “back to december” to relive such bliss (I can dream, though…) But these pumpkin-molasses crinkles, while they may lack Taylor’s abs, are a close second in my affections. And they were baked on a cold, dreary day in December…

As evidenced by the lights of the tree in the background. Actually, that tree is apparently still there. Clearly my house falls apart when I’m not around.

But truly, could you come up with a more brilliant idea than combining spicy molasses cookies with pumpkin? I can’t. And these little morsels were simple and divine, and were consumed within minutes of arriving at my best friend’s house. Her little sister is pretty much convinced I lace my baked goods with crack.

So THAT’S what the powdery stuff is…

(Of course I don’t! I mean, um… awkward.)

These are probably most comfortable nestled somewhere between Thanksgiving and Christmas, but out-of-season I’m sure they’ll taste just as good.

Putting away the tree, however, should have a deadline…

Pumpkin  Molasses Crinkles
from Behind the Skillet
Makes about 5-dozen itty bitty cookies

1/3 cup Flour
2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
1 tsp Ground Cinnamon
1 tsp Ginger
1/2 tsp All-Spice
1/2 tsp Ground Cloves
1/2 tsp Nutmeg
114 g (1/2 cup) Butter (room temp)
1 cup packed Dark Brown Sugar
1/4 cup Molasses
2/3 cup Pumpkin Puree
1 egg (room temp)
granulated or powdered sugar (or both)
mini chocolate chips (optional, though always a good idea…)

Sift together flour, baking soda, salt and spices in a medium bowl.

In a separate, larger bowl, cream together butter and sugar until creamy. Add in pumpkin and molasses and beat until thoroughly combined. Add in egg and beat, again, until combined. Stir in flour mixture until well-mixed into a relatively sticky dough; stir in chocolate chips if desired. Cover and refrigerate for a few hours or up to overnight (so it’s easier to handle… You may have to refrigerate between batches as well!)

Preheat oven to 350F and lightly grease 2 cookie sheets.

Put ~1/4 c. regular or powdered sugar in a small bowl. Form tablespoon-sized balls of dough and roll them in sugar of choice, then place on cookie sheet, leaving about an inch between each one. Bake for 8-12 minutes until just set to the touch.

Enjoy and reminisce about cozy days cuddled up by the fireplace with no homework or obligations.

(Or dream of Taylor Lautner… your call ;) )

Who’s your embarrassing celebrity crush? Or what’s your musical guilty pleasure? (I have too many to list…)

20 Responses to “back to december.”

  1. snackgirlgoeshealthy February 1, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Those look super good and chewyyy!!!
    haha.

    And T-Swift is like my on earth idol. I love love love love love her! To death!
    I am going to her Speak Now Tour in September! Call it a year away still! I am stoked!

  2. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 1, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Your pictures of those cookies are AMAZING! Why do you have to continue to taunt me with all your fabulous looking cookies? ;)
    Don’t worry about your Christmas decorations – ours are still up too! They’re just too cute to take down! I mean, snowmen should be around all winter long, right? Well, maybe not, but it’s my excuse, and I’m sticking with it! ;)

  3. whatkateiscooking February 1, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Ahh, these look tasty! I love pumpkin and molasses together :)

  4. Olivia February 1, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    Oh Yumm! I love all things pumpkin! :) And don’t be ashamed..I can play and sing every single one of T-swifts songs on guitar…love her! I’m really lovin’ your blog, check out mine sometime;)

  5. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 1, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    I love her songs they are so catchy your right! Sparks fly is great and so is “Dear John”

  6. Sophia @ Raven Waves February 1, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    I love blasting Paramore! Definitely a guilty pleasure :)

  7. Kat February 1, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    YUMMY!!
    Im a t swift lover too :) Then again, I was raised a country girl, so I love anything country!

  8. fashionfitnessfoodie February 1, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    hanson!!! everyone always makes fun of me for it…

    Those cookies look great though… I have an insane amount of pumpkin that needs to be used!

  9. healthyexposures February 1, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Pumpkin + ginger? You’re right – sounds like a match made in heaven! I am a biiiig ginger cookie fan :)
    I can’t think of a guilty listening pleasure right now! I guess I don’t find any of it embarrassing at the moment, haha. I’m sure I could find something trashy on my iPod though :P

  10. BrittFit February 1, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    those pics are soo pretty….and yes I LOVE GLEE..there i said it! haha

  11. Kristie February 2, 2011 at 5:25 am #

    I always get so excited when I see recipes that use molasses… I don’t know what it is about it, maybe because it’s not THAT common… but I always feel like I just have to try them. And this one is no different! Sounds just delicious!

    And I’m pretty sure most of my music is guilty pleasures, just sayin… no shame!

  12. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 2, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Come bake these with me! ok ok. FOR me! =)

    xoxo

  13. purplebirdblog February 2, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    I can practically taste the warmth of these cookies!! :D

  14. Ayla February 2, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    YUMMM! Those look and sound amazing. Now I just need to make and eat them so that I can say they taste amazing too (which I’m sure they do!).

    I don’t think I really have a guilty celebrity crush.. but I do have quite a few celebs that I crush on. ;)

  15. Baking Serendipity February 2, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    These sound fantastic! I love pumpkin but am always afraid it should be put away after Thanksgiving. These cookies make it acceptable into December and even after for sure :)

  16. kissmybroccoli February 4, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    I love this post! I “cracked” up about lacing the cookies…pun totally intended! These cookies look amazing! I love your pics…I’m a total sucker for Christmas trees in the background of shots!

    Can you believe I drove past a house last week that still had their Christmas tree up WITH the lights on?? Weeeeeeeirdoooooo! Haha!

Leave a Reply

