three-good-things thursday

3 Feb

Last quarter, I took an informal, once-a-week workshop on happiness. Every week we went over some of the basics of positive psychology, which is the field of psychology in which they study what goes right instead of what goes wrong, and the emphasis is on figuring out a road to happiness.

Along the way, we did a variety of different exercises that were supposed to help us find “happiness” in our lives. My personal favorite was called “three good things”… Every day for a week we were asked to write down three positive things about that day. Evidently, keeping up this practice for an extended period of time (we’re talking a month, or more) has been linked to a general sense of satisfaction.

I’ve lost the habit of writing these down, but from time to time I like to think about it. And today was a particularly good day, so I thought I’d share some of the love! I’m not sure if this will turn into a weekly feature, but… here goes!

I actually have more than 3… I can’t really count let’s be honest. (Calculus, sure. Counting… Not so much.)

1)   Signs of spring!

2)   An invigorating 4.5-mile (round trip) walk to Trader Joe’s… Where I managed to get out having only spent $13! And I managed to make it back before it got dark, so none of the crazies got me. Always a good thing.

The loot… Frozen pizza, spinach pizzas (delish!), Eggplant hummus, peanut flour (experimentation to come!), & carrots, of course!

This also involved discovering my new favorite hummus… TJ’s Eggplant Hummus. Yes, it has replaced the Tomato & Basil Hummus in my affections. This is a big deal.

I could will probably eat this with a spoon!

3)   Juicy oranges…

4)   I don’t have a picture, but my school’s salad bar had Brussels sprouts today. I was inordinately excited. And ate about half of them. Pretty sure I had over a pound of veggies today… Which always makes for a good day.

5)   Left over low-sugar cookies! I also appreciated all the nice comments… If anyone tries them let me know! I’m always looking for feedback.

6)   A beautiful, albeit poorly-photographed, sunset out my dorm window

In other news, I am now on Twitter. Be afraid, be very afraid!

What are your three good things today? How do you stay positive?

24 Responses to “three-good-things thursday”

  1. risewiththesun February 3, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

    I really like your signs of spring photo & the cookies (they look delish!) I can’t wait for it to spring either!!

    Hmm my 3 good things today were:

    1. Perfectly riped blueberries (half eaten, half sitting in my fridge)
    2. my newly painted nail polish (currently drying on my nails!)
    3. Looking through the photos I took yesterday.

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 8, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

      Aww thanks! :)

      Oh my gosh I am SUPER jealous of yoru blueberries… I haven’t had good ones in awhile!
      I love looking through photos of good times. :) I’m pretty sure your photos are also a million times better than mine though and I love looking through your photos as well ;)

  2. fashionfitnessfoodie February 4, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    13 dollars and a 4.5 mile walk to trader joes sounds like a perfect day! i love your picture of the sunset too :)

  3. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 4, 2011 at 4:39 am #

    I would be thankful for that food too! Let me know if you like the peanut flour – I still haven’t been able to find it!
    Brussel sprouts are one of my FAVORITE veggies ever (go fellow veghead ;)
    My three things: 1) my family 2) my pets 3) its Friday! and (can I have four?) my wonderful blog friends! :)

  4. Sophia @ Raven Waves February 4, 2011 at 4:56 am #

    Wow you did really well at TJ’s! I’m so happy that it’s the weekend!! TGIF!

  5. lauren montanaro norster February 4, 2011 at 5:11 am #

    Three cheers for that eggplant hummus — it’s delicious. Sounds like a nice walk, too!

  6. perfectionisnthappy February 4, 2011 at 5:27 am #

    That’s so cool that you were able to take a workshop on happiness! I’m jealous that you are seeing signs of spring! Right now I’m thankful for the three snow days I’ve had this week, for chocolate keeping me sane while I’m stuck inside, and my heated blanket. If you can’t tell, we are obviously not seeing signs of spring here :)!

  7. megan @ the oatmeal diaries February 4, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    SO jealous you can walk to TJ’s! I need to try that eggplant hummus. And I’ll add you on Twitter! :)

  8. Angie February 4, 2011 at 6:28 am #

    Three good things:
    I got to listen to Taylor swift on the way to school
    I got to class on time
    I get to see my boyfriend tonight :)

  9. Jenny February 4, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    What a beautiful picture of spring :) And those cookies look divine

  10. Kristina February 4, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    That sounds like a great little trip to TJ’s-i’m completely jealous of the fact that you have one!!!!

  11. Ashley @ Taste for Healthy February 4, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Great post! I absolutely love the idea of “Three Good Things.” What a great assignment!! I am going to start doing this daily. :)

  12. BrittFit February 4, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    I really like this post i always focus on staying positive through the little things in life. 3 things for me would be apples, sunshine, and my daily cardio sessions ( endorphins make me smile :))

  13. Olivia February 4, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    Oh yum! Your cookies look really good! I love TJ’s too and their frozen pizzas are so good!If you’ve ever had their greek pizzas, they’re technically 2 serving but really one…well they are so soo good! Possibly my all time fav. frozen pizza! I could spend my life in TJs and Whole Foods too:) Ooh, and The Fresh Market is awesome; do you have one of those!?

  14. whatkateiscooking February 4, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Haha, I’m scared of walking at night because of weird people too! I live in a really safe city, but I swear to God… the freaks come out at night!

  15. kristensweetly February 4, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    I don’t think I’ve ever gotten out of a Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods without spending at least $50. Well done! Haha. I see you stocked up on that peanut flour before it’s gone for ever. Tragically, I’ve never gotten a chance to pick it up. I guess it’s better this way, so I never know what I’m missing.

  16. kissmybroccoli February 4, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    So jealous that you are already seeing signs of spring while everything here is still dead, dead, dead! Blah!

    Eggplant hummus?! Ohmigod! I must try that!!

    My 3 things:
    1. Biting into a cool juicy strawberry in the dead of winter.
    2. Not having to go to work today.
    3. Getting a great workout in despite my mood being blah beforehand!

  17. Holly at Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices February 5, 2011 at 6:19 am #

    Beautiful signs of spring! :) Quite the picture- as well as that sunset :)
    mmmmm- going to have to look at that cookie recipe- looks great!

  18. Kayla February 5, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    I love carrots with hummus, I ate a WHOLE bunch yesterday…sooo good!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 8, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

      i may or may not have polished off that 1.5 pound bag of carrots and entire tub of hummus in about a day… oops

  19. Kat February 5, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    eggplant hummus? oh gosh I need to go get that! Even though I have a huge container of hummus in my fridge from cosco, this flavor sounds amazing!

  20. Jenna's Journey February 7, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    love your blog! come check out mine if you haven’t!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. what i ate wednesday… & bell pepper deliciousness « Of Cookies & Carrots - February 16, 2011

    […] Whole wheat tortilla, salad bar salad, lots of Trader Joe’s eggplant hummus, alongside steamed broccoli (and more salad, which I ate before […]

  2. in like a lion. « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 1, 2011

    […] lookin’ at you, Trader Joes. And Pinkberry. And Starbucks. Yikes. I have enough meal points for school meals that I don’t […]

Leave a Reply

