pudim de leite condensado… & a birthday

6 Feb

In a very swift and THOROUGH departure from both the lower-sugar eating and the vegan food… I bring you a dish based around eggs, condensed milk, and sugar. But all for a special occasion!

Yes, it involves sugar. Lots of sugar. Beautiful, caramelized sugar…

My dad claims he doesn’t like sweets all that much.

This doesn’t really fit with the empirical data I’ve gathered over the years: the disappearing Easter candy (apparently the bunny likes to retract his gifts), the cookies that are gone before morning, or the fact that I have to literally hide my chocolate chips in the pantry so that they don’t get attacked.

There is, however, one dessert he has always claimed to love: my grandma’s “pudim de leite condensado.” Basically, it’s a Brazilian flan. And it’s delicious.

I have a very distinct memory of a cold Thanksgiving when we were taking one of these gems to our friend’s house for the celebration. My dad drove uncharacteristically slowly and took every curve with utmost caution. Not because of us, of course, but because of his precious pudim. I’ve also gotten into more than one disagreement about him about the last piece… It’s that good.

So in honor of his birthday today (yes, he’s getting old!), I bring you the recipe. It’s not healthy. It has a ton of sugar. But it’s made with love, and it nourishes the soul. So it’s worth every gram of fat, sugar, and calories.

(And for those of you who are fans of my grandma, she’s featured prominently in this, as it is her signature dish!)

Pudim de Leite Condensado
Recipe from here (click for more specific tips on each step)…
Pictures of the process from me!

1 scant cup sugar (for the caramel)
1 can sweetened condensed milk
Equal volume of regular milk (use the can to measure)
3 eggs
1 8-inch ring mold

Place 1 to 2 inches of water in a roasting pan. Place the pan in the oven and preheat to 325°. *This time, my grandma opted to use a double boiler, but either way works!

Put the sugar in the ring mold. Place the mold directly over medium heat. Keep turning the mold until the sugar melts into a golden brown caramel.

Spoon it up the sides of the mold until evenly spread.

Like so…

Combine the condensed milk, regular milk and eggs in a blender.

Whip until smooth.

Pour into mold and place into center of roasting pan with water, or double-boiler.

Bake the pudim for about 1 hour. It will turn golden brown on top and start separating from the sides of the mold. Let it cool to room temperature and place in refrigerator, preferably overnight (at least 6 hours).

The worst part is definitely waiting!

Dig in!

Happy birthday Dad!!!

What’s your family’s favorite, traditional dessert recipe?

33 Responses to “pudim de leite condensado… & a birthday”

  1. Sophia @ Raven Waves February 6, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    Brazilian flan sounds/looks so cool!! Would love to try a slice. My mom makes a ton of traditional Greek desserts, and they’re all so delicious!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 7, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

      clearly we need to get together and share all of the dessert bounty, because I would LOOOOVE to try some greek desserts ;)

  2. Jenny February 6, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    Interesting flan! My dad makes a great flan with condensed milk and a whole lotta eggs. It has this caramel top layer that is divine.

  3. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 6, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    I love my aunt’s cheese cake so fatty but sooooo good :)

  4. Maia February 7, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    Maravilhosas as fotos (as que eu consegui enxergar no meio das lágrimas)e o amor q vc demonstra pela vovó. Saiba que é recíproco!!
    Um grande bjo. Maia

  5. healthyexposures February 7, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    Your dad sounds like me. I used to claim I didn’t have much of a sweet tooth. Then I thought about it and realized that’s a complete lie. I just don’t like overly sweet stuff :P
    I’ve always wondered what flan was! Now I know…sort of :P I don’t think we really have a traditional dessert…just whatever the birthday person wants, I guess!

  6. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 7, 2011 at 4:30 am #

    Haha – your dad sounds JUST like mine!!! And I think he would absolutely love that flan cake. He loves anything custardy (oh wait, he doesn’t like sweets that much ;) Haha! Dad’s are the best!

    Happy Birthday to your dad! :)

  7. Kristina @ Life as Kristina February 7, 2011 at 4:59 am #

    I remember having this while in Brazil-nothing like the crap in America-DELISH!!!!
    Happy bday to your dad!!!!

  8. Pancake February 7, 2011 at 6:09 am #

    My mom’s side is Romanian. My favorites that she and grandma make are kolac (a slightly sweet bread filled with a nut/raisin swirl), and pachinta (a savory dish).

  9. movesnmunchies February 7, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    wow! this looks so unique and def something i have never tried before!

  10. This Italian Family February 7, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    I love that this is a family recipe you are sharing and I love that it isn’t necessarily healthy, but that’t it’s full of love. That makes it all the better. *grins* Happy birthday to your dad!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 7, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

      Thank YOU for visiting! :)
      i definitely like the idea of moderation. While it might be fun short-term to try living off of sweet stuff, I figure I’ll feel like crap eventually… but definitely no harm in having it once in awhile! :)

  11. TheDad February 7, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Thanks for the post and well wishes! Very appreciated.

    Since you brilliantly chose to immortalize the dish and the event on the web, I feel obliged to make a (modest) contribution to the record.

    First, I (still?) consider myself not much of a sweets person. Despite admitting a love for the aforementioned “pudim”, most types of chocolate and – in recent years – a lot of your baking. In light of the evidence – btw, the “Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Mint UFOs” was really hard to find – I will officially review that position as part of my mid-life crisis self examination.

    Second, I can attest the specific “pudim” unit feature in the post tastes as good as it looks (perhaps better). As your brother will not touch and, well, you know Granma and Mom…. I am the only member of the human race (make that all living beings as I refused the dogs begging for their own good) who can make that claim first hand, so I think it is important to set the record straight. On related news, I should be done with it tonight.

    Now that you have the recipe, next time you come home you should consider taking a deviation from your vegan ways and try making (and eating) one. I will gladly help you come up to speed on this family tradition…

    The cookies you sent were delicious…
    No, Mom did not ask me to post this, I swear…

    Love u
    Dad

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 7, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

      I dunno if I’m brave enough to make one here… I don’t have all the necessary accoutrements. But I’d totally help you out if I were at home…

      And those UFOs are really good but they’re seasonal and I wanted them for cookies! Next time they’re going in my underwear drawer :P

      love you too
      n

  12. Mandi February 7, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Wow, that looks so good! I can definitely see how you and your dad could get into disagreements over the last piece. ;)My favorite traditional desert recipe would have to be either my moms fudge or cherry pie that she makes around Christmas. She’s been making them for as long as I can remember. :)

  13. fashionfitnessfoodie February 7, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Aw, I love how your dad commented!!
    That flan does look delicious! I have never had brazillian dessert but you make me want to try it!

  14. adventuresofpretendcook February 7, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    What a delicious looking cake! My grandmother makes these shortbread cookies (they are kind of like little wedding cookies). They are so good and she only makes them once a year, on Christmas. That just makes me love them more. :)

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 7, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

      I’m the cookie-girl in the house so I make cookies for HER… but she def has me beat on savory dishes and this fancy dessert ;)

      shorbread cookies sound amazing though!

  15. tatygzvitauski February 7, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    muito fofo.
    agora devolve minha avó.

    te amo :}

  16. a frog in the cottage February 7, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    what a great grandma of yours !! lucky guys !!

  17. Olivia February 7, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Oh yum yum yuum!! This looks so much like a brazillian flan that we have every year at Christmas! It is to Die for! My favorite traditional dessert is probably my dad’s homemade chocolate fudge cake-which is not actually cake, it’s basically three different layers of chocolatey fudge, covered in a sweet raspberry sauce! ok-maybe its not so traditional after all:)

  18. whatkateiscooking February 7, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    How can anyone say they don’t like desserts that much?! I could live off sugar :)

  19. TheNewHealthy February 7, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Ah, yum! I’ll just feast with my eyes considering it’s vegan week! haha

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 7, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

      haha I know right? Luckily I’m not at home because that miiiight be too much temptation for me to deal with ;) (she made one for my dad yesterday, but the one photographed is actually from winter break)

  20. snackgirlgoeshealthy February 7, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    YOU ARE SOOOOOOO FREAKING PRETTY! I love your smile. I know you said that on my blog but I totally mean it back. I love your face shape! Its so adorable!

    That flan looks very good! I have never even tried flan! I shall have to!

  21. allison February 10, 2011 at 3:34 am #

    Im really so sad that i never had flan before i became a vegan because i positive i would have loved it! I think im gonna try to veganize it somehow! It was everywhere when i lived in Argentina and my boyfriends Dominican mom makes an amazing flan (so ive been told..lol)

    My favorite “family” dessert is an amazing apple cake thats so delicious im about to cry since i dont have any right now lol I have a bunch of apples so i think its gonna be made this weekend:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. reasons my grandma is like dobby. « Of Cookies & Carrots - February 16, 2011

    […] Making her famous pudim! […]

  2. tastes of home. [reese's-pieces cookies] « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 25, 2011

    […] my teenage brother’s fault… My dad (who “doesn’t like sweets”, remember?) definitely ate at least half a […]

Leave a Reply

