week of love.

7 Feb

Anybody who knows me at all knows that I’m kind of a huge sap. Taylor Swift songs? Love them. Rom-Coms? Favorites! Fairytale ending? I’m so there!

I, for one, watched The Last Song, featuring Miley “Talentless” Cyrus, in theaters. Twice. And bawled my eyes out both times. And it wasn’t just because of her terrible acting (though really, my crying had little to do with her ability to convey anything vaguely resembling emotion). Clearly, I’m… “sensitive”.

So it may surprise you that I typically don’t do much of anything for Valentine’s Day. Some of it is a bit of resentment of “Singles’ Awareness Day”… But mostly I just don’t know what to do with it. I’ve been known to bake cookies (surprise, surprise!) or just express my adoration for some of my friends on occasion, but never anything special.

(Well, except that time in 7th grade where I put a bow on my dog and took pictures of him in front of the heart shaped pillows that now adorn my dorm bed…)

(I’m mortified on both our behalves)

This year, I’ve decided to devote an entire week to Valentine’s Day. Not the cards, or the glitz or the glamor, but the very basics of love and its many forms (family-love, food-love, life-love, self-love… the list goes on!)

See, I love love. I love to love people. One of my seven facts was that I love a lot of people but am not in love with them. I stand by that statement… I care a whole lot about almost all of the people in my life, and want the best for them. Sometimes I care too much, and I get hurt, but that’s life, I guess.

Anyways, all of this mindless rambling is mostly to say this:

Welcome to the week of loooooove! I’ll be doing a different post somehow pertaining to some type of love every day through Valentine’s Day. Just to shake things up a little, y’know? But don’t worry… there WILL be food involved. ;)

Quote of the day: “We’re all a little weird, and life’s a little weird, and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them in mutual weirdness and call it love.” (Have heard this attributed to Boy Meets World?)

Are you a sap? OR Share your favorite sappy love quotes!

19 Responses to “week of love.”

  1. snackgirlgoeshealthy February 7, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Aww! This is sweet!

    I have to admit T-Swift is like my favorite. I’m crazy enough to sepnd 170 bucks to see her at the tacoma dome Spetember 7th. SOOOO excited!

  2. vixter2010 February 8, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    Love this! I too love TS and loved The Last Song. Happy endings – yes please. I am also single and not a fan of V Day but I think your plan is a good one and I will follow your week!

  3. Kristina @ Life as Kristina February 8, 2011 at 4:03 am #

    I’m not someone to turn down romance!!!

  4. Sophia @ Raven Waves February 8, 2011 at 5:03 am #

    Aw, cute post! Can’t wait to see what comes next! I’m obsessed with this quote from Led Zeppeling: “If the sun refused to shine, I’d still be loving you. If mountains crumble to the sea, there will still be you and me.”

  5. Jenny February 8, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    Super cute! And I am a bit sappy although I like to put up a tough front haha :D

  6. Aly February 8, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    I love this! :) It’s so cute, and I know what you mean about “Singles” Awareness Day. This is actually the first year that I have a date on Valentine’s Day! Strange stuff! We’ll see how it goes! I love self-love, so this definitely talks to me! I should just have a valentine’s dinner with myself… Hahaha. :)
    Aly

  7. purplebirdblog February 8, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    I love that quote… my boyfriend and I are the epitome of that! :)

  8. janae @hungryrunnergirl.com February 8, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    I really want to see that Miley movie!! Girl, I LOVE that you are doing this and I am so excited for your posts!! I am a sap and I LOVE that quote you have up. Girl, you are gorgeous!

  9. movesnmunchies February 8, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    AWW so so cute! im not a sap AT ALL…!

  10. Mandi February 8, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    This is really cute! I can’t wait to read your posts. :) I know what you mean about the whole “singles awareness day”. Up until last year I had always been single on valentines day.

  11. Jess February 8, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    ah i love tay:) i’m a dork!
    this is a good idea, looking forward to it!

  12. This Italian Family February 8, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Oh girl, I’m a total sap too! That first paragraph up there totally describes me, haha! Looking forward to your coming posts! :)

  13. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 8, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    I can’t wait see all the love-filled posts!!!!! :)

  14. whatkateiscooking February 8, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    I LOVE the fact that you quoted Boy Meets World! That remains one of my favorite shows :)

  15. kissmybroccoli February 11, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Love that quote! I used to watch BMW all the time!

    Omg, I am totally with you on The Last Song! How in the world did you live through seeing it a second time? By the end of the movie, I thought my brain was going to unhinge my skull and run screaming for the hills! The WORST acting I’ve seen in my life!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 11, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      See, I liked the idea of the movie adn the boy is gorgeous. i just wanted to shoot miley.

      and i loooved boy meets world! also growing pains. so much better than today’s tv ;) (i sound so old, and i’m not… hmm)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. loving life: three-good-things thursday « Of Cookies & Carrots - February 11, 2011

    […] episode of love week has to do with love of life. Or living a life you […]

  2. true-love tuesday « Of Cookies & Carrots - February 11, 2011

    […] Feb So here’s the first “real” day of the “week of love” and I’m going to babble about love… twuuuuue […]

  3. self-love saturday. « Of Cookies & Carrots - February 12, 2011

    […] another rather personal topic for “week of love“: Self-love (the greatest love of all, right?). And I’m tying this in to “Teen Week” […]

Leave a Reply

