true-love tuesday

8 Feb

So here’s the first “real” day of the “week of love” and I’m going to babble about love… twuuuuue wuv

(I actually have seen this movie like once so I probably don’t even deserve to be fake-quoting it, but that’s okay!)

I admittedly am young, and my relationship experience is limited, but I am a firm believer in love. “Love? Above all things, I believe in love! Love is like oxygen. Love is a many-splendored thing, love lifts us up where we belong, all you need is love!”

(That would be Moulin Rouge for those of you not in-the-know… and THAT movie I’ve seen a million times and adore!)

But even though I am admittedly a complete and total sap, I’m pretty sure I don’t believe in soulmates. True love, yes. Soulmates, not so much. Or if I do believe in soulmates, I think I believe in everyone having multiple soulmates, many potential soulmates.

I read one blog post about the idea of a “spark”, or that third magical thing (call it chemistry, call it spark, call it a connection, call it whatever you want). And it got me thinking. A few years ago some of my friends and postulated that love can be kind of divided into three parts: physical attractiveness/compatibility (thinking the other person is attractive, even if you aren’t fully attracted TO them), emotional compatibility, and that “spark”. That thing that inexplicably draws you to them. That intoxicating feeling. And I’m enough of a hopeless romantic that I feel like that’s necessary for ME in a relationship.

That’s why I said I love many people, but I’m not IN love with many people, nor will I ever be. People I truly fall for are few and far between… When I fall, I fall hard (and boy does it take me awhile to get back up afterwards!) I wouldn’t exactly say I’m “picky”… the people I have fallen for don’t necessarily fit any specific guidelines or criteria, nor do I have such a list going in my head. But it just happens so infrequently and that feeling is so important to me that I’m pretty much perpetually single.

Some days I get lonely, but most days I’m okay with it. I try to get out and meet new people and give people chances but I feel like I’m one of those people who knows extremely quickly whether or not I’m going to have aforementioned spark with any given person.

So now I’m just talking myself in circles, but there you have it. Yes, I’m kind of still delusionally romantic (though I don’t necessarily need cards or flowers or chocolate… Okay, maybe I need chocolate, but not the other stuff! :-P), but I watched too much Disney not to be. ;)

Quote of the day: “Love doesn’t make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile.”

What is love? (Yes, I totally did that to get that song stuck in your head!)

What are your thoughts on love? Do you need a “spark”? Tell me I’m delusional, tell me your love stories, tell me anything! :)

16 Responses to “true-love tuesday”

  1. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 8, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    I believe that you can’t really tell if a spark is there until you get to know the person better. I don’t believe in that initial spark after meeting someone after one date. Love grows, love gets stronger. Love is not a feeling of bliss but a GROWING feeling of bliss daily.

  2. whatkateiscooking February 8, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Moulin Rouge is one of my favorite movies! I love the shout out to it :)

  3. Jess February 8, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    I don’t believe in soul mates, either- but I think that there aren’t THAT many people who we are compatible with in those 3 ways. I definitely need a spark, and it is hard to find!

  4. Sophia @ Raven Waves February 8, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    I do believe in soulmates, though I don’t think it necessarily means romantic love. I’ve been dating my boyfriend for almost 4 years, and I’m still head over heels in love with him. True love? Yes. Soulmates? No. Have you ever read Wuthering Heights? It’s my FAVORITE BOOK EVER! All about soulmates, passionate love, destructive love, etc.

  5. zoe February 9, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    i love love. loooove it. love love stories, love songs, love poems, love movies. i have a heart tattooed on my foot. that being said, i don’t necessarily think it’s a bad thing to be alone. i think a lot of people are afraid of being alone. but being alone doesn’t mean you’re broken or unworthy or unwanted. it just means you haven’t found that someone who really makes you tick. i’m really similar to you — i always need to feel the “spark” with someone or i know it will not work. it takes very little time for me to figure out whether or not i am going to jive with someone. i am not picky, i just don’t settle with the first person that comes along. i listen to my heart and it’s steered me in the right direction my entire life so why stop now :)? do i believe in soul mates? yes, though i believe they come in many forms, not just in the form of a significant other!

  6. Lexie February 9, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    Mawwiage! I’m too young to be thinking about mawwiage. (Note, I’m almost 22!!!) Lol.

    Anyway, my theory on love: Love is pooping with the door open. If you’re comfortable enough to do that with your sig other, it’s love. Haha

  7. Kristina February 9, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    I look for a spark with a side of comfort….nothing better than having comfort and security with your best friend:)

  8. This Italian Family February 9, 2011 at 5:27 am #

    I love both of those movies. I grew up watching The Princess Bride and can probably quote the ENTIRE movie (I know, I’m one of thooose people, haha!). I saw Moulin Rouge for the first time a couple of years ago and just fell in love. What an incredible movie. The song “Come What May” from that movie is a favorite of mine. And that quote from the movie is so good too!

    It has been over 6.5 years since my husband and I met. I remember thinking he was gorgeous (he was Italian, tall, muscular, lithe, and so so tan), but I wasn’t interested in dating at the time. As we formed a quick and very close friendship, I realized that he really would make an incredible husband. So I decided to give it a shot. I’m so glad I did. In just a couple of days we will celebrate 2.5 years of marriage. :)

  9. Mandi February 9, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    I’m not sure if I believe in soul mates, but I do believe in true love. I’ve always been like you, not falling for people very often but when I finally do falling hard. I was single for the longest time just because I only wanted to date someone who I felt that ‘spark’ for. Luckily I’m now with my boyfriend whom I’m head over heels for. :)

  10. Kayla February 9, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    I love Princess Bride, I’ve seen it a million times! :)

    I think I’ll need to find that “spark” to fall in love with someone.

  11. Erika February 9, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    This is such an awesome post! Good luck with love week! :]

  12. Kat February 9, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Before I start, first let me say that I always love getting comments from you because you are SO sweet!! Thx for being so amazing :)
    If you want to read my love story, you can find it on my blog under The Ones I love tab. When I first met Ninja I couldnt even remember his name, so no there was no spark! He however told me he knew right away there was something special :)

  13. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 9, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    I totally think there is a spark. but it really has to bite you on the butt! I dated someone for a year and a half. we broke up. We just didnt care enough about the other person to really make an effort at the relationship. really sad.

    a year or so later, giant sparkage and that jerk I wasn’t super into is now my husband. and we totally make the effort now. haha!

    you just never know! be a hopeless romantic! I was/am and its not even a little hopeless <3 promise!

  14. Ayla February 10, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    Maybe you’re a delusional romantic but so am I! Which is exactly why I’ve never had a boyfriend. I’ve been intimate with a few guys, I even loved one but I was not IN love with him so I wouldn’t date him. We just had awesome physical chemistry. :)

    I completely, 100% believe in “the spark” and if I don’t feel an instant connection with a guy then I don’t bother. I felt the spark with the first guy I mentioned above and I haven’t felt it since. I’m fine with that because at least I know it exists and when I feel it for a new guy, I’ll be ready. :)

  15. Katherine: Unemployed February 10, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    what a funny post! you make me laugh out loud

  16. kissmybroccoli February 11, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    My thoughts on love were a lot different roughly two years ago when what I thought was my “happily ever after” turned out to be just another pumpkin carried by house mice. Since I thought he was my true love, I really find it hard to believe in such a thing anymore. Love involves so much emotion, care, and trust and I think too many people in this world take others for granted so much so that they could never fully understand the concept of love. So many people confuse it with attraction or comfort or pleasure. I hope to one day find a man that understands what the true meaning of love is and feel that spark, but for now, I am content with learning to love myself.

Leave a Reply

