loving life: three-good-things thursday

10 Feb

Today’s episode of love week has to do with love of life. Or living a life you love!

I’m going to be honest. This is still something I’m working on. Yes, I can usually come up with three positive things that happened on any given day. But oftentimes I feel like I’m killing time, waiting for the next big thing, when really I ought to be going out there and making that thing happen. I’m really excited about a lot of the classes I’m going to start taking, but I’m still fairly aimless… yes, that’s probably normal for a 20-year-old, but recently I feel like the days are all passing me by and I’m not sure I’m entirely living them. It’s something I’ve been working on. To be sure, finding the small things in the everyday that make me light up are reminders of why I should be loving life.

Jealous?

Some examples? The sun. Sunsets. Flowers. The stars. I’m fairly obsessed with stars, actually… A smile from a stranger. A compliment. Feeling as though I’ve made someone’s day. Just the little things, you know?

Chocolate chip cookies never hurt…

In honor of this, and it being Thursday, I bring you another “three-good-things Thursday”…

1) I survived two midterms today. That was QUITE an accomplishment let me tell you… I didn’t really study quite as well as I probably should have but at this point I’m just glad they’re over! (Also, this is why I was absent yesterday… whoops!)

I don’t think I did *this* well again, but…

2) Remember my job? Well, I get paid $275 today. That means I can justify my purchase of 3 bags of peanut flour (side note: I went to TJ’s last Thursday and there were 9 packages left. I went yesterday and there were 4. Needless to say I bought 3 of them…)

Some days this is all that gets me through work.

3) Went to check my mail today and lo and behold…
A package!

Filled with delicious raw nut buttery goodness! :) I’m super excited to try all of them and can’t decide where to start… But I will totally keep you updated! ;)

Sorry for the lackluster post… I have gotten about 12 hours of sleep in 3 nights and I’m kind of a grandma/toddler and need at least 7/night. So that’s definitely inadequate. And now I’m off to my job again, so no rest in sight… The prospect of Trader Joe’s will keep me working hard though, not to worry! I had all these plans this week of getting creative in the dorm kitchen but once again life got in the way… Soon, I promise!

What do you love about life? What little things make you happy? What are your three-good-things?

21 Responses to “loving life: three-good-things thursday”

  1. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds February 10, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I need to hit up TJ’s asap so I can buy out their peanut flour section. I am still in denial that they are discontinuing this beautiful product :(

    PS. I am oober jealous of the nut butter package you received! Let us know which is your fav.

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 11, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

      Do a google search (uh, i just typed shirt. i’m tired) for peanut flour adn you’ll find other brands you can order online… I can’t guarantee if they taste exactlyt eh same but… y’know :)

  2. purplebirdblog February 10, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    Blog comments make me happy. Puppy cuddles. Warm curry foods. :)

  3. Sophia @ Raven Waves February 10, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    That’s great that your midterms are over! Go you! And paychecks always rock! I keep seeing peanut flour everywhere! It’s the new blog thing to do, I guess :) My number one love in life is my family. I couldn’t do anything without them :) Have a great weekend!

  4. Courtney (Pancakes & Postcards) February 10, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    Congrats on getting through the midterms! I love trying to find things to be thankful for. I live in norcal too, and I have just been SO grateful for the amazing weather we’ve been having! I also love Tjs but I haven’t gone for a long time… you inspired me to pick up some peanut flour this weekend! :)

  5. Namaste Gurl February 10, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Yay for getting through your midterms and getting paid. That’s always fun, huh? :)
    I wasn’t much of a fan of peanut flour, so I’m not too sad of it’s departure from TJs. What the heck, I much rather eat artisana nut butter ANY ole’ day :)

  6. Mandi February 11, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    Great job getting through your midterms! I’m definitely dreading mine. Those nut butters look so delicious. I’m definitely envious of that package. :)

  7. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 11, 2011 at 4:16 am #

    Yay on your midterms!!! It’s such a relief when they’re over!
    All that nut butter look so delicious!!! And so does the peanut flour. It would definitely make my day to find either of those at my Whole Foods! :)
    My three: 1) It’s almost the weekend 2) I’m going to ride my horse tomorrow 3) I have a test today which means I won’t have a test in that class next week ;) (And of course, my pets and family are ALWAYS on the list :)

  8. Kat February 11, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    Congrats on making it through your tests! Little things that make me happy include my puppers, my hubby, a good workout, and the fact that I can eat more now!! Although Im still trying to figure out HOW to eat more, Im excited about trying!

  9. perfectionisnthappy February 11, 2011 at 6:50 am #

    1. Oatmeal with almond milk, chocolate chips, and peanut butter
    2. It’s Friday…which means it’s the weekend!
    3. The 6th week of the semester is coming up, which means 10 weeks ’til graduation!

  10. Jess February 11, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    i love the sun in the winter! and cuddling and sabres winning hockey games!

  11. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss February 11, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    I’m with ya, girl. If I get less than 8 hours of sleep, I’m a little flustered for a while until I get my rest! :)

    and I’ve gotta say, it was nice having no midterms (since I graduated in May), but I sure do miss the vaca time, too!

  12. Kayla February 11, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    You found peanut flour!! And those cookies look awesome! And I still have some Artisana goodness from when they sent me stuff, I love it all!

  13. movesnmunchies February 11, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    i love the 3 good things!!! your cookies look like the bomb!!!
    my 3 good things are: roasted cinna squash with tofu and almond butter!!, lazy days! and apples!

  14. This Italian Family February 11, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Aww love the pic of you at the end! So cute!

  15. Olivia February 11, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    Ok I am uber jealous of three things in this post…that beautiful sunny picture because it’s gray of all grays in cincinnati! those cookies look delicious like none other, anddd i’m super jealous of your nut butter package!! What a great surprise that must’ve been;)

  16. Tara February 11, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    So jealous! I’ve always wanted to try the artisana products.

    My three good things are: really good runs that you aren’t expecting, miniature spoons, and waking up after a really good nights sleep.

  17. carlee February 11, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Such a positive post! I love hand hearts!

  18. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 11, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    What a great post! I am the same as you in the sense that I got attached really quick to a guy i wasn’t dating for very long and its taken me about a 1 year to get over it even though we didn’t date for long. I’m in a happy committed relationship now and wouldn’t change the way things worked for anything. Overall I loved this post and your story! Well written too!

  19. leashieloo February 12, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    I think it’s a great idea to reflect on the positive things in your life. It’s so easy to get sucked into daily stresses and feel like everything, well sucks. Right now, I’m really appreciating my friends and family, the weather warming up, and my health!

Leave a Reply

