be my valentine?

14 Feb

Happy Valentine’s Day! And thank you for all of your ridiculously kind comments on my last post about self-love… You’re all amazing, and I love to hear what you love about yourselves!

I’ve spent my Valentine’s day in a chemistry lab/classes/studying for tests. Super romantic, right? I had a dinner date with a friend so we could talk about developmental psychology… Very chic. I think the only red-related thing I’ve done today was eat a massive amount of red peppers. But then again, I do that every day, so… Not a big deal.

Hint, hint… Follow me on Twitter! Best V-day present ever…

While I’m not necessarily into the whole Hallmark-based Valentine’s thing, I do like all the cheesy decorations and given my affinity for love in general, it’s no surprise that I actually somewhat enjoy this holiday. At least when it registers on my radar. I don’t think you necessarily need to go out and drop big bucks on roses, or diamonds, or fancy things… Just show the people you love that you love them in any way you’d like.

Yes, I’m single. And yes, I would love to be able to share Valentine’s day with a “significant other” who’d do something small and sweet in recognition of our relationship. But just because I don’t have a boyfriend doesn’t mean I can’t spread the love! Like I’ve talked about, there are many different kinds of love, and I like to use this holiday as an opportunity to tell people I care. And to appreciate the many things I love…

Family!

Friends!

Fresh-baked Cookies…

& Sunsets :)

And all of you! I love all of you! :) It makes my day each and every time I receive a comment, particularly since you’re all so sweet all of them. So, do something special for yourselves, too.

I have some recipes and other musings waiting to be posted, but they don’t entirely pertain to Valentine’s day so I’m doing oooone last sappy post here and then it’ll be back to your regularly scheduled programming…

Enjoy your day of love!

Need a Valentine? I’m all yours! I can have multiple Valentines… right…?
Did you do anything special today?

22 Responses to “be my valentine?”

  1. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 14, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    I’d love to be your valentine! :) hope your day was awesome and week will be even better! I really loved the last post of yours. It was so well written and really “hit home” for me! Keep it up. I always find that finding a significant other happens when u least expect it. Don’t go looking for love let it come to you. The only way love will come to you is if you are true to yourself and love yourself and accept yourself. I know that because when I met Pete I was my totally self with him and began to love who I was even more when with him. That’s what a person should do for you, bring out your best qualities when you with them. And for me I felt like I could be exactly who I wanted to be with him from day one. Loved this post!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 15, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

      I’m so glad you liked it!! And that you agree. :) I think most of my good relationships have been when I’ve been truly myself… And I know my insecurities sometimes cause me to shut people out because I think they don’t like me, etc… <3 n

  2. Mandi February 14, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    It’s so great to see you surrounded by things and people that you love. :) This is actually my first Valentines day where I’m not single, so there’s been a few cute, thoughtful things involved and I’ll probably also go out for dinner and then come back to some cake (as, I also turned 19 today).
    Happy Valentines Day!

  3. whatkateiscooking February 14, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    I had really special plans! I sat on my couch, ate frosting straight up and watched Jeopardy :) I love Valentine’s Day!

  4. Tara February 15, 2011 at 3:45 am #

    I spent my valentines day studying too. Being single, I didn’t feel bad at all. Plus I made some awesome muffins!

  5. Kristina @ Life as Kristina February 15, 2011 at 4:49 am #

    I hope you had a great day-I did a bunch of errands and W cooked me dinner….that about sums it up!

  6. Sophia @ Raven Waves February 15, 2011 at 4:56 am #

    Your pics are gorgeous! Where are you with your fam in the pics? It looks like Greece! You can definitely have more than one Valentine on V-Day! :) Hope you had a fun day!

  7. movesnmunchies February 15, 2011 at 5:05 am #

    yay we can be valentines!! i love this post!! there is so much love out there.. who needs a bf right now! we can go out and BE SINLGE-woohoo!

  8. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss February 15, 2011 at 5:29 am #

    how cute, girly. your cookies look AWESOME.

    and I definitely recommend running a race just for the fun of it! I’ve actually only run ONE race with my game face on. All the other ones have been a fun time with friends! :)

  9. healthyexposures February 15, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    I wish I’d thought to recap “all the things I love” yesterday! Ah well – there’s always today. Or tomorrow :) Needless to say – I loved this post. Very sweet, and your positive attitude towards the holiday brings a smile to my face :)

  10. This Italian Family February 15, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    Aww happy (belated) valentine’s, girl! I’m already following you on twitter so that’s my gift to you. ;) Beautiful photos, by the way! :)

  11. brandi February 15, 2011 at 6:17 am #

    I love that sunset picture :) can’t wait for the recipes!

  12. Jenny February 15, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    Cookies and sunset?! How beautiful!! :)

  13. theamazonprincess February 15, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Very sweet family pics girly. :) I will be your Valentine! Even though it’s the 15th….that’s okay right? ;)

  14. Jess February 15, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Beautiful pics- glad you are sharing the love:)

  15. Olivia February 15, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Your family picture is So Cute!!! Seriously you guys all look so alike (my family does not!); I love it! :) Comments totally make my day too and I absolutely LOVE how sweet people are!! Hope you had a fabulous VDay and hope this comment made ya smile! :) XOXOXO

  16. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun February 15, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    That is so awesome there is a Tweet Me conversation heart. LOL

  17. Kat February 15, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    These pictures are great!! I wish I had pics of my family like that. Memories are priceless!
    I follow you on twitter already, cause well, your super amazing :)

  18. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 15, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    I’ll be your Valentine! ;)
    I hope you had an absolutely fantastic Valentine’s Day – you deserve it!!! :)

  19. janae @hungryrunnergirl.com February 15, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    Amazing post. Cookies and family=happiness:) Girl, you are GORGEOUS!!! Um, can we pretty please go to disneyland together, that would be amazing. Keep up all the hard work you are doing at school, you are amazing!

Leave a Reply

