reasons my grandma is like dobby.

16 Feb

I have determined that my grandmother is a house-elf.

Now, this might seem like an insult, but I don’t mean it as such… I don’t mean she exactly *looks* like one, just that she has many house-elf-like habits!

1. She’s adorable, and tiny. House-elves are adorable, and tiny. She has big round eyes, like Dobby… But less creepy.

2. She’s far, far too hard on herself!

3. She is perpetually in the kitchen, cooking, doing dishes, washing my laundry, sewing my clothing… And I’m not even forcing her, she does it of her own will!

Making her famous pudim!

4. She loves Harry Potter. When she was visiting this time, she and my mom watched every single movie. I didn’t really expect her to like it but apparently she was mesmerized by the special effects and creativity!

5. Most importantly…

She is obsessed with socks. I’m pretty sure she sends me socks with every gift… like the fabulous stuff I got from her in my mail-crazy day yesterday!

Of course I lose socks constantly so that’s totally okay.

Also, the cutest letter ever that she sent me for Valentine’s day…

<3

Who in your family resembles a fictional character?

18 Responses to “reasons my grandma is like dobby.”

  1. hippierunner February 16, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    You are so funny! Sometimes friends and family call me Hermione because I can be nerdy and stubborn, among other things. And her hair in the first movie is mine if I don’t straighten it lol.

  2. movesnmunchies February 16, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    aHAHAH oh my gosh can i PLEASE meet your G’ma!!

  3. kat February 16, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    How sweet :) I loved my gma so much, she was one amazing woman. I miss her a lot. My daddy nicknamed my step mom big bird, although I’m not quite sure why! Haha

  4. This Italian Family February 16, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    Oh my goodness, this is hilarious! I love it! Sounds like your grandma and Dobby would be best friends. :)

  5. Angela February 16, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    I love this post so much!! Hahaha I love Dobby!

  6. runyogarepeat February 16, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Haha love this! She sounds so sweet. Dobby was one of my favorite characters, I cried when he died in the book and movie!

  7. Sophia February 16, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Aw this is adorable!! I love both of my grandmothers so much!

  8. (what runs) Lori February 16, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Oh my gosh- how cute (and creepy)! haha. Your grandma is awesome. :)

  9. Jenny February 16, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    Lol!! This post is way too cute :D

  10. Ayla February 16, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Ahaha! I want your grandma. She’s adorable! :3

    I don’t think anyone in my family resembles a fictional character.. or they probably do but I’m too oblivious to notice.

  11. Courtney (Pancakes & Postcards) February 16, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    oh my gosh this is hilarious I love it.

  12. Mandi February 16, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Haha, this is too cute! :) I don’t think any of my family members resemble fictional characters. Either that or I just haven’t noticed.

  13. lauren montanaro norster February 16, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Oaw, your grandmother is so beautiful! I liked reading this — I’m reading harry potter for the first time, even though I’ve seen all the movies — but I’m reading it in Spanish!

  14. whatkateiscooking February 16, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Haha, this made me laugh! Your grandmother is adorable :)

  15. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds February 16, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    love. your. grandma. SO CUTE. I have an obsession with socks too. Guilty pleasure :)

  16. Tara February 16, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    This post is the best. I literally lol-ed at the title. Your grandma is adorable!!

    I swear, everyone I know got socks for valentines day! I actually got some from my dad. Who needs chocolate?

  17. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy February 17, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Aw you grandma is soo cute! And I think resembling Dobby is a compliment–I LOVEEE Dobby!! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. what i ate wednesday… & bell pepper deliciousness « Of Cookies & Carrots - February 16, 2011

    […] Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots ← reasons my grandma is like dobby. LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

