what i ate wednesday… & bell pepper deliciousness

16 Feb

**Notice: For some reason a lot of the comments I make on other people’s blogs are going to spam. I think it’s the WordPress gods telling me to get off of blogs and start studying developmental psychology… but it’s still obnoxious. Check your spam folder!

Also, I love you guys for liking my grandma & Harry Potter references… :)

So this is my first “What I ate Wednesday”. And I don’t intend to post everything I ate, because a) I’m too lazy to photograph my snacks b) I don’t want any judgment about the exact quantities I eat. BUT I will post my major meals. :)

Here’s how my morning started:

I straightened my hair. Because I could. And because I felt like actually putting some semblance of effort into my attire…

Look ma, NO JEANS!

I actually generally prefer my hair wavy, but it’s fun to switch things up a bit. And after wearing jeans + a t-shirt for the past… oh, month and a half?… it was fun to actually put on real clothes. Everyone kept complimenting me for looking cute… Clearly I set the bar pretty low for myself…

Some myspace shots ensued.

 

I promise I am capable of making normal faces…

There’s a smile!

Then ’twas time for breakfast!

Breakfast: PB-Nana-Java Oats

Basically take Java Oats and add in 1/2 of a banana “whipped” into it and 1/2 sliced on top… along with 2 tbsp of peanut flour (some of it made into paste), because everybody LOVES peanut flour! I ended up adding some real peanut butter on top but was too lazy to photograph.

Do excuse the state of my bowls. I eat oatmeal so frequently that I don’t always wash it thoroughly in between…

Lunch: Eggplant Hummus Wrap! And lots o’ broccoli

Oh no all gone! :(

Ingredients: Whole wheat tortilla, salad bar salad, lots of Trader Joe’s eggplant hummus, alongside steamed broccoli (and more salad, which I ate before photographing…)

Sometimes when they have certain specials at my school the side is steamed vegetables. I discovered on Sunday that I can get just the steamed vegetables sans the main meat dish. This to me is heaven. I also discovered that when they run out of the main meat dish, they will happily give me free refills of bowls of steamed broccoli… Because otherwise it would be thrown away. Needless to say I took it and put it in my fridge.

Then after hours of studying/procrastinating it was FINALLY dinner time. I’ve been planning to try this dinner for at least a week…

Dinner: Stuffed Peppers!

Stuffed peppers are SO in right now. Gotta love those roasted red bell peppers…

Here’s my “recipe”. All the veggies came from the salad bar, except the whole pepper which I bought at Safeway. I forgot mushrooms on my first round so I had to go back to the salad bar for just mushrooms… Good thing the lunch lady already thinks I’m insane… You could really vary it up on the veggies, this recipe has LOTS of room for variation!

1 red bell pepper
1/2 cup black beans
1/4 cup couscous
3 tablespoons salsa
~1/4 cup spinach leaves, chopped
2 ounces mushrooms, chopped
1/4 cup onion, chopped
1/4 cup zucchini, chopped
1/4 cup Daiya vegan cheese (optional)

Cut pepper in half lengthwise and remove stem. Set oven on broil. Place pepper on lightly sprayed cookie sheet and broil for 5-10 minutes (and try not to set the fire alarm off… nearly happened…) or until it has just a few black spots (or as much as you’d like). Meanwhile, mix together everything else for your filling.

If you’re not in a dorm kitchen with super finicky smoke detectors, just plop the filling in and broil it for a bit until the cheese is melty and the insides are warm. It could also be roasted for a  bit longer at maybe 350 or 400… It’s really up to you. My veggies weren’t entirely cooked but I was being paranoid about aforementioned smoke detector…

Dig in and enjoy!

Also, this was my first time really trying Daiya. It didn’t melt quite enough because I didn’t get to leave the pepper in there long enough, but when it DID melt it was definitely stretchy. Kind of oily when you take it out of the bag, though, and not super rich nutritionally, but definitely a good vegan cheese substitute!

Dessert: Cookies.

I baked cookies. Go figure, right? I’m gonna blog about them another day though… Because now I need to go back to learning about inhibited children and how they become anxious adults (story of my life?…)

And I will probably have more oatmeal later. I’m kind of predictable like that.

What’s the best thing you ate today?

21 Responses to “what i ate wednesday… & bell pepper deliciousness”

  1. whatkateiscooking February 16, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Lord, I love stuffed peppers. Yours are looking mighty delicious!

  2. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 16, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    Those stuffed peppers look like my stuffed macaroni and cheese peppers! If your curious check out my recipe page! :) by the way you are so pretty girl!

  3. hippierunner February 16, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    I love that you said that stuffed peppers are in right now! Yours look really good. I love that there is so much going on in them- it’s like a fiesta!

  4. movesnmunchies February 16, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    your oats sound DELICIOUS!! ep cuz im about to go make mine :D the best thing i ate was melted banana, pb and choco chips together!

  5. alice February 17, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    best thing i ate with my bananananananana PB oats. i never wash my oatmeal bowl because i lick it so clean! haha!

  6. Katherine: Unemployed February 17, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    my hair starts and ends looking like a nest on my head :). best thing I ate: smoothie! special treat :)

  7. Tara February 17, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    Ohmygosh, eggplant hummus!!? Two of my favorite foods combined… how did this escape me?

    Your outfit is too cute! I almost always wear tshirts and jeans too, but I feel so good about myself when I make an effort to look decent.

  8. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 17, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    You look so cute and pretty, girl!! :)

    Mmmmm….. those stuffed peppers delicious!!! I love how you make such creative foods even though you’re in a dorm room! Will you help me when I go to college? ;)

    And I loved your last post – so cute!

  9. lauren montanaro norster February 17, 2011 at 5:13 am #

    stuffed peppers are such a treat! I love your outfit, too!

  10. Sophia February 17, 2011 at 6:17 am #

    My mom makes the BEST stuffed peppers ever. They’re so delicious! You oats look really yummy too!!

  11. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 17, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    This is fabulous! I tried commenting last night by my phone hates me!

    I have your image up on the site with a link to your awesome blog! =) Thanks for finally joining in! Hope to see ya on the list next week too! <3

    your stuffed peppers look so fresh and the ingredients are perfecto – I have got to make these soon!

    xoxo

  12. Jessica @ Dishin' About Nutrition February 17, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    I had stuffed peppers for dinner last night! Great foodie minds think alike…? haha that sounded cheesier than I had intended. Great eats though!

  13. Mandi February 17, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Eggplant hummus sounds sooo good, I’ll have to keep an eye out for that. I love stuffed peppers, and yours look particularly delicious. :)

  14. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy February 17, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    I may already know this, but I can’t remember: are you a psych major too?? :)

  15. Anthony February 17, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    Oh, I love stuffed peppers or jalapeños, they are tasty, no, super tasty!
    Just want to share with you another vegetarian recipe about stuffed “Stuffed Grilled Jalapenos”
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes/appetizers/stuffed-grilled-jalapenos
    Check it out and I am sure you will like it!

  16. This Italian Family February 17, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Oh my goodness, I LOVE your outfit!! Looks so perfect on you!

  17. Kat February 17, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    mmm ok well im sitting here with greasy hair and sweatpants on with no makeup. I all of a sudden have the urge to make myself look a bit better haha Your gorgeous lady :)
    The best thing I ate had to be my egg sandwhich for lunch! I cant get enough of eggs right now, and with hummus and laughing cow cheese they are irresistable!

  18. Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles February 17, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Those stuffed peppers looks great! :)

  19. beautyrun February 17, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    I hate it when things go to spam. A lot of people’s comments on my blog have ended up in spam. :(

  20. Olivia February 17, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Your outfit is super cute!! I love your hair straightened! Looks like you had a great day of eats…haha I would sooo be getting as much broccoli as possible and stashing it:) Free broc horray!!

Leave a Reply

