feels like home.

19 Feb

I’m at a family friend’s house for the weekend. Just because I wanted a break from college.

They feel like family. And this feels like home.

Like home, where I can wake up in the morning looking like this… and not even care.

Home, where I sleep soundly without drunken people stumbling down the street at all hours.

Home, where the pantry (!) & fridge (!) stocked with all my favorites: fruits, vegetables, chocolate chips, Coke Zero…

Where the bathroom doesn’t require a key, or shower shoes, or fear of dying of communicable diseases.

Where the sugar is labeled in Portuguese & the TV blares my favorite trashy Brazilian television.

Where there is furry love, all day every day.

Where life is just a little calmer, and love is everywhere.

Home, I think, can be anywhere. If home is where your heart is, my home is all over… from New Jersey to Michigan to Brazil to Seattle to San Jose. Because that’s where all the people I love best are, so even if I’ve never been there, it’s sure to feel like home…

“Home is wherever I’m with you.” Or wherever I am comfortable, wherever I can breathe, cook, laugh, and love.

Where do you consider home?

25 Responses to “feels like home.”

  1. Ayla February 19, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Home. My parent’s house is home but only because I have to live here. When I moved out for a bit, that was where I truly felt at home. It was lovely! Well.. until I went broke. Haha.

    I like that you have multiple places that feel like home. :)

  2. Jess February 19, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    I went home with my boyfriend last night, and it was so so nice to get away- I know whatcha mean!

  3. Mandi February 19, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    For me, as cliche as the saying may be, home is where the heart is. Growing up, my family moved to a different place every year or so making it hard for me to determine just where exactly home is. At the moment though, it would probably have to be Montreal Canada, as that’s where my dad and siblings still are and is and where I lived the longest. Although California and Hawaii would be close seconds.

  4. Jenny February 19, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    Home is definitely anywhere you can be yourself and just feel comfortable. Glad you’re having a great weekend girl :D

  5. hippierunner February 19, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    Aw, glad to see you’re having a nice weekend! Home for me is my little town in Los Angeles, not just in my parent’s house there but the whole town since I know it so well+have so many memories there.

  6. kissmybroccoli February 20, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    Home for me is my quite little home that I’ve made for myself and decorated my own way. It took a while for me to think of it as “home” as compared to my parents house, but now there is so much of me there that it’s the only place I can truly relax and let go!

  7. Sarah (Flavoropolis) February 20, 2011 at 4:07 am #

    I’m recently obsessed with Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros :) (I assume that’s what you’re quoting there). Home is wherever that song is playing.
    I love that dog photo – beautiful!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 20, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

      aw thanks darlin for the photo compliment! she’s an easy subject to make look good ;)

      and yeah that’s the song i’m referring to… I’ve only heard it once or twice but I love that line :)

      <3
      n

  8. Emily February 20, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    This is so beautifully written! It made me miss my family/home so much. Luckily my mom is coming to stay in NYC with me tomorrow and “home” will be a nice hotel for a few days. I know exactly how you feel about needing a break from college life.. I am SO looking forward to getting away for a few days!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 20, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

      having my mom visit with my aunt and grandma like a month ago was absolutely amazing… just the craziness of arguing/adventuring and all that. family is the best :)

      and i’m so glad you liked it! I hope your weekend is equally fun :) <3

  9. lauren montanaro norster February 20, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    Home is where the heart is :)
    Glad you had a nice break from dorm-living!

  10. Tara February 20, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Home is where I feel like I can say anything, fall asleep anywhere, not care how I look, and feel loved by everyone around me. I guess that would be the only place I’ve ever lived because I’ve never moved.

  11. thefitacademic February 20, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    I love this post! So sweet! I love the furry love all day everyday! That’s a crucial component for a “home” (at least for me!): )

  12. Christin@purplebirdblog February 20, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    That doggy nose needs a big ol’ kiss, stat! :)

  13. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 20, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    My home is wherever my family is. It’s not a home unless they are there!

  14. movesnmunchies February 20, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    definitely my parents house is home! i LOVE it- my bed.. my routine- everything!!

  15. Sophia @ Raven Waves February 20, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    Home is when I’m with my family…like my entire family: parents, siblings, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, etc. It always feels like home on Christmas or Easter when we’re all together :)

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 20, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

      Oh my gosh I totally know how you feel :) my family is loud and crazy when we’re all together and i love it!

  16. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 20, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    awwww yay! enjoy!!!! <3 I always felt the same way when I went home to visit the fam from college. Though I'm a brat and after a few days I was dashing for the car to drive back to my apartment/dorm! hehe

    xoxo

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 20, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

      haha yeah i know that feeling too ;) being ACTUALLY at hoem gets boring for me sometimes… Because I tend to end up kind of isolated because my house is far away from everyone. So. Yeah.

      But it’s nice to have family around you, you know?

      xoxo <3

  17. whatkateiscooking February 20, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    Home is wherever you feel the most comfortable :)

  18. Erika February 20, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Aw this post is so sweet! Glad you are enjoying a little break from the college dorm situation. :-)

  19. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds February 20, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    I am home this weekend too!! Honestly I think I’ve eaten my body weight in food this weekend! Our pantry is stocked and my fridge…oh man fruits and veggies galore! Hope you had a fantastic weekend!

  20. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy February 20, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Home is where my family is–which can be anywhere. :) My favorite home away from home is when my whole family goes to Hilton Head Island every summer! <3

  21. This Italian Family February 21, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Aww, I love this! Home is definitely wherever Christopher is. :)

Leave a Reply

