houseguest.

20 Feb

I like to think I’m a polite houseguest. At least mostly. But should you ever decide to invite me over, be warned:

I will probably drink all your coffee.

And look through your pantry. And sample a little of everything.

So it turns out these are the most delicious thing ever…

And eat all your fruit & carrots (obviously).

And take 1 million photographs… Get used to the shutter-clicking noise.

Poor Luna…

may finish off your sugar…

And make a mess in your kitchen.

(But I promise to clean it!)

And I will make my bed…

Oh, and I’ll bake you cookies. I promise!

(There, did that convince you?)

These family friends know me very well for my cookies… They’re part of an ever-growing fan club. That might be the only reason they invite me over. That and my sparkling wit and intelligent conversation. But mostly my cookies. I try a different recipe almost every time I’m here (because I love to try millions of chocolate chip cookie recipes!) and this *may* be my new favorite. It is 100% Rafael-approved (he’s my cookie fanatic in this house).

Here’s the recipe…

Alice’s Chocolate Chip Cookies
Half-batch made 24; adapted very slightly from here… aka I made it the lame-way without the fancy salt, but I’m sure the “right” way is even better!

1 cup (2 sticks)  unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 3/4 cups flour
3/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
2+ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 360 degrees, and lightly grease two cookie sheets.

In a large bowl, beat together butter and sugars until very light and creamy (see original site for pictures!). This may take over 5 minutes. You want it to get really light! Then beat in vanilla and eggs for about 2 more minutes. Add in flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt, and mix until well mixed. Stir in chocolate chips.

Roll into 1-2 tablespoon sized balls and bake for 11-13 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Let cool for 1-2 minutes on cookie sheet then move to cooling rack. Share and enjoy!

So, whaddaya say? Anybody want a houseguest? ;)

31 Responses to “houseguest.”

  1. Jess February 20, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    I’d take ya! ;)
    I love how close you are with these family friends. I don’t really have anything comparable, so it’s cool!

  2. healthyexposures February 20, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    I think no more coffee is a very small price to pay for your wonderful baking. I bet your family friends weren’t worried in the least ;)

  3. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy February 20, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    You’ll bake cookies and clean up? You’re welcome anytime! Although we may have to fight for the last cup of coffee!! ;)

  4. whitney February 20, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    You can come make me cookies!

    Whitney

  5. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds February 20, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Sounds familiar… The first thing i literally do when I get home is whip open the pantry to see what I can find! Hope you had a fantastic weekend chica!

  6. Kristina February 20, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    ha-love it! You sound like a good house guest to me-esp the cookies!

  7. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 20, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    What’s your favorite coffee or favorite way to drink you coffee?

  8. Tara February 20, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    I’ll take you in! Just save some carrots for me, kay?

    Have you ever made pudding mix cookies? They are SOOOO good! If you haven’t, you should definitely try it because they’re my personal favorite. I don’t have a recipe, but my neighbors make them this way and they are the best!!

  9. Euniece February 20, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    if there are your cookies involved, well then consider mi casa es tu casa.

  10. Jenny February 20, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Girl if you baked me those cookies you could drink whatever amount of coffee u wanted :)

  11. Mandi February 20, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    If you bake cookies that look as delicious as that, you’re welcome at my house anytime. And don’t worry, my mom’s a coffee fanatic so we have plenty on hand. ;)

  12. fashionfitnessfoodie February 20, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    Anybody who makes cookies is welcome at my house ;)

  13. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 20, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    You are welcome here anytime! =) Zero coffee for a plate full of cookies? deal! Though I will request at least one cup =) haha

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

  14. Sophia @ Raven Waves February 20, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Haha! I would totally take you if you made me cookies!! :)

  15. Sarah (Flavoropolis) February 20, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    Crunchy curls? Lentil and potato? Why have I never heard of these? I think it is time I finally drag myself to the local TJ’s!

  16. carlee February 20, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    hah! you can come to my house girl!

    Sometimes when I take picsI can tell people get a little bit annoyed! well, mostly my parents. They are like “C’MON! haha

  17. Hungry Dancer February 20, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    We may fight for the coffee, but as long as you’re cooking and cleaning, your definitely welcome!! haha!

  18. movesnmunchies February 21, 2011 at 6:21 am #

    YES! PLEASE COME OVER :D.. and maybe you could make my bed too :P i always fail at that

  19. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 21, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    I’ll definitely take you as a house guest!! :) I would’ve taken you even before I saw the cookies, but once I saw the cookies, it sealed the deal! ;)

  20. Kat February 21, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    I will GLADLY take you as my guest :) I never have people over, so it gets a bit lonely over here! Plus, I’ll just make you help me with the dishes ;)

  21. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss February 21, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    I’m sold. you’re welcome to visit VA Beach! ;)

    I even have a brand new kitchenaid mixer for you to use. i win!

  22. MegSmith February 21, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I’m so glad you commented on my blog! I thoroughly enjoyed this post, it made me smile and then drool over those cookies…a lot! I hope you get to try out the muffin recipe, it is way good!

  23. This Italian Family February 21, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Haha! I love this! If you come to my house you can drink all the coffee in the morning! :)

  24. whatkateiscooking February 21, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    You can drink as much coffee as you want as long as you make those cookies :)

  25. Paije February 21, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    You can come ANY TIME you like as you bring the cookies :D

  26. Ayla February 21, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    I do! You can definitely come stay with me and make me cookies. Even better is that I don’t drink coffee so you could have it all to yourself! And I have an adorable puppy for you to take a million pictures of. How is it sounding so far? ;)

  27. Stephanie February 21, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    PLEASE come be my houseguest and bake me cookies. I promise to buy extra sugar and give you free reign to take pictures of the inside of my dog’s nose.

  28. leashieloo February 21, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    I would definitely let you do all of those things for a bite of those cookies!

  29. TheSceneFromMe February 21, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    I want you as a house guest if you clean!

  30. BrittFit February 21, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    JUST LETTING YOU KNOW.. I gave you the versatile blogger award! :) :)

  31. kissmybroccoli February 21, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    You’ll make me cookies AND clean up?! You can come over and raid my pantry any day!

Leave a Reply

