going bananas [sugar-free banana bread]

22 Feb

Firstly: If you were not explicitly tagged in my last post please consider yourself formally tagged, because I’m kind of creepy and want to hear about everyone, so… Yes. Please share?

And now the main event…

I love bananas. Currently I’m hoarding two ever-blackening bananas in the corner of my dorm room. So pretty much half the room smells strongly of bananas… My roommate probably loves me right now.

This was over a week ago… They’re kind of black now. Oops?

There are just so many things you can do with them! Banana bread, banana muffins, banana pancakes, banana cookies, sugar-free peanut butter cookies… I could go on, I’m sure.

So when I was at aforementioned family friend’s house this past weekend and saw two spotted bananas on their counter looking rather sad, I decided to give them a home. Luckily this coincided with them having friends for a celebratory lunch (today is their daughter’s 16th birthday! Happy birthday Gaby!)

I decided on banana bread. The challenge, however, was to make it diabetic-friendly. Luckily, I had a little help in the form of Stevia in the Raw Cup-for-Cup sugar substitute. I also was mostly finding recipes that called for 3-4 bananas… which I did not have. After probably an hour of searching I finally decided on this recipe.

Here’s where things get “bananas”. Aka my reading comprehension skills fail me (and I’m paying how much for my college education?!). It clearly states to use 1/2 stick of butter. I read 1/2 cup. It’s okay though, I’m pretty sure it just made the bread more delicious… But you could use half the butter listed and it’d probably work, if you’re worrying about fat or anything.

Sugar-Free Banana Bread
Makes 12 slices… Adapted from here

1/2 cup butter (see note above!)
2 eggs
2 large, overripe bananas, mashed
1/2-2/3 cup Stevia in the Raw Cup-for-Cup
2 tbsp sugar (optional)
1 1/3 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a standard loaf pan.

In a small bowl, mash banana well. There can be some very small chunks, but you pretty much want it entirely mashed. In a large bowl, beat together butter and sugar substitute until fluffy. Beat in banana and eggs until well mixed. In a separate bowl, mix together dry ingredients. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix until just combined. Gently stir in walnuts (don’t over mix! it’ll get tough!)

Bake for 40-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Share and enjoy!

Getting cozy with more cookies… That had the proper amount of butter. Recipe forthcoming…

Please tell me I’m not the only one whose life is one big “blonde moment”… Share your baking/life mishaps!

26 Responses to “going bananas [sugar-free banana bread]”

  1. snackgirlgoeshealthy February 22, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    haha! Its okay! Fat is good!

    Okay, I really hate the taste of stevia in almost everything. Like yogurt and stuff and coffee. It has such a weird flavor that I can’t get over! How is it in the banana bread? Does it taste sugar free?

    Looks delicious anyways! :)

  2. Mandi February 22, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Mmm yum! I love banana bread. :) I really should keep some overripe bananas to use in breads and muffins, but they’re always going into smoothies instead. I’ve definitely had plenty of baking mishaps before. I once forgot the baking powder in chocolate chip cookies, and they got completely flat and just kinda melted all into each other into one big chewy cookie mass. They still tasted pretty good though, even though they weren’t the prettiest.

  3. healthyexposures February 22, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Ohhh yes I make tons of “whoopsies” like that…except probably worse. Like the time I was making a chocolate cake and forgot to add sugar. Uh, yeah, that batter went in the trash. I’m glad I taste-tested the batter first before feeding it to anybody!
    The bread looks like it turned out great regardless of the butter mishap so I think you’re fine :P

  4. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons February 22, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Without fail – I always misread the recipe. Without fail I no longer follow recipes word for word. Without fail I no longer back for this reason….

    because once I made brownie soup. don’t ask =)

  5. Ma Ma Megan February 22, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    Mmm I love banana bread! Been a while since I last had some. But now i’m suddenly craving it!

  6. MegSmith February 22, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    This banana bread looks great! I rarely follow recipes so I don’t mess up too often (according to a recipe at least haha).

    I also really like the bicycle shirt in the birthday cake picture…it is awesome

  7. lauren montanaro norster February 22, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    messing around with recipes is the most fun part about cooking! you were just experimenting ;)
    those slices look perfect…i bet it’d be delicious with breakfast with some almond butter or jam or just by itself!

  8. Tara February 22, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Haha, I’m sure paula deen wouldn’t be too disappointed that you left out the sugar since you made up for it in the butter!!

    I’ve left out leavening agents, sugar, flour, and eggs from recipes before with terrible results. Also I was making a mexican omelette and instead of adding cumin, I added ginger. GROSS!

  9. Jenny February 22, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    I haven’t had banana bread in a really long time. This sounds like a great recipe and it looks tastefully sinful ;)

  10. christina February 22, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    mmm i love banana bread. i feel like i haven’t had it in so long!

  11. Sophia @ Raven Waves February 22, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    I’m not a big banana person, but put it in bread and I’ll eat it all up! I burnt V-Day brownies this year, so so horrible!

  12. Maryann (The Balanced Bean) February 22, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    I am obsessed with bananas right now!! I never bake with them though (probably because I never bake…) but your bread looks so good!

  13. megan @ the oatmeal diaries February 22, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    Oh my goodness I love banana bread!! Especially toasted and topped with some butter :)

  14. movesnmunchies February 23, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    YUM YUM YUM!! isnt it amazing how much flavor bananas can bring!!?

  15. fashionfitnessfoodie February 23, 2011 at 4:15 am #

    butter never hurt anybody :)
    i made a delicious sugar free, dairy free and egg free banana bread last week! it’s one of my new favorites!

  16. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 23, 2011 at 6:13 am #

    Butter is good (at least it tastes good and is natural, so that’s what counts right? ;)

    That bread looks SO, SO good!!!! You’re so talented, girl! After all, not everyone can turn a mishap into something that tastes even better!! ;) Consider yourself a culinary genius! And if anyone ask where that came from, just send them my way ;) I’ll defend you! :)

    Have an amazing rest of the week!

    <3

  17. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 23, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    I love banana bread so much thanks for this awesome recipe! I was looking for a low sugar one for a while

  18. (what runs) Lori February 23, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Hello- YUM! I love love love banana bread- and healthy is better, right?! I secretly stash bananas so they dark too. ;)

  19. This Italian Family February 23, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Sugar free banana bread! You know I’m in! And hey, it looks so incredibly moist so I’m pretty sure you put in the exact perfect amount of butter! ;)

    Also, I haven’t baked with Stevia yet, but I’m glad to hear it turned out so well for you! I need to try it!

  20. The Ginger Wife February 23, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    i’m making this tonight and then bringing a piece for my afternoon snack tomorrow. YUMMMMM! LOVE IT!

  21. Sarah (Flavoropolis) February 23, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    How did I not know about that stevia product? Cup for cup substitution? That sounds so much easier than trying to rework every recipe to work with stevia! Actually I haven’t had much success with stevia in baking in the past, but maybe I should get some of this stuff and give it another go.

  22. whatkateiscooking February 23, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Bookmarked :) I have some ripe bananas that would love to be made into this!

  23. Euniece February 23, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    the banana bread looks fantastic!! i love the nuttiness!

  24. Ayla February 23, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    My life is one big blond moment too. It’s unfortunate at times but at least it usually creates some funny/interesting stories!

    The banana bread looks absolutely fabulous! Very moist and delicious. :) You know, I don’t understand why some people hate the word moist, I love it. Moist!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. passion [and cookies] « Of Cookies & Carrots - February 28, 2011

    […] cookies went with my sugar-free banana bread, though they are decidedly not sugar free. They’re based on a Levain copy-cat recipe, and as […]

  2. oops, i did it again… « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 23, 2011

    […] I ate all the carrots & berries… again. I slept in wayyy too late… again. I neglected my blog… again. I watched a Disney movie with my friends… again. (Monday was Tangled, Tuesday was Sleeping Beauty) I messed with the recipe… again. Most importantly, I added twice the amount of butter the recipe called for… again. […]

Leave a Reply

