happy hump day.

23 Feb

It is week 8 of my 10 week quarter, and I am tired.

Very, very tired. Not too tired to eat, of course. But too tired to eat anything particularly interesting. However, here is my contribution to What-I-Ate-Wednesday…

Please note that I don’t put everything I eat on here. In large part because I’m lazy. And I’m not quite shameless enough to whip out the cam-cam when I’m indulging in free bagels in Developmental Psychology. Perhaps I’ll get there, but not yet!

Breakfast

Oatmeal. Pretend to be surprised? And, of course, I put in some coffee.

What WAS new and interesting about this breakfast was the sprinkling of overly-dried Cacao Bliss. I’ve been nibbling at it for about a week but finally decided to put some in my oatmeal… it is definitely blissful when melted!

Lunch

Well, like I said, my Developmental Psychology professor brought in bagels for our presentation day. So I ate the most delicious bagel of my life. And carrots. She specifically brought in carrots for me. Yep, the obsession is well-known… I may or may not have also consumed 5 satsumas. Oops?

I ended up also having a massive salad with tofu and beans and such. But I didn’t photograph it. I’m sorry :(

Dinner

When my beyond-amazing family friends took me to Whole Foods and bought me food (I know, I hit the jackpot) I picked up this little gem of a wrap.

I kind of love seitan (not satan, people, seitan!). So this wrap was delightfully meaty and delicious and filling… And now I want more. This is always the problem…

Snacks

I had numerous pieces of unphotographed fruit and some peanut butter and other stuff I”m not going to talk about.

What I AM going to talk about are some bars I attempted making…

They were based on this recipe but modified pretty much completely and totally. I made them with bananas, without oil but with peanut butter, no sugar, no eggs… You get the idea. The variety with chocolate chips was good but the variety with raisins left something to be desired…

That’d be them on the left…

Like, perhaps, structure?

The chocolate chip ones turned out okay…

These are promising and will be made into something absolutely amazing but they are unfortunately not there yet… More lab work will be necessary.

So yes, that is my day in a nutshell. In between eating I had what felt like a million classes, a meeting about internships (real world, what?!) and of course homework and office hours. Ah, college.

What’d YOU do today??!

24 Responses to “happy hump day.”

  1. Angie @ The Fitness Apple February 23, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    LOVE the way those bars came out! :)

  2. Casey February 23, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Okay, you’re on the quarter system too? I have never met a fellow quarter system-er in life, let alone the blog world.

    Week 8 is killing me. I though this would be a rest easy week but two projects and another big paper just popped up out of nowhere.

    Awesome looking bars btw!

  3. Mandi February 23, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    I seriously want that wrap- it sounds soo good! And those bars look delicious. Even if the ones with raisins came out a bit crumbly. :)

  4. Ellie February 23, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    Hey, I bet they taste yummy though! :) I worked, went to a Bible study, and studied, errr have been studying? Have a beautiful Thursday!

  5. Tara February 24, 2011 at 3:44 am #

    I can’t wait for you to figure out that granola bar recipe. Anything with bananas, peanut butter, and chocolate chips is right up my alley.

    Today I’m doing nothing unusual.. school, gym, homework, eating my way along.

  6. Erika February 24, 2011 at 4:09 am #

    Those bars look delicious!
    How did the seitein taste? I’ve always been curious!

  7. Jemma @ Celery and Cupcakes February 24, 2011 at 5:02 am #

    Those bars look lovely! YUM! :)

  8. movesnmunchies February 24, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    I SO WANT TO TRY Seitan! but i cant make it cuz i dont hav/nor can find vital wheat gluten and ppl dont seel seitan in this country! BOO!!!!!!!!!!

  9. Jenn @ Peas and Crayons February 24, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Yayyy thanks for linking up Nicole!!! Too much fun! I’m quite jealous of your unphotographed free bagels =) Its the one free food I won’t turn away! [ok unless they are gross free bagels.. or stale ones…those i’ll pass on!]

    Keep lab testing those tasty looking bars! I will totally make them once they have your primo stamp of approval! <3 MWAH!

  10. snackgirlgoeshealthy February 24, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Oatmeal! For breakfast Nicole! You? *surprise *

    Today I actually have a snow day! BLOG catch up! And some cleaning and homework! and cozy me up by the fire! :)

    My life is simple today. Thats the way I like it though!

  11. janae @hungryrunnergirl.com February 24, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    THOSE BARS LOOK AMAZING!!! So does the wrap:) 2 more weeks left…WAHOO!!! YOU CAN DO IT GORGEOUS GIRL!

  12. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy February 24, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    Ah, that wrap sounds glorious!! I love seitan–but I’ve only had it at WF hot bar! I need some for home! :)

  13. This Italian Family February 24, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Pretty bars!

  14. Jenny February 24, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    I love those bars!! They look incredible. And oatmeal with coffee? I’m tempting but idk if the coffee flavor would be too strong =/

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 24, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

      I just put a little bit of instant coffee into my oats… I love it :) You can also put as much as you want depending how strong you want it! I also just got some cocoa powder so I may attempt a “mocha” version soon ;)

  15. Kat February 24, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    That wrap and those bars look amazing!! Today took 2 finals, wrote a research paper, went grocery shopping, worked out, and baked a loaf of bread :) BTW, totally digging the ring in that picture. I love rings that go on fingers other than the wedding finger. Thumb rings are my favorite :)

  16. a taste of health with balance February 24, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    those bars look delicious! i love homemade bars :)

  17. whatkateiscooking February 24, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Man, I feel like it’s been so long since I’ve baked. Maybe I’ll have time tomorrow :)

  18. runyogarepeat February 24, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    I love seitan! My campus makes seitan “cheesesteaks” that are delicious! I so agree – I need to figure out internships for this summer, I still have 1 year left, but I’m so clueless about after I graduate.

  19. Sophia @ Raven Waves February 24, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Yum!! Those bars look delicious! Today was just a normal, boring day of work. Can’t wait to sleep in on Sat!

  20. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 24, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    I love seitan too!! And I completely understand your carrot addiction! I probably eat about two LARGE carrots a day! They’re just TOO good :)

    I’m sorry your bars didn’t turn out better :( I’m sure the you will work out the kinks though!

    I hope college continues to go well! Only two more weeks – hang in there! :)

    <3

  21. Ma Ma Megan February 24, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Oooh I love seitan! That wrap looks delish :D

  22. kissmybroccoli February 26, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Mmm, that pic of the bars on the plate made me want to lick my computer screen! Ahh!

    Your wrap looks super yummy! I’ve never tried sietan before, but I’ve heard it’s pretty tasty!

    8 out of 10, huh? So light at the end of the tunnel! Yay! You can do it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. you know you’re a psych major when… « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 11, 2011

    […] see, I was redoing my granola bar recipe. And I knew I wanted to try some without sugar, and some with, to see how it would alter […]

Leave a Reply

