three good things… and reviews!

24 Feb

Three good things for this fine Thursday… (Wait, what is three-good-things Thursday? Click here!)

1) In three weeks I will be home. I can’t wait.

2) I bought Taylor Swift tickets today. Please don’t judge me…

3) Deeeelicious food! And reviews :)

You may remember a few weeks back when I was sharing all the fabulous, wonderful things I was receiving in the mail.

Today I will tell you about some of them… I have yet to eat them all… Trust me, it’s been difficult to keep from attacking my box of bars, but I’m holding out somehow. ;)

First up, some Pure Bars…

Background: Pure bars are entirely organic, vegan, gluten-free bars made with whole and mostly raw foods. They boast a short ingredient list but a good variety of interesting flavors, from “Trail Mix” to “Apple Cinnamon” to “Wild Blueberry”. They’re sweetened with agave and have added brown rice protein – yes, this is a slightly more “processed” product, but I personally appreciate the nutritional boost it gets (one of my major qualms with larabars is the number of calories without any real protein…).

I have tried the Chocolate Brownie independently before being sent these bars to review, and I know I loved it, but I plan to try it again with a little more thought & some pictures.

The first bar I ate from the bunch I got was the “Trail Mix“. (click for nutritional information!)

Ingredients: Organic dates, organic agave nectar, organic cashews, organic apples, organic raisins, organic almonds, organic sunflower seeds, organic cacao nibs, organic walnuts, organic rice protein concentrate.

nomnomnom

This was delicious! I loved the crunch of the nibs, and the really dark chocolatey taste when you happened to hit one of them. It felt a little more substantial than most date-and-nut bars; it might have been just the wider variety of textures and flavors that melded together beautifully. It’s not overly sweet, though it definitely satisfied my sweet tooth.

Veronica was incredibly generous to send me these samples, and such a sweetheart! I’m looking forward to sampling the rest of them and will report back soon. :)

Also, if you’d like to buy your own Pure Bars (they’re totally worth a try!) you can usually find them at Trader Joe’s, or they have a buy-one-get-one-free promotion going on here. Also, for another review done by one of my favorite bloggers ever, click here.

Next up, some Chobani…

My fridge is still full of yogurt. But slightly less so. I forgot to photograph a couple of the flavors, unfortunately…

Lowfat Strawberry Banana


I had never actually had flavored greek yogurt. Or 2% Greek yogurt. Until now. And oh what a revelation it was… I was stunned at the increase in creaminess from nonfat Greek yogurt (which is already pretty creamy!). And this was no store-brand fruit-on-the-bottom… It tasted like actual strawberries and bananas (because, um, it actually was?). It was still a tiny bit too sweet for me, as I’ve gotten used to the tartness of Greek yogurt, but I definitely liked it.

Nonfat Raspberry


I was less of a fan of this flavor. It just felt a lot sweeter than some of the other ones, and it wasn’t like a tart raspberry flavor… I think my sweet tooth is wearing off in general though. I probably wouldn’t buy this flavor again.

Nonfat Peach

This, on the other hand, was a success! You can see the real, true peach chunks in there! It was fruity and light and refreshing and delicious. And I LOVE the protein punch that Greek yogurt packs!

I have more flavors to review in the future, but so far here is my overall thought:

I really enjoyed these samples from Chobani and I think they look better than most of the other flavored Greek yogurts I’ve seen. That being said, I do think that it’s not quite the thickest, creamiest Greek yogurt ever (I found Fage to be a little creamier). However, I love that they use real fruits and have come up with some great fruity flavors that I’m looking forward to trying!

Have you tried anything delicious recently?

22 Responses to “three good things… and reviews!”

  1. Jess@HealthyExposures February 24, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    Those pure bars look awesome!! I’ve seen them on blogs quite a bit but have yet to try one or even see one :\ Thanks for the reviews!!

  2. snackgirlgoeshealthy February 24, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    Well lookie lookie! If I get lucky I might just spot you at that T-Stift concert… ;)

  3. Ayla February 24, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Those Pure bars look so good! I love bars like that. Recently I tried some Francine’s Finest bars and I.loved.them. I’m going to block out how many I ate in 2 days………. haha.

  4. Tara February 24, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    I love the trail mix pure bar and strawberry banana chobani. I recently tried the chocolate coconut luna bar and loved it! Totally makes up for discontinuing the chai tea flavor.

    Yay for going home and taylor swift tickets! I’m not a diehard fan, but I do enjoy her popular songs.

  5. whatkateiscooking February 24, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    God, I love Chobani! I am dying to try the new lemon flavor. I can’t find it anywhere and it is driving me crazy!

  6. Mandi February 24, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    I love chobani! I haven’t bought it in forever though because the price is a little too steep for me. I never tried the peach though, but it looks amazing. :) I just bought some frozen waffles I really like. But then again, they are waffles and what’s not to like?

  7. Sophia @ Raven Waves February 24, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    Chobani is so delicious!! 0% Greek yogurt + fruit = WIN!

  8. megan @ the oatmeal diaries February 24, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    Loove Pure bars! The blueberry is my favorite but I can’t find it anywhere now!

  9. vixter2010 February 25, 2011 at 1:53 am #

    I’m jealous I’d love to see TS!

  10. movesnmunchies February 25, 2011 at 4:48 am #

    PURE BARS LOOK SO SO GOOD!! like legit i dont think i can find them here.. GR.. when i get to the staes i will stock up!

  11. Kat February 25, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    BEYOND jealous that you bought T. Swift tickets. I totally adore her!! Whos on tour with her??
    I have yet to try chobani…I really feel like I am missing out lol Maybe one day I will fork over the cash for one! Or better yet, maybe I’ll get free samples! ;)

  12. BrittFit February 25, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    a banana strawberry chaboni smoothie :)

  13. thehealthyapron February 25, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    OH thanks for the PURE bar review! THey look great! I’ll have to look in to trying them sometime!

  14. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds February 25, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    I recently lost my C-Card. haha. I had my first Chobani yesterday! It was blub. yum!

  15. paijery February 25, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Taylor Swift tickets = aweesome!! I just got Elton John tickets lol :D

    I wish I could get Chobani in Canada!!

  16. Kayla February 25, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    I LOVE TAYLOR SWIFT! I’ve never been to a concert!

    The Pure Bars are awesome, aren’t they? Trail Mix was the first one I tried, too!

    The Chobani looks amazingg! I just got some samples from them today and I am STOKED!

  17. Alyssa February 25, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    I love nonfat peach! with granola added. yumyumyumyum!!

  18. Freckled Foodie February 25, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    yum! i’ve never had a pure organic bar before! looks awesome!

    xo.

  19. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) February 25, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Home in three weeks!!! Yay! That’s so exciting!!

    You did a GREAT job on the reviews! You could definitely be a sales person – I’m ready to try one of those Pure bars! :) Also, your pictures are too gorgeous! You should think about going into photography!!! You have some major talent, girl! :)

    <3

  20. Ellie February 25, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    Oh, I have to say I love PURE bars! I haven’t had them for a while now~in some ways I say they’re like Larabars, and in other ways, they’re better. :)

  21. runyogarepeat February 26, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Totally not judging about the Taylor Swift – I love her! Peach & pomegranate are my favorite Chobani flavors.

  22. kissmybroccoli February 26, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Yay! I just signed up for the coupon for the BOGO free bars! I’ve been wanting to try them so bad! I’m with you on the protein thing…I like my bars to have a little oomphf to them!

    Mmm, peach Chobani is my absolute fave!! It made the BEST bowl of overnight oats ever!

Leave a Reply

