in like a lion.

1 Mar

**If you wanted to hear Jackie sing, click here for a great YouTube video!**

March has not been particularly kind to me so far.

It’s not that I have an overload of homework or anything… I actually have very little, save the finals looming ahead (2 weeks, guys, 2 weeks!). It’s not the weather… Though there’s a nip in the wind, the sun has been shining and it’s been fairly pleasant.

It’s the plague.

Okay, okay, I’m being melodramatic, but I’ve had a cold off and on for a month now and for some reason this 3rd round of it is absolutely knocking me out. I was practically delirious in biology today and skipped psych to take a much-needed nap. For three hours. And I will probably still be going to bed before 11. Yeah.

But I still want to take a moment to highlight some fabulous things about this month we are now in (where is the time going?!)

National Peanut Butter Day

In case you live under a rock, today is National PB Day. While I would love to tell you I cooked up something special, I barely had enough energy to walk to the cafeteria and buy premade food, so I did not. (I do, however, have many PB-related recipes… like my PB-Oat-Chip cookies and my Low-Sugar PB Cookies, both of which are fab).

I miss these… sigh.

I did, however, take a spoon to my peanut butter jar. Which totally counts.

National Nutrition Month

Evidently this is National Nutrition Month, and the theme this year is “Eat Right with Color.” I definitely eat a lot of color… aka red bell peppers & carrots & green things of all varieties (my latest love is snap peas, yummm). Perhaps I’ll throw in a nutrition post or two this month in celebration!

Monthly Goals

A lot of people do goals on a monthly basis and I’ve decided to join the bandwagon. It’s a little weird for me this month as my “regular schedule” will be rather disrupted when I go home for break… but still. I’m gonna try some things!

1) Break the diet soda habit once and for all!

I want to consume diet soda only 2-3 times per week. It doesn’t need to completely disappear from my life, but it doesn’t make me feel particularly wonderful and feels like a waste of money, honestly.

2) Spend less than $30 on extraneous food items.

I’m lookin’ at you, Trader Joes. And Pinkberry. And Starbucks. Yikes. I have enough meal points for school meals that I don’t *need* to buy stuff off campus… but it’s hard to resist.

3) Put some effort into my appearance at least 2x a week…

I mean, some days I put together a decent outfit, but most days I just throw on a shirt and some jeans. I don’t entirely have a problem with this, but I feel better about myself if I actually put some effort into trying to put on a cute outfit, and I think it shows. I’d like to start taking better care of myself and part of that is what I’m putting out there!

4) Get back into running & ab work!

I haven’t been talking about fitness on here much because I haven’t been DOING much in the way of fitness… Last quarter I kind of got more obsessive about it than I wanted to so I took a step back, and now I’m probably just being lazy. So I’d like to start going to the gym 3-4 times a week, regularly, without beating myself up either way.

But first I gotta get this illness goooone!
vitamins and supplements
Have a blog? Want to win a $100? Check out the Swanson Health Blog.

What are your goals for March? Did you celebrate PB Day?

28 Responses to “in like a lion.”

  1. hippierunner March 2, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    Goal for March is to rock the marathon on the 20th! I celebrated today with Dark Chocolate Dreams! And my love for soda is something I try not too hard to fight because that just makes me want it more. At least switch to regular- it’s better for you! ;)

  2. Jess@HealthyExposures March 2, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    Sorry to hear you’ve got “the plague”! I battled it a bit ago, too. Get some good REST. It’s key ;)
    And I hear you on the appearance thing. Sometimes I dress “cute,” and other times I just throw on clothes because I’m being lazy. I feel way better when I’m not being lazy, though! lol.
    Hope you’re feeling better :)

  3. Tara March 2, 2011 at 3:52 am #

    I like to look back at my yearly goals to see how much I’ve progressed. I totally understand the putting effort into your appearance one. I had to give myself a rule that I could only wear sweats on Friday. I don’t feel nearly as good about myself when I don’t make an effort, but I’m sooo comfy.

    I need to break my diet soda habit too.. not like I down 6 every day or something, but I’d definitely like to have it less.

  4. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 2, 2011 at 4:55 am #

    I’m with you on the making myself look decent a couple times a week. I’m a pony-tail t-shirt girl, and I usually keep my hair up all-day (even at work!). That needs to change! I didn’t celebrate PB Day, but I’d love to try one of your cookies!!

  5. thehealthyapron March 2, 2011 at 5:12 am #

    I definitely nixed the diet soda habit about 8 months ago and I literally don’t even crave it anymore! Seriously, when you think of all those chemicals, it is such a good choice to stop!

    I highly recommend dressing well at LEAST 2 x a week. Your outlook is so much brighter!! I’ve been doing that for work (putting some time in to my appearance) and my attitude is so much better!

  6. Kristina March 2, 2011 at 5:17 am #

    Love her voice-you were right!
    My goals are to not become a bridezilla and clean up my eating and workouts!

  7. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) March 2, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    Good luck on your goals, girl!! I know you will accomplish them :) (although I know that I could never accomplish the spend less than $30 on extraneous food items ;)

    I’m one day late, but I still celebrated national PB day with some PB pancakes! Yummers!!

    I hope the last few weeks of school turn out amazingly well for you (along with everything else!)

    <3

  8. Jenny March 2, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    It’s always national pb day for me :) And honestly once you cut out soda forever you’ll notice such a difference. I stopped drinking coke in high school and never looked back. :)Great March goals girl and those cookies look delicious

  9. This Italian Family March 2, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    Aww, I hope you feel better, girl! Being sick is no fun at all! :(

    PB day is always a great thing to celebrate! :)

    I hear you on putting effort into how you look. I’ve realized that on the days I put forth more effort I feel so much better.

  10. Kayla March 2, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    I celebrated with lots of dips into the Peanut Butter jar!! YUMMEH!

  11. BrittFit March 2, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    That pb looks amazing ( drools on computer…….) haha but anyway about goals…mine are to start eating fresh spring summer meals :) and break my winter comfort food habit…maybe ill start this next week AFTER midterms haha

  12. Erica D March 2, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    I didn’t get around to eating PB yesterday, but it will always have a fond place in my heart :)

    I’m trying to use my meal plan more too! Must…resist…Whole Foods…

  13. Casey March 2, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    I unknowingly celebrated PB day…well maybe not. Unless AB (almond butter) day still qualifies me ;)

    My goal for March is to R-E-L-A-X.

  14. Alyssa March 2, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    my goal for march: live life to the fullest. adapt. and have FUN. :)

  15. Olivia March 2, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    I didn’t know it was national nutrition month! SCORE! Sounds like the best month everrr:) haha I definitely need to get back into working out more too…I tend to get in ruts where I go to the gym 3 times a week for like 3 weeks and then I stop for another 3 weeks…not a good habit!

  16. movesnmunchies March 2, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    i totally celebrated pb day! a little too much perhaps hehe
    im watching the youtube vid right now! so so good!! YES YOu must kick the diet soda habit! i did that last november and i swear you will feel SO MUCH BETTER
    im posting my goals tomorrow :D

  17. Ayla March 2, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    I love your goals! I haven’t thought of any yet but I’ll definitely be doing that later today. I was goalless for February and to be honest, I felt kind of lost!

    I didn’t know it was PB day but I almost celebrated it. Almost being the key word because when I went to use PB in a recipe, we were out! I had to use sunflower butter instead.. good but just not the same.

  18. Lisa March 2, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    I totally missed out on PB day. I’ll definitely have to make up for that—thanks for the reminder :)

  19. Kat March 2, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    I used to have a diet coke habit, but now that I dont live at home I find it much easier to manage. I simply dont allow it into the house, accept for special occasions. I am a football FREAK, so on football Sundays I get to have diet coke. I’m a slow drinker, so it usually ends up as only half of the bottle. I have found that way is much easier to manage my habit :)
    P.S. I hope that when you said you liked my hair you were referring to the color, because I totally cut it all off yesterday :)

  20. katshealthcorner March 2, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    YAY for low sugar cookies! :D Gosh I love Peanut Butter Days! :D

    You will definitely feel better after you have kicked your diet soda stuff! I know I do! :)

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  21. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 2, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    I need to put more effort into my appearance for sure! im stealing your goal =) I mean after all, I vloged in my pjs with frizzy hair. FAIL! hehe it was a fun fail though! <3

  22. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 2, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    ps good luck in the giveaway drawingggg! <3

  23. Jess March 2, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    I stopped drinking diet a year and a half ago, and it was such a good decision!

  24. fashionfitnessfoodie March 2, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Love your goals! Since I dont have to “dress up” for work anymore I’ve been slacking BIG time. When i put together an outfit I feel better about myself!

  25. MegSmith March 3, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    O my gosh people think I am very strange too…a lot actually think I am certifiably crazy I am pretty sure. (I am a little orange from the carrots haha!) I love it though! I am making plans to ditch school asap…after we eat all the fruit of course :-)

    I wish I could even make a goal to put any effort into how I looked for even one day but I just can’t…I do not have a single fashion gene in me and my hair is ALWAYS in a messy bun, it’s a good thing I already have a boyfriend haha!

  26. kissmybroccoli March 3, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Great goals! I used to drink one diet drink a day for like, forever! Then I started have 1 or 2 a week, and then I just stopped buying them all together! I can’t remember the last time that I had a sip of soda diet or regular and I can honestly say, I don’t miss it at all!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. what a wednesday. « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 2, 2011

    […] in keeping with my goals I made yesterday, I decided to wear semi-decent clothing. I don’t have a pic of the whole […]

  2. april showers. « Of Cookies & Carrots - April 3, 2011

    […] the beginning of the month & I guess that means it’s time for new goals… remember March’s goals? Well, firstly, March most certainly did not go out like a lamb, let me tell you. My week has been […]

Leave a Reply

