a foodie friday [pure bar review!!!]

4 Mar

Guys, yer makin’ me blush! stop telling me i’m pretty or my next animal-conversion will be to… I dunno, a hippo or something with a large head.

I think I’m sold on the lens… I took a bunch of self-portraits and it was super fun to play with depth of field. If damn near impossible to focus on the right part of my face. But I thought some turned out alright, and taking portraits of other people would undoubtedly turn out better…

I almost like the softness of it not being properly in focus though… Anyways I had fun!

Oh, and what I meant by part-giraffe was I was not entirely sure what that pose was but it involved a lot of neck. I’m a winner. I did, however, love two comments in particular:
“I happen to be quite fond of giraffes, and consequently I am quite fond of you ;)” ~ Christin @ Purple Bird Blog (I am terribly fond of you too and this made my day!)

“If your part giraffe then I am seriously going to look for the part giraffe plastic surgery implant ;) ” Kat @ Kat’s Keep’n the Faith. (Um, I love you. You are beautiful).

Oh, and Miss Jennifer from Peas and Crayons for singing Miley Cyrus. WIN.

Not to be exclusive, just that these made me giggle. But I love you all :) Thanks for making me feel special <3

MOVING ON…

But wait, there’s more…

Yesterday was supposed to be calm and relaxing. I was going to an open-mic night of sorts in the evening to watch a number of my friends perform. Then, of course, I get a call from my friend (who owns the business I work for) saying that they cannot find anyone to work as a delivery person, can I do it? And I am a pushover. So I say yes. And complain for a few hours, worry about not being able to post a blog post (I know, right?) then pass out at 1 AM and wake up “early” to bring you this post. I know, be flattered!

Many of you have asked about Pure Bars since I posted a couple things about some of them… Well now I can give you the complete review of all six fabulous flavors!

What’s a Pure Bar?

Background: Pure bars are entirely organic, vegan, gluten-free bars made with whole and mostly raw foods. They boast a short ingredient list but a good variety of interesting flavors, from “Trail Mix” to “Apple Cinnamon” to “Wild Blueberry”. They’re sweetened with agave and have added brown rice protein – yes, this is a slightly more “processed” product, but I personally appreciate the nutritional boost it gets (one of my major qualms with Larabars is the number of calories without any real protein…); each bar has 6-7 grams of protein and is super chewy and delicious!

Trail Mix (click for nutritional information & fantastically short ingredients list!)

This was delicious! I loved the crunch of the nibs, and the really dark chocolatey taste when you happened to hit one of them. It felt a little more substantial than most date-and-nut bars; it might have been just the wider variety of textures and flavors that melded together beautifully. It’s not overly sweet, though it definitely satisfied my sweet tooth.

Cherry Cashew

Ingredients: Organic dates, organic cherries, organic walnuts, organic agave nectar, organic almonds, organic cashews, organic brown rice protein.

While I liked this flavor, it wasn’t my favorite. It definitely has a bite to it from the cherries; the plus side of this is that the flavor is really bursting through! None of this date-masked-slightly-with-other-flavor deal. :) My friend Joanne split this with me and she said it definitely tasted healthy and made of whole-food ingredients… “Pure”, if you will.

Cherry-licious!

Chocolate Brownie

Ingredients: Organic dates, organic walnuts, organic agave nectar, organic almonds, organic cashews, organic brown rice protein, organic cocoa.

I have bought this before and would buy it again. It’s got a deep, chocolatey, fudgey taste… You do get a hint of date-flavor in there, but it’s not overpowering at all. It’s dense, dark, delicious, and oh-so-healthy… DEFINITELY a good brownie sub if you want something without all the sugar and butter! (Not that I really have anything against either). I thought this was going to be my favorite but I actually ended up liking some of the fruity flavors even better! Who would’ve thought?!

Tired of my red comforter yet? Lol.

Cranberry Orange

Ingredients: Organic dates, organic cranberries (with organic apple juice concentrate and organic sunflower oil), organic walnuts, organic cashews, organic brown rice protein organic almonds, organic agave nectar, organic orange peel, organic orange oil. That’s all!

Holy. Yum. I seriously felt like I was eating sunshine. I am one of the few people I know who actually likes Gnu Cranberry Orange bars, but after tasting this one I’m not sure if I can go back… It was citrusy, it was light, it tasted completely real, and was vaguely reminiscent of candied orange peel minus all the sugar. I seriously died when I bit into this. So. Good. It seemed a little less dense than the other ones but still had a great chewy texture. I cannot sing its praises enough.

Apple Cinnamon

Ingredients: Organic Dates, organic apples, organic agave nectar, organic walnuts, organic cashews, organic almonds, organic rice protein concentrate, organic cinnamon. That’s all!

I ate Quaker Apples & Cinnamon oatmeal for breakfast every morning for most (if not all) of high school. This is way better. This bar is BURSTING with cinnamon flavor, for all you cinnamon lovers… (Erika, I’m lookin’ at you! ;) ). It definitely has a tartness to it from the apples and is not grossly sweet. I really liked it, but it’s not my favorite, though I’d definitely spend money on it!

Wild Blueberry

Ingredients: Organic dates, organic wild blueberries, (with organic apple juice concentrate and organic canola oil), organic cashews, organic agave nectar, organic walnuts, organic brown rice Protein, organic almonds, organic unsweetened lemon juice concentrate

This was amazing, and probably one of my favorites too! It actually tasted like blueberry and was just sweet enough without being overpowering. Again, I love the chewy texture of these bars coupled with the big ole chunks of crunchy nut you hit every so often. Definitely a hit!

Verdict:
These are very high-quality, nutritious bars. I genuinely liked all of them… My “least favorite” would probably be the cherry and the apple, but I would not turn down eating those again by any means! My favorite ended up being the orange, chocolate, and blueberry… I think a choc-orange or blueberry-chocolate variety would be absolutely amazing! (hint, hint!)

I will probably be actually buying some in the future, because they make a great on-the-go snack and are mostly natural. Sure, there is “added sugar” in the form of agave, but it’s not too much… And they’re seriously addicting.

I may do the buy one get one free deal right here! ;)

I was sent these for free to review, but not in any other way compensated… And I truly did love them! Thanks Veronica!

Have you ever had a Pure Bar? What’s your fave flava?!

19 Responses to “a foodie friday [pure bar review!!!]”

  1. katshealthcorner March 4, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    YAY for Purebars! :D

    You are gorgeous! ;)

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  2. kat March 4, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Glad to have brought you a smile :) I seriously wish I could get a free box of these!! I’ve heard nothing but great things about them. Maybe I should just fork up some money lol

  3. whatkateiscooking March 4, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Those flavors look really good! Love the simple ingredient list in them, too. I was just looking at the wrapper of the kind of bars my dad eats and the ingredients are terrifying!

  4. movesnmunchies March 4, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    GAH These sound AMAZING and right up my alley! i SO wish i could find them here.. i dont think they sell them over here. but when i get to the US.. I WILL for sure get some!

  5. Tara March 4, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Aw I’m sorry you had to work instead of going to open mic night. My favorite pure bar is the trail mix, blueberry, and cranberry orange. I haven’t bought them in a long time, which definitely needs to change!

  6. Ma Ma Megan March 4, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    I bought the blueberry one the other day. They’re SO good but so hard for me to find. Next time I come across them I’ll just have to stalk up ;)

  7. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) March 4, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    I haven’t tried a Pure Bar yet, but now I really, really want too!!! :D You do such a good job with reviews pretty girl!!

    I hope you have the AMAZING weekend that you very much deserve!!

    <3

  8. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel March 4, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    oooooo the chocolate brownie! so happy you liked it too. sometimes brownie flavored bars just dont live up to their name- all these bars look quite tasty!! thanks for reviewing Pure Bars!! i wanna try the brownie one for sure!

  9. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 4, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    What a fun and fabulous review! =) I like having a bar like these to grab when I’m on a road trip or scrapping for a snack while grocery shopping =) hehe!

    “ITS PRETTY COOOOOOOL!!!!!” bahahahahaha

    love you like woah!

  10. Casey March 4, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    Artsy shot! I like :)
    I don’t think I’ve ever had a pure bar before. I’m pretty loyal to Amazing Grass superfood bars, plus I like in a file mile radius of where LaraBars are made. Can’t beat convenience!

  11. Jenny March 4, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    So many yummy bars!!! I’ve never tried them before :(

  12. Jess@HealthyExposures March 4, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    Gah, those PureBars look GOOD!!
    Bummer about being called in to work :( I can’t say no, either – and then always regret it! Ah, well. Hope your having a good Friday, though!

  13. This Italian Family March 4, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    But you really are SO gorgeous! :D

  14. Erika March 5, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    Pure bars sound amazing! Thanks for mentioning me! You made my day! :-D

  15. I Will Run For Chocolate March 5, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    I love that picture of you! It’s so so pretty.

  16. fashionfitnessfoodie March 5, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    mmm i would like to try that brownie one! or the blueberry one. im not picky :)

  17. paijery March 5, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    You are gorgeous!!
    That trail mix bar sounds the best to me :D

  18. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 5, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    I’ve never tried pure bars before, but the cherry and blueberry flavors sound delicious!

Leave a Reply

