sending love.

5 Mar

Sometimes, life isn’t all rainbows and butterflies and sunshine.

Sometimes, it’s darker. Without bogging you down in too many gory details, I will say this: my family has a genetic disposition towards anxiety. My mom has it, I certainly have it, and my little brother has just started having more issues with it (he’s 13… fun age, right?).

He also really doesn’t like his school very much and has been struggling with that on some level. While we aren’t super-close, and don’t tend to talk about “feelings” (I mean, he’s a 13 year old boy, he’s not exactly talkative about such things), I very much feel his pain and want to help. But I’ve felt powerless and useless in helping him deal with this from so many miles away.

So I did what I always do. I baked him cookies. And sent him a package (which took two weeks to arrive, which was SUPER frustrating but whatever).

Now, I of course don’t advocate medicating emotional problems with food. That’s not at all what I was getting at with this package. What I was getting at (and what I said in a letter I wrote to him) was that I loved him, cared about him, and would always be there for him. And the time and care put into my cookies was one way to show that in a more tangible way. Sometimes I wish I had enough money to buy a ton of baking supplies and pay for postage to send cookies to all of you, just to show my appreciation and hopefully brighten your day just a little bit (because ultimately, my philosophy and goal is to make people just a teensy bit happier… or at least try lol).

And now, I share the recipe with you. It’s based off of the Vegan Cookie Invade Your Cookie Jar Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe that I keep referring to… But I added peanut butter! Brilliant, right? Peanut butter makes everything better!

Yet Another Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe
Makes about 24-36; adapted from VCIYCJ

1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
2 tablespoons oil (optional; makes a prettier, smoother cookie but not strictly necessary in my opinion)
2/3 cup peanut butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup nondairy milk, or water (may need more).
1 tablespoon egg replacer (or tapioca starch, or cornstarch)
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease two cookie sheets. In a large bowl, mix together oil, peanut butter, and sugars until it gets nice and caramelly (may take a few minutes, but can easily be done with a fork!). Add in vanilla, egg replacer and water and mix well. Mix in flour, salt, and baking soda. The dough will be pretty thick, but if you really can’t get it to stay together add 1-2 more tablespoons of liquid. Fold in chocolate chips.

Place tablespoon-sized balls on cookie sheet and flatten slightly; bake for about 9 minutes or until edges are ever so slightly golden. Let cool on cookie sheet for a couple minutes then transfer to plate/cooling rack.

Share with someone you love :)

How do you show people that you care?

Sorry if this post was too boring/emotional/personal… I’ve been feeling a little down myself so my creative juices aren’t exactly at their prime.

26 Responses to “sending love.”

  1. lauren @ spiced plate March 5, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    I cook for people to show them I care, for sure. Or give them art. But cooking is something I love to do for my husband, even if that’s very betty-homemaker of me.

  2. Chia Chic March 5, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    Awww you are the sweetest sister! If those cookies don’t “cure” him, I don’t know what will ;)

  3. perfectionisnthappy March 5, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    Anxiety runs in my family, as well, so I can relate. It’s nice to hear someone else talk about it, because when I talk about having chest pains, or an emotional breakdown, not everyone seems to understand how that feels.

  4. Just Ramblin' Pier March 5, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    Anxiety is never easy to deal with other than just facing it head on …. one breath at a time. : )
    (and the peanut butter chocolate chip cookie adds a smile for one smile at a time as well!!)

  5. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 5, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    That’s so sweet that you did that for your brother. Being 13 is rough. I hope everything works out, and just as long as he has the love of your family, it’ll all be okay :)

  6. hippierunner March 5, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    Aw, I know what you mean, I’ve been feeling down lately too. Just think, summer is almost here lol! Wish I could send you some cookies! Except I’m broke and maybe that’d be weird since yours are probably way better!

    Btw for some reason I expected the Hershey’s bars to say Cookies n Carrots! Hah, I’m crazy!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots March 7, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

      um, that last bit totally made my life :) and you’re a sweetie for wanting to send me cookies! i would love to send yous ome as well ;)

      im totally looking forward to getting some real spring weather… hopefully soon!

  7. runyogarepeat March 5, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    What a sweet gesture! My sister’s in high school and always has drama, so I’m planning on baking her cookies this week since I’m home for spring break.

  8. Jess@HealthyExposures March 5, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    I think that is a very sweet gesture. Just knowing that someone cares and is thinking of you is amazing, and especially when it’s taking time out to do something homemade like your cookies. I am sure they were much appreciated. Enjoy the rest of your weekend – show that beautiful smile!

  9. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy March 5, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Sending cookies and a letter is the sweetest thing you could have done! :)

  10. simplynutritiouskate March 5, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Im loving chocolate and pb lately so I think a batch of these cookies might be on my to do list they look delish!

  11. katshealthcorner March 5, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    I hope everything works out! :) That was so sweet of you to do that for your brother!

    Peanut Butter Cookies are THE BEST! :D

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  12. whatkateiscooking March 5, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Aw, that’s so sweet of you! My family has a history of anxiety too, so I know what you mean. I think my sister is the only one that doesn’t struggle with it!

  13. Kshama21 March 5, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    Nicole, that was really kind of you to do that for your little brother.

    Although I’ve never read your blog until now, I had to comment on this post. And, reading about your sweet gesture made me feel warm and fuzzy inside. :-) Thanks and I hope the love that he feels radiates back to you because you did a very nice thing for him. Keep it up, girl!

  14. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) March 6, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    Peanut butter definitely does make everything better!! ;)

    You’re SO sweet girl!!! That’s so great that you’re helping him! Your brother is so lucky to have such an amazingly sweet sister! (Especially an amazingly sweet sister who bakes such delicious cookies! ;) I’m sure the package will help him!

    <3

  15. Tara March 6, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    Anxiety runs in my family too. Almost all of us have had to go to therapy for it! It’s so nice of you to show him that you care and understand what he’s going through. I think baking for someone is one of the best ways to show you care! It’s not like you just went out and bought something. Also hand written notes that come from the heart!

  16. movesnmunchies March 6, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    you are so sweet!!! i always do the same with my bro when i wnt to give him some love.. he is a beast and eats so much and loves everything i make him which makes me feel so good… since we dnt talk often.. i can still show my appreciation!.. im an anxiety carrier too… although im mainly the only one in my family..!

  17. Sweet Tooth Runner March 6, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    HI just found your blog! You are so SWEET!! 13 was a really tough age for me too, so your brother is lucky to have you:)

    And seriously, those cookies look SO DARN GOOD I am bookmarking them RIGHT NOW!!

  18. Erika March 6, 2011 at 8:03 am #

    Nicole, you are so sweet! I hope all of your brother’s problems get solved soon! Poor kid! :-?

  19. BrittFit March 6, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    I hope all your brothers problems get worked out soon <33 I'm sure cookies wouldn't hurt either :)

  20. eatinglikeahorse March 6, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    What a lovely thing to do! Hope your brother feels better soon – and you too :-)

  21. MegSmith March 6, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    I am a very anxious person too, it runs in my family. Even if your brother doesn’t truly appreciate this gesture now (he is 13 after all) I can only imagine how much he will in the future. You are a wonderful sister, this really made me smile. Thanks for sharing such a delicious cookie recipe too!

  22. Casey March 6, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    How nice are you!
    I think taking the time to prepare something…ANYTHING, shows thoughtfulness and love. :D

  23. Mary @ Delightful Bitefuls March 6, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    I hope everything works out :)

    These sound soooo good – love this combo of flavors!!

    Great blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  24. leashieloo March 7, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    Aw, you’re such a good sister! I definitely agree that food is a tangible form of love and that it can make someone’s day!

Leave a Reply

