coming clean.

10 Mar

yes, I am clearly about to divulge my horrendous drug addiction. and by drug addiction I mean diet pepsi addiction.


But being real… For those of you who follow(ed) me on Twitter, you may have noticed my Twitter disappeared.

It’s kind of a long story, but basically someone in my real-life found my twitter and thus my blog, I died of mortification for a few minutes, my evolutionarily adapted fight-or-flight response kicked in, and I deleted my twitter and set my blog to private for like 30 minutes (yes, we are evolutionarily adapted to delete twitters when we feel stress, didn’t you know that? :-P).

In retrospect, it was rather idiotic and very preteen of me. I have mentioned before that my blog is “a secret,” but this was a little extreme. And honestly, I should probably just get over myself. And come out of the closet.

Because maybe having a food blog makes me weird, but maybe I don’t want to be normal. And maybe sometimes I stay in and bake cookies while my peers are out drinking til all hours, and maybe sometimes I act like a grandma, but maybe I enjoy it anyways and maybe that’s all that matters.

Maybe? Try definitely.

Yeah, definitely weird.

And you know what? Maybe being cool is overrated anyways. I’m pretty sure it is.

Because who needs cool when you can have cookies?

Also, I’m extending my giveaway until the end of Saturday. And you can have another entry if you tell people about my new Twitter (via twitter, via blog, via whatever means you’d like!). :) Because now I feel silly for having lost all 70-ish of my followers on Twitter! Ahh!

Do your real-life friends know about your blog? How do you cope with it? Are you silly and embarrassed like me? Help me deal!

Be honest: Did this blog title make you think of the Hilary Duff song of yesteryear? :-P

26 Responses to “coming clean.”

  1. movesnmunchies March 10, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    DO NOT EVEN FRET! i still have weird feelings about whether or not i wnt ppl to know about my blog- and well some do.. but thats life! its not weird- i mean look at EVERYONe who has them! we are all COOL!
    I tweeted for everyone to follow you- maybe i get another entry for your giveaway? ;)

  2. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle March 10, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    All my friends know about my blog, but I get REALLY embarassed when work people find out about it. My boss caught me taking a picture of my lunch one day and I about DIED. But he was surprisingly cool about it and was even impressed :)

  3. leashieloo March 10, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Only a handful of “real” people know about my blog, but I kind of know how you feel!

  4. katshealthcorner March 10, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Not all of my friends know that I have a blog. :) Though I do know some of them follow it all the time! :D It’s life. :)

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  5. Jess@HealthyExposures March 10, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    I don’t think anyone I see in my daily life knows about my blog except my family! I’d probably be a little embarrassed, but get over it eventually. I mean, it is practically a part of me by now! So Don’t even worry about it:] They’ll probably be impressed by your talent, anyway!

  6. vixter2010 March 10, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    I know exactly how you feel, I don’t even have any photos of me on my blog and only my mum knows about it :-) I’m sure I’ll relax more eventually but I would have probably also freaked and reacted the same way! Any chance cookies can be sent to UK? :-)

  7. Kat March 10, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    Im pretty sure I would do the same if certain people found my blog. For example, my parents! Although I am married now and dont live with them, I KNOW my mom would have some not so nice things to say. My daddy would probably be ok with it, but Im not sure if he would get offended since I stole the whole “keep the faith” thing from him lol I just pray the day never comes that they find it! haha
    P.S. gorgeous picture of you, as always :)
    Love you girl!

  8. perfectionisnthappy March 10, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    “And maybe sometimes I stay in and bake cookies while my peers are out drinking til all hours, and maybe sometimes I act like a grandma, but maybe I enjoy it anyways and
    maybe that’s all that matters.”

    ^ I’m pretty sure I’ve said that exact sentence before. I’ve been called “grandma” once or twice in my lifetime. My blog is pretty much a secret too. I have a link to it on my Facebook, but I don’t think anyone uses it. I kind of like to keep it separate from my real life. And the people who do know don’t really understand the point of it. Sometimes I wish I could be “real life friends” with “blogger friends.” You guys totally get it :).

  9. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) March 10, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    I didn’t tell my parents for a while, but they and my sister are the only people who know! I would feel weird if anyone else found out :)

  10. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy March 10, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    My family and a few close friends know about my blog–but I haven’t posted it on my personal FB or anything! Hopefully I’ll do it eventually. But do I really want 500 random people who I barely know (and went to HS) with reading my blog? Probably not!

  11. Ayla March 10, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    My family knows about my blog (although they don’t read it) and so do two of my real life friends. While it surprised me a bit at first to learn that 2 of my friends were reading my blog (and had been doing so for a few months before they came clean!), I’m actually okay with it. Yes, it’s a bit weird but.. I love my blog and I shouldn’t feel ashamed or embarrassed by it. In fact, I’m slowly getting more confident in telling people that I blog.. although I still don’t tell them the name of it. That is still reserved for the closest of close friends.

  12. hippierunner March 10, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    You are so funny! There is no shame in being a grandma- do what makes you happy! :) I would much rather bake cookies than go out and be crazy usually so know that you’re not the only weirdo. I mean cool girl! ;) And your Hilary Duff comment is why her song ‘So Yesterday’ is now playing in my head, cause you said yesteryear lol.

  13. fashionfitnessfoodie March 10, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    All of my friends and family know – they like it though and i’ve never had one mean comment about it! I think you should come out!

  14. This Italian Family March 10, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    I’m not gonna lie – everyone knows I have a blog. Mostly because people are forever asking for recipes and I’m pointing them to the blog or sending them links from the blog. And I’m okay with it. No one has ever been like “You have a blog? That’s weird.” Mostly people just think it’s really cool. Especially if they are mentioned. Tony (the guy who lives with us) gets SO excited every time I mention his name on the blog, haha!

  15. Kayla March 10, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    I’M JUST LIKE YOU. Seriously, I haven’t told anybody about it. My family knows, but they could care less. Although, my mom did tell my grandma, but my grandma doesn’t even know how to work a computer, so I’m safe :)

    My friends, they’re not into healthy eating so I don’t think they’d care anyway. And they’d probably think I’m weird for taking pics of everything I eat, they just wouldn’t understand!

    I totally would have done the same thing and deleted my Twitter/locked my blog if I though someone from “real life” saw it! haha

  16. amylouisemc March 10, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    My family don’t know about my blog, but some of my friends do. I think I’d be a bit embarrassed/self conscious if anyone that I knew from work read it….
    :P

  17. Angie @ The Fitness Apple March 10, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    I hate it when people make fun of me for having my blog, I don’t think people understand how much it has helped me with a positive lifestyle change! stay true to yourself and blog if you feel like it! don’t let others bring you down! You are a great writer and I enjoy your entries every time!

  18. Meg March 10, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    Definitely re-followed and tweeted about the twitter dealio for ya :)

    No joke, I am a diet coke addict too…and Pepsi, either one ;) I limit myself/try to stay away but the call of the chemicals gets TOO strong somtimes haha! ;)

    You should be proud of your blog – it’s amazing!

  19. Tara March 10, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    I am refollowing you on twitter :) My family knows about my blog, however I haven’t told any of my real life friends. It would be a little weird if they found out and I would probably react the same way. I wish I were more open about it!
    I have a diet iced tea addiction. It’s bad.

  20. runyogarepeat March 10, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Not many people know about mine either, I just don’t want to explain it to everyone, and I like my little secret. I’ll probably tell people eventually, then I’ll have to explain that’s it’s been around for a few months now.

  21. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) March 10, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    None of my real-life friends know about my blog either (but my family does) I admit that I used to think that my friends would think I was weird to have a food blog. Now I don’t really care, but I think it’s kind of fun to have a “secret” :D (and don’t think they would care since they aren’t into healthy eating)

    And I definitely don’t want to be normal either! What fun would that be? ;) Do what you enjoy girl!! And if you ever need someone to be “weird” with and stay inside to bake cookies with (although baking cookies isn’t really weird – just plain awesome!), let me know! :)

    <3

  22. Stephanie @ Walking my Talk March 10, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    The only “real live person” who knows about my (admittedly young at less than 2 months old) blog is my husband. I don’t know how I’d feel about anyone else knowing. I’m still learning the ropes…definitely not confident enough to announce my blog to the world.

  23. Kelsey @ Clean Teen Kelsey March 10, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Nicole, you are too funny! Don’t worry about the blog thing. Sometimes it can get nerve-wracking, yup. I don’t always tell people about it, because it’s a little weird. “What? You write about food and take pictures of all your meals? …Ooookay. Freak.” Haha. But really, most people don’t care, and a lot of people wish they were as devoted to a healthy lifestyle. I do know how you feel though, don’t worry. That’s why I still don’t often write about personal things on my blog. There have been so many instances where I’ve wanted to talk about things, food issues, etc., but I can’t. I’m too embarrassed for my real-life friends to read about it all. lol.

  24. Stephanie March 11, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Everyone that knows me knows I write a blog it seems like. Strange people read it…but I’m ok with that. I’ve totally accepted my grandma like tendencies. :) I think you’re gorgeous and creative so you’re probably a whole lot cooler than you think. I tried giving up diet soda…last night after a 5.5 mile run (and after I properly re-hydrated with plenty of water) I threw a mini tantrum and resorted to a 20 oz of Diet Coke. Oh.the.shame.

  25. BrittFit March 11, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    this post is too funny. I’m a weirdo too and I’m not afraid to admit it!

  26. kissmybroccoli March 17, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Aww, honey! Everybody is a little “weird”…just in different ways! A lot of my friends, family, and coworkers know about my blog simply because I was just so gosh darn proud of myself for creating it that I couldn’t keep it secret! Some of them tell me that they keep up with it regularly even though most of the stuff I eat is a little “weird” and “stuff they would never try”…just wait, I’ll invite them over to dinner one night and sneak tofu and nooch in their meal! Muahahaha!

Leave a Reply

