you know you’re a psych major when…

11 Mar

Freud is mentioned at least once a week in everyday conversation.

You meet people, hear about their family, and instantly start trying to figure out their parents’ attachment style.

You look at money left on the ground and wonder if it’s there for a psychology experiment.

You toss around words like “validity,” “reliability,” and “operational definition.”

You can discuss said words for hours on end.

When someone reads aloud the title of an article claiming that Facebook increases self-esteem, you want to know if the study it refers to was experimental in design or correlational, because correlation does not imply causation.

When you interact with children, you start labeling their different types of play, as well as their developmental stage according to Piaget.

You have an uncanny knack for finishing people’s sentences, because they’re predictable.

But the worst thing you do?

You turn baking into an experiment.

Just the beginning…

You see, I was redoing my granola bar recipe. And I knew I wanted to try some without sugar, and some with, to see how it would alter both the consistency and the taste. I also knew I wanted to do some with raisins and some with chocolate chips. Originally, I figured I’d make the sugary ones have chocolate chips, so the raisin ones would have no added, processed sugars.

But wait! Changing two different independent variables?! That creates a confounding variable! And we can’t have that. Because then we would never know if it was the presence of chocolate chips increasing the deliciousness, or the addition of sugar to the actual batter.

So we run a two-independent-variables experiment. And make four different bars. On one cookie sheet.

Yeah, don’t date a psych major. We’re crazy. And we can label exactly what kind of crazy too…

These are the same bars I tried a few weeks ago, but they still aren’t perfect; I’m working out some of the flavor issues. They’re very very grainy and without sugar aren’t terribly sweet, but I kind of like them like that. I will say that the chocolate chips are an almost-necessary addition and really make them delicious. The raisins… eh, so-so. I will continue tweaking, but I wanted to give some semblance of a recipe!

I was so excited to finally get to experiment with some of the fabulous things sent to me by Swanson Health Products. They sent me Chia seeds (which I haven’t played with yet!), Bob’s Red Mill ground flaxseed, wheat germ, tapioca flour, potato starch, and Vitamin D pills. This recipe incorporates the flaxseed and wheat germ, giving it a much more significant nutritional punch. I was given these products for free; if you’re interested in doing a review for them, they are an absolute breeze to work with and can be emailed at blogs@swansonvitamins.com

Flaxseed for dayyyyys…

All of the stuff shipped within a week and I was incredibly surprised at how soon it arrived in my little mailbox… I was also impressed with how low the prices were on their website, had I been actually paying for it! The huge bag of flaxseed I got would’ve cost me less than $5… More than 25% cheaper than retail price! Their website is also full of great products ranging from bars to vitamins and everything in-between. I’m looking forward to continuing to experiment with some of the items I got.

Now about those bars…

Crazy Lady Granola Bars
Makes about 20

2 ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup natural peanut butter (I like crunchy… and I might put more in the next round of tests)
2-4 tablespoons brown sugar (optional)
1/2 cup hot water + 1/4 cup ground flaxseed
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup peanut flour (or protein powder, or regular flour)
1/4 cup wheat germ
2 cups regular oats
2 packets stevia (or to taste)
~1/2 cup mix-in of choice (chocolate chips are delish!)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a 9×13 baking pan.

In a small bowl, combine flaxseed and hot water. Let sit for a few minutes, or until it’s somewhat gelatinous.. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, mash banana (sometimes it helps to microwave it to make it loosen up all its delicious juices…). Add in peanut butter, flax mixture, and sugar (if using) and mix well. Add dry ingredients and stir until well combined; you may need to get your hands in there for a bit (if it’s way too dry, add liquid by the tablespoon). Fold in mix-in, then press the mixture into the baking pan.

Bake for anywhere from 20-30 minutes or until edges are lightly golden-brown. Remove from oven and let cool for 1-2 minutes, then cut while still warm. Allow to cool completely before removing from pan.

I would ask you to weigh in on whether or not I’m crazy but I’m pretty sure I know the answer. ;)

What’s your major/area of interest, and how are your quirks indicative of that?

21 Responses to “you know you’re a psych major when…”

  1. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds March 11, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    nard alert :) haha jk jk. I’ve been looking for a healthified granola recipe. graciassss.

  2. Jess@HealthyExposures March 11, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    haha, LOVE it. We all have our quirks. It’s what makes us unique! I think about everything in a photographic perspective. I totally think how everything would look through a camera. Or I’ll be thinking of horses – it would not be unusual for me to cluck or kiss to things when I want them to hurry up :P
    These bars look awesome!! I’m always game for a good baking experiment :)

  3. hippierunner March 11, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    I’m an English major and I tend to deconstruct things that people have said and then re-write their dialogue in my head. I know, what a weirdo! I think I will make these granola bars after class tomorrow! :)

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots March 12, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

      I used to narrate my life in 3rd person in my head. Sometimes I still do. I’m no english major but I DO like to write… yeah ummm weird :) let me know how it goes if you try them!

  4. Kat March 11, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    mmm they sound delicious to me! I love when a bar is not too sweet. I may try your recipe out just to see :)
    And no, you are NOT crazy. I think you are perfectly delusional (which is a compliment!!)

    My major is exercise science, so that I can work in my favorite field!! :)

  5. Jenny March 11, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    You know you’re a biology major when you try diagnosing people lol

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots March 12, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

      bahaha I’m a bio minor and I legitimately bring up aquaporins/ADH every time I have coffee/other diuretics and have ot pee like every 5 minutes… I think it’s gotten old but I still think it’s fascinating ;) lol.

  6. Tara March 11, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    You may be slightly crazy, but I love you for it. I found all of that hilarious. I really want to try those granola bars!
    I want to major in kinesiology. I guess that would be reflected in how I obsessively read about it and now know more than my health teacher about exercise. I actually correct her in class. It’s depressing.

  7. Laura March 11, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Those granola bars look fab.
    I have a kick for science, but im not in uni yet, so Its definatley not my expertise yet.

  8. whatkateiscooking March 11, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    Haha! You know you’re an English major when your friends ask you to correct their papers / spelling / grammar all the time. Also, you know you’re a history buff when people are always asking you to verify historical facts :)

  9. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 11, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Making your own granola bars is such a great idea!! And you make me so jealous with all your psych major talk. I minored in it in college…and I miss college so so much! :)

  10. katshealthcorner March 11, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    Your granola bars sound so good!! YAY for sugar free! :D Haha, I love the psych talk! :D

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  11. Ryan @ Aloha Appetite March 11, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    This made me laugh, as I am a psych major also. More props to you for tweaking a recipe to suit you!

  12. Kayla March 12, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    I took a Psych class and was always analyzing people’s behaviors haha.

    These bars look soo good!

  13. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy March 12, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    Haha I love it!!! I’m a Psych Major too, so I can definitely say that these are all true! ;)

  14. movesnmunchies March 12, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    BAAHAH you crack me up!! i wouldnt know since im not a psych major- but will definitely take psych classes in the future!
    LOVE THESE NOLA BARS GIRL!

  15. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) March 12, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Haha – maybe I should be a psych major!! I’m alway analyzing stuff like you did the granola bars (especially after my stats class ;) Although, maybe I should be a physics major – at my work out last week, I was analyzing where some people were hanging a boxing bag, and by looking at the weight, forces, and angle of the wire, I knew it would snap. And it did!! I was actually excited because I was right ;)
    Your granola bars look DELICIOUS!!! :D I love how you made them sugar free!!
    I entered your giveaway! :D I kept on forgetting :/ Thanks so much for reminding me! :)
    And we’re going to the San Francisco area in California. I’m SO excited!! :D

    <3

  16. Lauren March 12, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    This was actually hilarious to read! The psych classes I’ve taken were pretty interesting and I found myself comparing studies to real-life situations. Being a nutrition major, I find myself analyzing or thinking facts in my head while eating. I’ll be eating broccoli, then randomly list off the vitamins in it in my head.

  17. Carlee March 12, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    I actually just finished up a pyschology paper/ reflection for a project right before I clicked to view this! I LOVE psychology! I’m taking AP Psych this year! Its my favorite class! I know EVERYTHING you were talking about! I feel SO smart! hehehe.

  18. Christin@purplebirdblog March 13, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    You crack me up!! I’m not a psych major, but I’m definitely a crazy lady in my own right. I mean, shoot… I got a tattoo of a pickle (my bestie got a matching one) on my ribs on Friday night! ;)

  19. kissmybroccoli March 17, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Haha, you totally lost me there after the fourth sentence, but I love it! Kind of reminds me of my general psychology class that I took in college. I loved learning about Maslow’s hierarchy of needs.

    I have a bit of scientist in me too and have conducted a similar baking experiment in my kitchen!

    That is a freakin GINORMOUS bag of flaxseed girl! I’m gonna have to check out Swansons!

Leave a Reply

