how not to study for finals.

13 Mar

It’s finals week. I have four finals. One each day, Monday thru Thursday. All of my attempts at studying in advance last week were pretty much in vain. So here I am, trapped in the library for the past, oh, 6 hours?

But here’s what I’ve been up to in lieu of studying…

Laundry. Which, incidentally, has been sitting, completely clean, in that hamper for the past three days.

Drinking copious amounts of coffee and pretending to read Developmental Psychology.

Eating strawberries the size of my palm (lots of strawberries. and lots of veggies. because that’s what I eat when I’m stressed… go figure?)

Generally letting the condition of my room deteriorate… a lot.

Oh, and baking dough balls. Because that was completely necessary under the circumstances, you know?

Mmm look at the deliciously soft pillow of doughy goodness!

I mean, it involves baking powder and baking soda, which react with acids to form CO2 which is why they’re called leavening agents… (for those of you geekily inclined, there’s more information here).

Where the magic happens… slash it’s a miracle I didn’t eat all of this before baking them.

So it’s totally the same as studying for my chemistry final, right?

Right??!

Tell me about your weekend… it’s probably been more fun than mine ;)

21 Responses to “how not to study for finals.”

  1. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds March 13, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    I am just like you! I procrastinate so much when it comes to studying for finals! Do you have finals or midterms? Either way, good luck! I had a nice weekend at home! Did lots of shopping, baking, and eating :)

  2. runyogarepeat March 13, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Good luck on your finals! I wish I craved veggies instead of chocolate during crazy studying sessions.

  3. Chia Chic March 13, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Oh yes, procrastination= me ALL the time. Also, I know for sure that one of your chemistry exam questions will be “Explain how to make delicious chocolatey dough balls” :D Good luck on your finals!!!!

  4. whatkateiscooking March 13, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    I wish I ate veggies when I’m stressed! Actually, I’m devouring strawberries right now… almost as good :) Good luck with your finals!

  5. BrittFit March 13, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    I was with you last week. you can do it! eat them dough balls and pass the test :) haha

  6. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) March 13, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    I’d definitely say baking is considered studying for chemistry ;) And if it isn’t, then at least you have some amazingly delicious snacks!! :)
    Wow, that strawberry is HUGE!!! I don’t know why, but for some reason, I like eating gigantic strawberries a lot more that tiny strawberries. More flavor maybe? Or maybe it’s all in my mind…. that could definitely be! :)

    Can’t wait till tomorrow!! :D

    <3

  7. Tara March 13, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    Good luck on your finals! I spent my weekend taking the SATs, studying for chemistry, and writing my research paper. Oh and procrastinating by blogging and reading blogs and cooking and baking. Woohoo!
    I can’t believe I STILL haven’t made doughballs. I think I should make them and bring them in for the track team! That will win me the best baker award for sure!

  8. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 13, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    Good luck on your finals!! You’ll do great!

  9. katshealthcorner March 13, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    Good luck on your finals! I believe in you! :D

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  10. Ryan @ Aloha Appetite March 13, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    This makes me laugh. It is so what ends up being my “studying” also. Except multiple your room deterioration x3 for the other rooms in my house. Yikes.

  11. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 14, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    Good luck with your finals! I seem to find anything else to do, besides studying, when I have an exam coming up! It’s funny how important laundry and baking seem to be right before a final :).

  12. movesnmunchies March 14, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    ahahhahah! AHH I HATE FINALS!! esp chemistry- i would FAIL.. chem doesnt like me..
    GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!

  13. Jess March 14, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    I was in FL over the weekend and am having lots of trouble getting back into the swing of things!

  14. Stephanie March 14, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    You’re the queen of procrastination…a girl after my own heart! Can I have some cookies, please?

  15. The Teenage Taste March 14, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Those dough balls look delicious! I made the sugar cookie ones for Christmas and they were a hit! Good luck with studying for finals!

  16. leashieloo March 14, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    Boo, I always felt so stressed out before finals! Once they’re over, you can get your head back on straight :) Good luck to you!

  17. Jess@HealthyExposures March 14, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Those strawberries are huuuuuge!!! holy cow!
    i definitely kept busy with my midterms last week – just remember to breathe and everything will work out just fine :]

  18. This Italian Family March 14, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    Haha! This post made me smile. It reminds me of all the ways I procrastinated in college. ;) Those strawberries really are massive!

  19. Angie @ The Fitness Apple March 14, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    I LOVE buying massive strawberries! It makes my day! :)

  20. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 16, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    that is a giant strawberry!

    best of luck ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ballsy. « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 20, 2011

    […] Mar So I wrote a little bit ago about how I made dough balls in lieu of studying for […]

Leave a Reply

