how not to study for finals, part 2.

14 Mar

Aka BEST STUDY BREAK EVER.

So I had my chemistry test (after thinking it was at 1:30, then discovering it was in fact at 9:10 in the morning… whoops?). It went okay, I was running on about 3 hours of sleep (stupid nerves), so I definitely crashed afterwards. And then awoke to a dream (oh melodrama…)

The lovely Alex of Veggin’ Out in the Kitchen happened to be in my general vicinity vacationing and visiting colleges… so we e-mailed, chatted it up a bit, and decided to meet up! I gave her a tour of my school and rather talked her ear off.

But um, if you think she’s adorable online? She’s about 100000000000 times more adorable and amazing in person. And her dad was so kind as to pay for a lovely meal for us at a local Thai place, and to put up with my incessant chatter.

I had my usual Tom Yum vegetarian soup… I’m sort of obsessed with Thai soups, I loveee this stuff! I really ought to find a recipe and try it at home…

The flaming bowl!

Alex opted for the green papaya salad. It was also really good, with a light and fruity dressing (I may or may not have stolen some…). Her dad’s dish was non-vegetarian and thus not photographed ;)

We somehow managed to talk for a solid 3 hours. And by we managed to talk I mean I babbled and these kind souls listened. It was an absolute joy to meet up with her! And I hope we meet again :)

I hate flash, but we’re kind of adorable… and yes, I’m the short one. Sigh.

It’s generally so exciting to meet blog-friends. I wish I could meet all of you, somehow… party at my place? I’ll bring cookies. ;)

Have you met any of your blog-friends in person? Did you LOVE it?

19 Responses to “how not to study for finals, part 2.”

  1. Ellie March 15, 2011 at 1:01 am #

    Awww that is so awesome!!! :D that would be sooo fun to do someday~~and I had tom yum 2 weeks ago and it was very good! Tangy~Are you sure it’s not that Alex is actually tall? And you’re just medium height? :P

  2. Jess@HealthyExposures March 15, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    Looks like the perfect way to detox from exam-mania. I’ve never had the chance to meet blog friends! I’ll be at the party at your place, though :P
    (and p.s. re: posting and exams; don’t sweat it if you can’t get a post up. we (your readers) still love you, but we love you better if you’re not stressed ;) i think i can speak for everyone when i say we won’t go anywhere and will be here for you when you get back in full force!)

  3. Jess March 15, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    I love the pic of the two of you:) Great study break!

  4. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle March 15, 2011 at 6:28 am #

    I love meeting blog friends in person! I have met a few and they are some of my best friends now :)

  5. Tara March 15, 2011 at 6:45 am #

    Study breaks with friends are the best! I’m going to California in about a month to look at colleges too, so I’ll have to shoot you an email. I’ve never done a blog meet up before!

  6. movesnmunchies March 15, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    how fuN!! i have never met any bloggy friends! I WNT TO!

  7. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) March 15, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    Awwww… it was SO fun to meet you too!! I can’t wait to do my post about our meet up so I can brag about you and your amazing cookies! :D And I really loved your chattiness!! :)

    I keep forgetting to tell you, but I hope you do/did do amazing on your finals! Best, best, best of luck to you on them!! I know you will do great! :D

    <3 <3 <3

  8. Kat March 15, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    So jealous of your meetup!! I have yet to meet any bloggers, but I am hoping to one day :)

  9. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 15, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    It’s cool that you did a blogger meet up! I think it’d be fun to do one day.

  10. Jenny March 15, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Aww I would love to meet a blogger. Gotta find a Miami girl :D

  11. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy March 15, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    I bet it feels great to have your Chem test over and done!! :)

    A blogger lunch meet-up sounds like a great study break to me!

  12. runyogarepeat March 15, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    Aw so fun! I did that a few weeks ago and met a blogger while she was visiting my school. Everyone stared while we were taking photos of our food :)

  13. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 15, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    That’s so awesome that you met a blog friend!! I would love to do that. I don’t know anyone who’s living in Chicago though.

  14. coffeeandthepaper March 16, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Thai food AND blogger meetups = two of my favorite things. Last week I was able to do both so it was a double win : )

    Good luck on the rest of your finals!

  15. katshealthcorner March 16, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Awww, you are so lucky!!! I do know one of my Bloggie friends, but we knew each other before we both started blogging, so I don’t know if that counts.

    I’ll bring the Chocoalte Fondue! ;)

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  16. This Italian Family March 16, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Aww how fun that you got to do a bloggy meet up! :) She and her dad are adorable! Glad you had so much fun! :)

  17. BrittFit March 16, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    not yet but hopefully soon! I love that noodle dish :) look delish

  18. Casey March 16, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Have you seen that movie catfish?
    I heard it’s really good and all about meeting online friends in person!
    It’s so much fun, but it’s almost nerve racking like a first date ;)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ballsy. « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 20, 2011

    […] I did it again so I could share some with the lovely Alex when she and I met up a week ago… But this time, I used some Dark Chocolate Dreams & cocoa powder to make […]

Leave a Reply

