freedom-fun-friends-food

19 Mar

I’m free. And have been for two days, but those two days have been busy! But well-photographed. And a picture’s worth 1,000 words, so… Here is what freedom is.

Freedom is baking tons of cookies & muffins immediately after leaving your last final (I have such good friends…)

And licking all the dough out of the bowl.

Freedom is when you finally get home, take a nap, then have one of your best friends come over… and bake more cookies.

… then going to another best friend’s house to make sushi.

Freedom is waking up without an alarm to a beautifully sunny Seattle day and watching your brother’s first rowing regatta of the season.

I miss crew…

… and taking lots of pictures of him completely against his will.

He’s in the front carrying the boat. I’m such an embarrassing sister. :)

Freedom is picking up a friend from the airport and bringing her to stay at your house for a week… and celebrating with Thai food!

Jackie is so elegant ;)

And freedom is going to sleep at 10 PM on a Saturday to the sound of crickets chirping outside your window.

What does freedom look like to you??

17 Responses to “freedom-fun-friends-food”

  1. paijery March 19, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    Bahaha I love pic of you licking out the bowl! Homemade sushi is the best!!

  2. Jess@HealthyExposures March 20, 2011 at 4:55 am #

    I’m glad you’ve finally gotten some time to relax and enjoy your break, girl. I hope the rest of it goes just as wonderfully :]
    freedom to me is a gorgeous, sunny spring/summer day at the barn :]

  3. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) March 20, 2011 at 4:57 am #

    It looks you had an amazing time celebrating your freedom!!! :D Cookies (especially yours :) and sushi – two of my favorite foods (among many, I admit).

    I’m definitely an embarrassing sister too! Lacrosse games, track meets… I’m always in the audience with my camera on and ready to snap. But if we don’t, who’s going to capture our brother’s memories, right? ;)

    The first thing I do when I’m free is ride my horsey, but then it’s all about the food!! :D

    <3 <3

  4. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds March 20, 2011 at 5:24 am #

    I’ve always wanted to try and make homemade sushi! Looks like you are having a fantastic break :)

  5. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 20, 2011 at 5:56 am #

    Looks like you are having fun; enjoy your break!

  6. kissmybroccoli March 20, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    Yay for freedom! My dearie…you definitely deserve it!

    Love the “lick the bowl” pic! Haha!

    I can’t wait to have my freedom after this move is done with! All I want to do is spend an entire day in the kitchen baking…but nooooooo I have to pack! Plus, at this point, I can’t even see the top of my oven! Grr!

  7. Tara March 20, 2011 at 7:10 am #

    You deserve this freedom! Sushi making and cookie baking sound like fun.. I wish I had the freedom to do that! I have a list of things to do when I am “free”, mostly cooking and baking.

  8. Kat March 20, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    YAY for freedom!! Glad you made it through darling :) Freedom to me is a day completely devoted to whatever I want, with no stress hanging over my head!!

  9. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 20, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    Freedom is knowing I don’t have to tell anyone what I’m doing or why. :) So cool that you guys made sushi together!

  10. katshealthcorner March 20, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    Baking Cookies is Freedom! :D There are so many possibilities! :D

    Looks like you had fun! :D

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  11. Jess March 20, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Freedom looks so good!
    To me, freedom definitely includes a lot of baking, sleeping in, and reading for FUN.

  12. Jenny March 20, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I love making homemade sushi. Buying a kit is the best thing ever. Love the pics :D

  13. movesnmunchies March 20, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    wait… YOU MADE SUSHI!! and it turned out GREAT?!?!?! SO IMPRESSIVE!!

    freedom is being HAPPY and healthy and enjoying life and looking forward to LIVING!

  14. runyogarepeat March 20, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    I think I just re-lived my spring break & freedom from school through these pictures! My sister does crew, and I always take a million pictures of her and embarrass her too. Freedom to me is being able to sleep in on a weekend and staying in pajamas all day.

  15. Stephanie March 21, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    I love the pic of you with your face buried in the bowl. So funny!

  16. missymiller March 28, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Sushi making parties are the best!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ballsy. « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 20, 2011

    […] balls also made an appearance at sushi night. I told my friend who hosted the dinner that I’d bring cookies, and that she should pretend […]

Leave a Reply

