ballsy.

20 Mar

So I wrote a little bit ago about how I made dough balls in lieu of studying for finals.

Then I did it again so I could share some with the lovely Alex when she and I met up a week ago… But this time, I used some Dark Chocolate Dreams & cocoa powder to make CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER DOUGH BALLS (I know, intense, right?!)

The dough was deeeelicious, though extremely crumbly before I added water…

And then I think I added too much, because they didn’t quite stick together as well as I wanted. But I think my peanut butter was again kind of dry, so maybe adding oil would have been better.

At any rate, here’s the recipe… It’s mostly the same as Mama Pea’s but with a few minor tweaks. :)

Chocolate-Peanut Butter-Chocolate Chip Dough Balls
adapted slightly from Mama Pea

1/2 cup Earth Balance margarine
1/2 cup natural peanut butter
1/4 cup Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup powdered sugar
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 cup peanut butter chips
1/2 cup chocolate chips
2-4 tablespoons water (if necessary)

In a large bowl, cream together peanut butter, margarine, and sugars until fluffy. Add in vanilla extract and cocoa powder and mix until well combined. In a separate bowl, mix together dry ingredients. Add dry to wet in 2-3 batches, mixing until well combined each time. If your dough is still VERY dry and crumbly (like mine was, see above!) add in water or oil by the tablespoon until it starts to hold together (I added a little too much, actually). Fold in chocolate and peanut butter chips, and refrigerate dough for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a baking sheet. Once the dough has chilled, roll about tablespoon-sized balls of dough and place on cookie sheet without flattening. Bake for 8-11 minutes (depending on size); this is the tricky part, because they won’t look particularly cooked but that’s what makes them delicious!

Let cool on cookie sheet then dig in.

Dough balls also made an appearance at sushi night. I told my friend who hosted the dinner that I’d bring cookies, and that she should pretend to be surprised. Unfortunately I only snapped one picture of the dough balls, but here they are:

They were delicious, not as sweet as Mama Pea’s version, but still really good. I may try tweaking them a bit, but this time I just used this recipe.

Have you ever made dough balls? Because if not you really should. They’re amazing.

19 Responses to “ballsy.”

  1. stephanie March 20, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    These look amazing!

  2. kat March 20, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Oh my heavens! Looks delish!

  3. Tara March 20, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    I have been meaning to try doughballs since she first made them!!! I definitely want to make them for my track team. There are so many girls on the team that I could probably make one batch of every flavor (and keep one of each for myself) to give out!

  4. Ayla March 20, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    I HAVE made cookie dough balls! They are definitely good. :) Raw cookie dough balls are even better though. Well, in my opinion. ;)

    Your chocolate peanut butter chocolate chip ones looks awesome. AWESOME. Yeah.

    • Ayla March 20, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

      Just realized I said “looks”. I meant look. It was completely necessary for me to fix that mistake.

  5. BrittFit March 20, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    I really need to get on this. haha love the post title

  6. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 20, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    I’ve made dough balls a couple of times. I have never made chocolate peanut butter ones though! I will have to try those asap!

  7. This Italian Family March 20, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Those look SO good! I haven’t made anything like them before, but they look like a real winner!

  8. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 20, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    I’ve never made dough balls! But I was recently thinking about using my Dark Chocolate Dreams PB, so this is the perfect recipe!

  9. katshealthcorner March 20, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    They DO look amazing!!! :D I really DO need to go make those! :D Such a great recipe girl! :D Your recipes always make me happy! :D

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  10. Jess@atasteofconfidence March 20, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    GREAT idea – I starred the recipe!:)

  11. Jess@HealthyExposures March 21, 2011 at 3:04 am #

    They look amazing! I’ve never tried making Mama Pea’s sough balls…but was sent some and they were delicious :)

  12. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) March 21, 2011 at 4:08 am #

    Yay!! I’m so glad that you posted the recipe! :D I’ve been missing my chocolate dough balls already and really need more!! :)
    Your recipes always look so fabulous!!! The only downside, they make my really hungry! :)
    And thanks once again for sharing you dough balls with me! They made cookie adventures SO much better! :D

    <3 <3

  13. movesnmunchies March 21, 2011 at 5:58 am #

    ive never made them!! but DANg i love your version- they must have been a hit!

  14. Jenny March 21, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    Love the title ;) haha and I’ve never made dough balls! :(

  15. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds March 21, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    I love the title of this post :) haha. I need to make me a batch of these suckers. YYUM

  16. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy March 21, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Any recipes with the words cookie dough and balls are great in my book!! ;)

  17. hippierunner March 23, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    If regular doughballs are incredible (and they are! I tried ’em!) then I bet these are AMAZING! Wish I had some.

  18. kissmybroccoli April 10, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    Please shoot me for getting so behind on all your posts! Grr!

    Mmm, chocolate peanut butter dough balls…gimme, gimme!

    I’ve been wanting to try that dough ball recipe from The Chic Life ever since my “battle with the dough” when making Mama Pea’s version! Thanks for reminding me I need to get on that!

Leave a Reply

