touristy.

21 Mar

I told you my friend was visiting… actually, this is my soon-to-be-famous-amazing-singer friend, Jackie.

Of course this means doing some good old fashioned tourist-ing in Seattle. I’m hoping we’re gonna hit up Pike Place later this week and more pictures will most certainly ensue. ;) But here’s what I’ve been up to in lieu of commenting on posts and, well, cooking…

First stop… the EMP (Experience Music Project… aka a music-type museum with lots of random music & sci-fi related activities).

Reflection of the Space Needle in the oddly-shaped building’s exterior… cliche, I know

The tower of guitars… yeah…

We took a break for lunch at the Seattle Centerhouse… and while lunch was not exciting (hello Subway) we did have to sample some fudge.

Honestly, I don’t even like fudge (too sweet!). But this one was okay…

We returned to the EMP to check out their “Sound Lab” where you are taught to play different instruments and can even make recordings… but we were too lame/lazy to wait in line so we just messed around.

Jackie has beautiful hands. And also found the keyboard station infuriating because she actually plays piano and it went wayyy too slowly… I tried the guitar, that was amusing. ;)

The day ended with watching Sleepless in Seattle to educate Jackie on local geography (because it’s obviously super accurate).

Today, we continued the geeky-streak and went to lunch at Microsoft with my mom. Um, I had the salad bar and it was as good as the Whole Foods Hot Bar. And I don’t say such things lightly. Unfortunately I didn’t snap a picture.

Anyways, we then ventured to the “Microsoft Museum” which is really just a small room filled with gadgets to play with.

Playing with the Kinect makes for some amusing pictures…

We stopped by the company store and found this shirt. I about died laughing. And am seriously tempted to buy it for a friend of mine (no, Anthony, not you. I know you wouldn’t wear anything with Microsoft on the sleeve, plus I’m not sure that the second half applies :-P ).

We ended our day baking cookies. I know. I’m predictable. It happens. I made this recipe (yep, more dough balls) and they turned out okay, but I kind of want to mess with it and see if I can make them better. Ah, perfectionism. ;)

Phew. Sorry for all the pictures. Being a tourist is hard work. Here’s a gratuitous picture of my lovely dog as a reward for making it this far…

Isn’t he pretty? ;)

Do you like pretending to be a tourist in your own city? I think I mostly just like the excuse to take millions of pictures. ;)

16 Responses to “touristy.”

  1. megan @ the oatmeal diaries March 22, 2011 at 1:15 am #

    This looks like so much fun! And I feel like fudge is hit-or-miss, it’s either too sweet or just right. Pretty pup!!

  2. Tara March 22, 2011 at 3:55 am #

    I don’t really act too touristy in my own city. All the tourists go see the historical stuff that I find incredibly boring because I’ve seen it so many times.
    The microsoft place sounds pretty cool. I think I could keep myself entertained for hours in a room full of gadgets!

  3. Ma Ma Megan March 22, 2011 at 4:09 am #

    There are really no touristy things to do in my town.. ha.
    But looks like you had fun.
    I’m sorry but that html shirt made me laugh ;)

  4. movesnmunchies March 22, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    what a blast!! london is FULL of touristy sites! yet i never ever go!! ill probably regret it one day. haha. .. but i do love the odd days where i walk around westminster- love that area!

  5. Jess March 22, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    I’ve been to Seattle a few times for swim meets and loved it!

  6. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy March 22, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    I think pretending to be a tourist in your own city is a great idea! I bet I’d find great places that I usually overlook! :)

  7. Jess@HealthyExposures March 22, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Awesome pictures! Seattle looks like it is a ton of fun :] Unfortunately, my city doesn’t offer much to be a tourist of this time of year…but to be honest, I probably look like a tourist anywhere I go because I alllways have my camera :P

  8. Ellie March 22, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    how awesome is that?! you girls are so funny :P Seattle is one of those places I’ve always wanted to visit! One of the main reasons, I love rain and coffee haha!

  9. whatkateiscooking March 22, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    There’s not a whole lot to do in my neck of the woods, so I never really get to act like a tourist! So jealous you live in Seattle- I went last January and loved it :)

  10. Jenny March 22, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Haha I’ve done that in Miami. Just take tons of pictures when I live there :)

  11. fashionfitnessfoodie March 22, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    I have been dying to be a tourist in my city!! I’m always crazy busy but DC would be a perfect place to roam.. So fun :)

  12. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 22, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    That HTML shirt is so funny!! I’m only a tourist in my own city when I have relatives from out of town with me :)

  13. BrittFit March 23, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    what an awesome day! i love music I sing and play guitar myself :) great pics

  14. katshealthcorner March 24, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    This looks like SO much fun!!! :D That tower reminds me of the Towers of America. :)

    Seeing the sites in my city is so much fun! I have lived here for about 8 years, and I STILL haven’t seen everything yet. :)

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  15. I Will Run For Chocolate March 26, 2011 at 6:55 am #

    I loooove the EMP! I went there about, oh, 8 years back, and I have never forgotten it. I keep telling my boyfriend we need to make a trip up to it because it is so awesome. I hope it is really as cool as I remember! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. spring break in review. « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 27, 2011

    […] you can tell by my general blog-absence, it’s been quite a hectic spring break. My first post about my shenanigans told of the first few days of touristing with my friend Jackie… while we […]

Leave a Reply

