oops, i did it again…

23 Mar

I ate all the carrots & berries… again.
I slept in wayyy too late… again.
I neglected my blog… again.
I watched a Disney movie with my friends… again. (Monday was Tangled, Tuesday was Sleeping Beauty)
I messed with the recipe… again.
Most importantly, I added twice the amount of butter the recipe called for… again.

And after watching Sleeping Beauty I felt kind of like the fairy who is incapable of following the cake recipe and folds in the eggs, shells and all…

It started when I decided to make some muffins as an easy breakfast for my houseguest. I kind of ate all of our strawberries (4 pounds were gone within 2 days, as well as 5 pounds of baby carrots) so I had to use a frozen berry mix (which I’ve also polished off as of this morning…).

At first I thought I’d just make the whole batch, but midway through I decided a half-batch would suffice. Of course, I’d already separated the butter so I unwittingly added twice the usual amount of butter. They were definitely too oily and so moist they kind of fell apart, but other than that they were good (and my mom loved them).

I also took a few liberties with the original recipe and added some sliced almonds and some almond extract. Because almond extract makes everything better.

Berry Almond Muffins
adapted from here

1 cup almond milk + 1 teaspoon vinegar (or just buttermilk)
2 cups flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup sugar
6 tablespoons cold butter, cubed
1 large egg
1/2-1 teaspoon almond extract (optional)
1 cup frozen berries
1/4 cup sliced almonds

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and lightly grease a 12-cup muffin tin.

Measure out almond milk and vinegar and mix well; set aside to curdle (or use buttermilk!).

In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients (flour thru sugar). Cut in butter using knives or a pastry cutter. In another bowl (or in a large measuring cup) mix curdled milk, almond extract, and egg until well-mixed. Add to dry ingredients and stir gently until just combined. Stir in berries and almonds, and spoon into muffin tin. Sprinkle the tops with almonds if so desired.

Bake for 17-23 minutes or until they pass the toothpick test.

Yay crunchy almonds on top!

Are you capable of following a recipe or do you always end up changing like five different things?

22 Responses to “oops, i did it again…”

  1. hippierunner March 23, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    Those look soo yummy! I can never follow a recipe!

  2. kat March 23, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    I love tangled!! Its super cute. Although I’ve never seen sleeping beauty. I usually mess around when it comes to recipes, unless I know for a fact it will taste better as is! Miss you girl!

  3. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 23, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Those look good! One of the reasons I like baking (compared to cooking) is that it’s all about precision…if one thing goes wrong, it can result in flat cookies or a sunk-in cake. I follow the recipe, but I do try to think of creative substitutes every once in awhile, if I’m out of an ingredient that I need.

  4. Ma Ma Megan March 23, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    I am perfectly capable of following a recipe. I just usually prefer not to ;)

  5. movesnmunchies March 23, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    OMG i alwas change things.. and then i forget to change one of the ratios and yeah.. ends up in a FAIL! DO NOT FRET- we all do it.. oh too often!

  6. The Teenage Taste March 23, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    I can never follow a recipe exactly – it’s impossible for me!

  7. Jenny March 23, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    I’m pretty bad with following recipes exactly to the count lol I like adding a little more or a little less haha :)Those muffins look so yummy!

  8. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 23, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    I have to re-add you to my reader b/c for some reason i’m still not getting updates. boo. so sorry love!

    I’m notorious for accidentally doubling the butter or some other random ingredient like nutmeg ;) it happens!

  9. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 23, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    Yummy! These look so good! Disney movies are the best! I thought Tangled was adorable!

  10. Jess@HealthyExposures March 23, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    Girl I am dangerous to the existence of baby carrots and fresh berries, too!! No worries ;)
    I find it incredibly difficult to follow a recipe, too. I ALWAYS want to change it! And when I do try to follow it exactly, it never fails that I’ll miss a step or something. The most recent mistake was entirely omitting a tablespoon of baking powder, aha…whoops. Luckily the taste was still there, even if they were a little dense ;)

  11. fashionfitnessfoodie March 23, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    I cannot follow a recipe!! Unless its 3 ingredients or less :)
    I need to see tangled!

  12. Tara March 23, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    I fail at following recipes. I just can’t help myself. Especially when it comes to muffins, aka the best baked goods on earth!
    I 100% agree with this statement: “almond extract makes everything better.”

  13. katshealthcorner March 23, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Haha, I like following recipes, but it is so much fun just changing a couple of things. :)

  14. This Italian Family March 24, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    Those look so yummy! I definitely adapt just about every recipe I make, haha! I just can’t help it. I know what I like. ;)

  15. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel March 24, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    too moist is better than too dry tho, thats for sure. i wouldn’t mind having this batch while u made some more- mmmm just give me a green tea and the morning paper and i’d be more than happy :)

  16. mindrunningwild March 24, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    this is seriously my problem. My mom will leave me home and be like “make brownies for G and E’s class Hannah” and I’ll be like “okay!” and then I’ll add weird things….idk why!

  17. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) March 25, 2011 at 5:04 am #

    Your muffins look sooo good!! Very moist and delicious!! :D
    I don’t think I’ve EVER followed a recipe exactly. Seriously, I think I’m incapable. But that’s how discoveries are made right? ;) I mean sometimes, it turns out way better than it would have if the directions had been followed. But then there’s other times when….. never mind, I’ll leave it there ;)

    <3 <3

  18. Namaste Gurl March 25, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Looks amazing, as per usual. You are quite the baker and do so, so well at it, too! Keep it up, girly!

  19. Ellie March 25, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    haha i don’t get stressed easily but the one time I DO get stressed is when I’m making something and I just have an ITCH TO MAKE IT HEALTHIER or MAKE IT WITH TWEAKINGS! :D haha but i’m glad to know many people here are like that too

  20. kissmybroccoli April 10, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    I’m gonna get you a button that says, “Did you measure your butter today?” Hahaha!

    The degree of “messing” I do to a recipe depends on how much of the ingredients I have on hand. Usually if I have to substitute more than one thing, the rules pretty much go out the window! ;)

  21. beatriceqq May 13, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    i love berries

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. spring break in review. « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 27, 2011

    […] Lazy Song”, which we decided should be our inspiration). It didn’t entirely work out. Muffins were baked in a leisurely fashion, then we wound up going out to meet some friends for shopping in the Capitol […]

Leave a Reply

