tastes of home. [reese’s-pieces cookies]

25 Mar

I do love college, but there are a lot of things to love about being at home.

The views.

Pretty city.

The ability to drive around and take ridiculous photos of myself in the car.

The family.

My brother is so big, it kills me!

And, of course, the food in many forms.

Such as the COFFEE (I am a true Seattle-raised Brazilian…).

Oh how I wish I had an espresso machine at school like my one at home…

Yeah, my friends and I went to a lot of coffee shops.

The five-pound bags of carrots… Thank you Costco.

May or may not have eaten two of these this week. Awkward.

The MASSIVE tubs of peanut butter… Also thanks to Costco.

5 pounds. 71 servings. Heaven.


And, of course, the cookies that inevitably come from said peanut butter.

I first made these cookies over the summer with Reese’s Pieces. They’re adapted from a recipe that was basically a normal chocolate-cookie recipe with the pieces in it. I decided to up the peanut butter factor by putting in peanut butter for half of the butter. It worked absolutely beautifully. This time, I used peanut-butter M&Ms and they were equally delicious.

I also love my mixer at home…And I may or may not have licked the beaters (don’t tell).

The dough is dark, fudgy, peanut-buttery and delicious. You might just want to eat it with a spoon. Don’t worry, I won’t tell. In fact, I condone this behavior. Can’t have me being a hypocrite now can we?

But if some make it to the cookie sheet, I’m fairly certain you won’t regret it. I made 24 of them earlier today and somehow they have all magically disappeared. It wasn’t even entirely my teenage brother’s fault… My dad (who “doesn’t like sweets”, remember?) definitely ate at least half a dozen.

I really should probably hoard this recipe to myself and sell it and make millions of dollars, but I’m feeling generous, and guilty for being so neglectful of everyone’s blogs. So here’s my peace-offering. ;)

Chocolate-Peanut-Butter Reese’s Pieces Cookies
Adapted from here

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 extra-large eggs at room temperature
2/3 cup good unsweetened cocoa powder
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 scant teaspoon salt (depending if your PB is salted or not)
10.5 oz bag of Reese’s Pieces (approx; feel free to sub PB M&Ms or basically anything! ~2 cups)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
Cream the butter and half of the sugar until light and fluffy. Add peanut butter and the rest of the sugar and mix until creamy. Add the vanilla, then the eggs, 1 at a time, and mix well.

Sift together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt and add to the egg/butter mixture with the mixer on low speed until just combined. Fold in the candy.

Drop the dough on a lightly greased  baking sheet (or line with parchment paper, which is often a good idea when working with candy), roughly the size of scant tablespoons (you can make them bigger if you desire, I tend to make small cookies; the original recipe recommends well-rounded tablespoons or 1 3/4 inch ice cream scoops and baking for 15 minutes).

Bake for around 12 minutes, or until the tops are beginning to crack (they will seem underdone, but take them out anyways!)
Remove from the oven and let cool on the pan for 3 minutes, then transfer to cooling rack (or, um, a plate).

Enjoy them before someone else does (I’m lookin’ at you, brother).

What are the best things about being at home/what foods do you like best at home?

18 Responses to “tastes of home. [reese’s-pieces cookies]”

  1. Ma Ma Megan March 25, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    71 servings holy cow! I need me some of that peanut butter!

  2. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds March 25, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    I agree with Megan. Hook a sista up. We don’t have Costco in Minnesota…only Sam’s.

  3. hippierunner March 25, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Fudgy cookies sound good! And every time I go home, I feel like my little brother is so much bigger too! Makes me sad! I bet some cookies would help that! ;)

  4. Jenny March 25, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Omg those cookies look crazy good!!

  5. paijery March 25, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    Awww your fam is so cute!! I just love getting to hang out with my fam :)
    Lucky you that home is seattle! I visited there this past summer and loved it!

  6. This Italian Family March 26, 2011 at 6:20 am #

    Nicole! I’ve missed you too, girl! I’m glad to read your words today. :)

    So glad you are having such a great time being home! Your fam is precious. And you crack me up with your carrot obsession, but hey! At least you ate two bags carrots instead of two tubs of that PB. ;)

    Oh, and those cookies look seriously incredibly amazing. Could you please make them with Splenda and sugar free reeses and then mail me some? M’kay, thanks. :P

  7. Jess March 26, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    That peanut butter jar looks like HEAVEN ON EARTH..I want it!!

  8. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 26, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    These cookies look so yummy!!! Reese’s pieces in a cookie is genius! I really miss college now that I’m in the real world… :(

  9. runyogarepeat March 26, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    Best looking cookies ever! So much chocolate & peanut butter, love it! I need to look for that huge PB at Costco, usually, I just get the big almond butter jar.

  10. BrittFit March 26, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    I love my oats and yogurt bowls at home. these pictures have made me drool alllll overrrrr my computer haha ;)

  11. movesnmunchies March 26, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    AHH I WNT YOUR MASSIVE JAR OF PB!! is it sad that that certainly would only last me 3 weeks tops?
    DANG those cookies look decadent! i love being able to COOK when im home!

  12. Tara March 26, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    I died when I saw those cookies. Oh-my-yummness.
    My favorite thing about home is my family. Of course I’ve never lived away from them yet, but when I go away for a few weeks at a time I really miss their company!

  13. fashionfitnessfoodie March 27, 2011 at 3:28 am #

    71 servings!? doubt it would last me that long but maybe at least 30 :)
    well im sure its not hard to figure out but the cookies?? im obsessed with!!!

  14. katshealthcorner March 27, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    No way! 71 servings?!?!?! That is one BIG jar of Peanut Butter!! :)

    Those cookies sound absolutely DIVINE!!!! YUM! :D

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  15. Laurel March 28, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Peanut Butter M&M’s in a cookie – genius! I’d love for you to submit this to the M&T Spotlight at http://www.makeandtakes.com/spotlight

  16. kissmybroccoli April 10, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    Dang girl! You out did yourself with this one! And I totally want to dive into that ginormous tub of PB! Man, I need a Costco around here! All Sam’s sells is the partially hydrogenated oil ones! Boo!

    I LOVE my mom’s pot roast with carrots, potatoes, and gravy. She doesn’t make it often, but when she does, it always brings back the memories!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. spring break in review. « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 27, 2011

    […] YouTube. Anyways. Off my soapbox. Took Jackie to the airport, went home, lounged about a bit, baked amazing Reese’s Pieces cookies, then was coerced into volunteering at my high school’s “rummage […]

  2. numbers. « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 28, 2011

    […] Delicious peanut buttery cookies with PB M&Ms! […]

Leave a Reply

