how [not] to prepare for a new quarter. [more choc. chip cookies!]

27 Mar

1) Have a crazy, awesome, hectic break during which you INCREASE your sleep debt rather than negating it.

2) Wake up at the crack of dawn (5:30 AM) to get on a 7:00 AM flight back to school… then promptly after arriving take a glorious 2 hour nap.

3) Actually unpack all of your clothes within a few hours of arriving, for once. However, this must be done at the expense of actually dealing with all the papers left over from last quarter.

4) Neglect to order your books for your classes until the night before they start, then continue procrastinating by getting distracted and pre-ordering Mama Pea’s cookbook instead… because you baked dough balls to convince your mom that it was a worthy investment.

This is a true story. How to win friends and influence people, and get your mom to buy you cookbooks: DOUGH. BALLS. Sorry for the bad pics though… I have better ones but they’ll have to wait.

My mom said if I baked these for any boy he’d probably propose… may have to use that someday, but not just yet…

5) Read blogs instead of looking up the locations of your classes. Oh, and then remember the rather insane classes you’re taking: Bio (with a lab), Chem (with a lab), Neuropsychology (which is supposed to be hard), and Honors Ethics (a.k.a. lots of dense reading). What is this “social life” you speak of?

6) Most importantly… Only get 4 hours of sleep two nights before starting your quarter. Why? Because you had to bake cookies to bring back. That’s why.

I’ve told you before about my quest for the perfect chocolate chip cookie. And the fact that chocolate chip cookie dough is kind of the best ever… and that baking chocolate chip cookies is a great excuse to consume copious quantities of that delightful concoction.

So I decided to whip out my hand mixer for one last batch of cookies before I went home, at the expense of a shower and a good night’s sleep (I have such good priorities!)

This one came from Joy the Baker. I love love love her blog… She makes the most delicious-looking things and is always so funny and adorable! She did some posts on the great chocolate chip cookie debate and I had this particular recipe bookmarked (along with 300+ other chocolate chip cookie recipes… I have a problem, I know). It was pretty straightforward so I decided to give it a go.

Verdict? Delicious. Not anything particularly earth-shattering or special, but really quite good and easy to boot. I should have underbaked a bit more so they’d be a little softer, but they were still delightful. I did have to use some white chocolate chips because I ran out of the regular ones and I had an open bag… yay for resourcefulness. :)

Chocolate Chip Cookies a la Joy the Baker
Makes about 30 smaller cookies.
adapted from here.

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 large egg, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cup + 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
~ 1 1/4 cup chocolate chips of choice

In a large bowl, beat together butter and sugars until well combined and slightly fluffy (but don’t mix TOO much). Add in egg and vanilla, and mix until combined. In a separate bowl, stir together dry ingredients. Add dry to wet and stir until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips. Let chill for 30 minutes or overnight.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a baking sheet. Place tablespoon-sized balls of dough about 2 inches apart on baking sheet, and bake for 12-15 minutes or until edges are JUST slightly browned (overbaking makes harder, tougher cookies that are still delicious, but not QUITE what I wanted!)

Pack ’em up and share them with friends in your dorm room. Or anyone who appreciates a good chocolate chip cookie.

How do you prepare for new quarters/school years/etc?

Do you prefer cookie dough or cookies? I like dough allll the way :)

16 Responses to “how [not] to prepare for a new quarter. [more choc. chip cookies!]”

  1. Jess@HealthyExposures March 28, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    Dough all the way! They’re pretty much the only reason I bake cookies. “Cleaning” the bowl and utensils is the best part.
    The cookies all look wonderful; and I love that little bowl with the ribbon!! Too cute.
    Hope you’re able to catch up on some sleep before your first class :]

  2. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 28, 2011 at 4:48 am #

    I’m definitely a dough ball girl, but cookies are still really delicious! Good luck with school!

  3. movesnmunchies March 28, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    ahah thats my Q of the DAy question! seems like cookie dough is the winner- I AGREE! ahh today was the start of my quarter too… dreadfull.. i got 5 hours of sleep and feel like POOP on a stick!

  4. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) March 28, 2011 at 6:55 am #

    Haha, love how you prepared for the new quarter. Cookies make the best preparation for EVERYTHING!! :D
    Dough for me without a single doubt!! My mom and I always find it kind of odd that we never end up with nearly as many cookies as the recipe says it makes… oops! ;) I had a friend who was known to make a batch of cookie dough and just split it between her and her brother. I like her thinking except, why did she share it??? ;)

    <3 <3

  5. Jess March 28, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    ah good luck with the new quarter!
    and I definitely like dough better:)

  6. Ellie March 28, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    I love the dough but I think I’m more of a cookie person! Because of the chewiness and fluffiness haha. But still gotta try Annie’s o.g. doughballs! so curious. :D have a great day Nicole!

  7. missymiller March 28, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Cookies = preparedness in my book.

  8. Ma Ma Megan March 28, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    I prefer cookies to dough. But that doesn’t mean I won’t lick the the bowl clean :P

    But if your talking brownies, I totally would rather have the batter!

  9. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate March 28, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    I am all about the dough ;)

  10. keepnthefaith March 28, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    I’m ALL about the dough!!! I do enjoy a warm and melty cookie every once in a while, but I would much rather just eat a bowl of cookie dough :)

  11. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) March 28, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    DOUGH for sure! I’ll eat anything with sugar, but cookie dough / cake batter / brownie batter is the best!

  12. theflourishingfoodie March 28, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Your list is like my life story, I’m so easily distracted. The cookie dough and cookies look super yummy!

  13. Tara March 28, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    I’m a muffin person. But when it comes to cookie dough or cookies, I could go either way. I need someone to remind me to make these freaking dough balls! Obviously the blogosphere approves, I just always forget.
    Good luck catching up on sleep and finding your classes. I’m failing at the sleep part too.

  14. Namaste Gurl March 28, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Ugh, school. Don’t remind me :) Glad you made it home safely!

  15. katshealthcorner March 31, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    YUM! Yeah or cookies! :D

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. numbers. « Of Cookies & Carrots - March 28, 2011

    […] chocolate chip cookies :) […]

Leave a Reply

