wiaw: weekend waffles.

30 Mar

Glad you all enjoyed my randomness yesterday… we will continue with a variation on that theme with my random eats last Saturday for the next installment of What I Ate Wednesday.

“Brunch” (What happens when you wake up at noon…)

Actually, I’m probably going to cheat a bit and pretty much just focus on breakfast. For which I made waffles… Probably the first time I’ve had waffles in months, actually (though my school does have a belgian waffle maker thing… I’ve never actually gotten it, not entirely sure why!).

I remember when I first got my waffle iron. I think I used it every day for a solid week. Lately it’s been rusting, needing so much more than dusting, needing exercise, a chance to use its skills… (If you know what Disney movie I just quoted you earn 20 brownie points, just sayin’).

This batch of waffles was also because I had half a banana laying around and I wanted something healthy. It wasn’t exactly light; the oats and wheat bran gave it a heartier texture, and the lack of fat meant it wasn’t quite as crisp (a bout in the oven would probably have helped solve this but I am notoriously impatient). At any rate, it scored pretty high on the nutrition factor and when topped with some frozen berries and sugar-free syrup was a delightfully easy, ever-so-slightly decadent, and wonderful breakfast. I adapted the recipe from one on Fitting It All In, a really fun blog, go check her out! :)

Whole Wheat, Vegan, Sugar-Free Banana Waffles
Adapted from here.

1/2 tablespoon ground flax + 3 tablespoons hot water (or 2-3 tablespoons liquid egg substitute)
1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
2 tablespoons wheat bran
2 tablespoons oatmeal
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 packet stevia, or to taste
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk or nondairy milk of choice
additional water as needed

Preheat your waffle maker according to instructions.

In a small bowl or measuring cup, mix together flax and water and let sit until thickened. In a separate bowl, mix together dry ingredients. Stir in almond milk and “egg” until just combined. If the batter seems too thick, add a tablespoon or two of water (this may also change the texture of the waffle). Add extra sweetener to taste, but make sure not to over-mix your batter!

Spray waffle maker with nonstick spray and cook waffle according to instructions.

Put some berries on it, or some syrup, or some chocolate, or some peanut butter, or whatever your little heart desires.

Without toppings, this has 264 calories, 10 grams of protein, 7 grams of fiber. Not too shabby.

Dinner

I kind of snacked for awhile so dinner was low-key. And by low-key I mean I ate half of a butternut squash because it was my last day at home. The pictures aren’t the best and I put too much salt so I didn’t get the delightful sweetness, but that’s okay. It was still butternutty and delicious. ;)

I also put some of it in a wrap, because I’m minorly obsessed with wraps. In case you didn’t remember.

And because I was in a sweets-loving mood I had a late-night snack of pancakes. Again not super photogenic. But that’s okay.

Eat anything good lately? What’s your favorite waffle topping?

Can you guess the Disney movie? It’s my favorite ;)

19 Responses to “wiaw: weekend waffles.”

  1. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) March 30, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Most days we just lay around the castle… flat, flabby, and lazy, you walked in and oopsy daisy!

    I LOVE Beauty and the Beast :)

  2. keepnthefaith March 30, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    I need a waffle iron so badly!! I love waffles. I used to get one everytime I went out to eat after one of my soccer games. Id get the ones with the faces on them made out of fruit and whipped cream. Oh yes :)

  3. hippierunner March 30, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Bahaha! I was singing along to that movie earlier today during babysitting, the baby was like so impressed and I was like hello buddy, we’ve watched this like 8 times in the last few weeks, of course I know the words!

  4. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 30, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    AH! These waffles look so amazing! I love that there are raspberries and blackberries on top!!

  5. Ma Ma Megan March 30, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Favorite waffle topping is PB and bananas and blackberries! yumm.

    Waffles are my second favorite breakfast next to oatmeal :)

  6. Erica D March 30, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    My school used to have a waffle maker, but we all abused it…so it’s no more ;) oops!

    Pity, because my choice for brunch used to be a waffle topped with peanut butter, yogurt, & fruit! Delicious.

  7. Mandi March 30, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    Those waffles look great! I haven’t had any in so long, mainly because our waffle iron is defective and always results in a sticky mess. My favorite topping would have to be berries. :)

  8. Namaste Gurl March 30, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Mmmm, vegan berry waffles and a late-night snack of pancakes. Now that sounds like my kind of eats! :)
    Let’s hang- out soon, sweet girl!

  9. Ellie March 31, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    WAFFLESSS??!!! did I hear that right? Mmmmm my fave toppings are surprise surprise, greek yogurt! hhaaha~along with nut butters and berries, and some mascarpone cheese pleeease :D have a great day Nicole!

  10. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! March 31, 2011 at 3:27 am #

    Beauty and the Beast! One of my all time favorite Disney movies! SO good!

    And those waffles look fabulous btw….I could always go for a yummy waffle!

  11. Jess@HealthyExposures March 31, 2011 at 4:16 am #

    That looked like a goooood wednesdday, what with the waffle, pancakes and that yummy looking wrap :] Can I come over next wednesday? ;)
    Okay, so lately, I’ve been SO indecisive as to how I want to top my waffles. It’s becoming a serious problem…in that, this morning I had one with sweet potato butter…half of one with earth balance and cinnamon sugar…the other half with crofter’s jam…half of one with honey peanut butter and the other half with maple almond butter. If you can imagine, they were three itty bitty waffles because I couldn’t decide what I wanted on top. And I still am no closer to deciding my favorite :P

  12. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons March 31, 2011 at 7:50 am #

    I totally want butternut squash now! =) ahhh yum! Your waffles look AMAZING nicole!!!! =) gorgeous photos of it too!!! <3

    we totally need to catch up btw! <3

  13. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy March 31, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    I got the cookies and all the goodies in the mail. You totally outdid yourself!! Thank you SO much!!!! By the way, the white chocolate chip cranberry cookies are literally the best cookies I have ever eaten in my entire life!!! Have you posted the recipe?

  14. fashionfitnessfoodie March 31, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Those are the prettiest waffles that I ever did see :)

  15. Carlee March 31, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    ALL your photos are gorgeous girl! I love the setting of the waffles! They look delicious! Looks like I need to try that recipe!

    My favorite waffle topping is DEFINTITLY peanut buter and syrup! And jelly too! and butter and sugar! < wa-hooo! haha.

    We'll stick with simplyu peanut butter though ;)

  16. Anthony March 31, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Like it! Cannot wait to pour my maple syrup on top!
    For more interesting recipes, check at:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Hope you find recipes that you like!

  17. Tara March 31, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    I actually love putting trail mix and yogurt on top of my waffles. The trail mix has to have chocolate in it so they get all melty in the waffle dimples.

  18. Hillary [Nutrition Nut on the Run] April 2, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    love waffles… and i especially love HEALTHY waffles =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Featured Food Friday: Bananas! « XC Foodie - June 3, 2011

    […] from Of Cookies & Carrots made beautiful Banana Waffles! Her photography skills are bangin’ and her cooking skills […]

Leave a Reply

