schoolhouse rock

31 Mar

Anybody ever watch that? That whole “conjunction junction” bit?

I actually didn’t. So sue me. Though the idea of memorizing things with music is really appealing to me… I tend to get things stuck in my head easily. Maybe Rebecca Black’s Friday can be considered a teaching tool as well, for four year olds learning the days of the week (because otherwise it definitely shouldn’t exist). But I digress…

The “rocking” schoolhouse I’m really talking about is Schoolhouse Kitchen. I was fortunate enough to be invited to join the Foodzie Tasting Panel by the lovely Jessica at Healthy Exposures (side note: I almost died I was so flattered). So every month, I get to try one item from the Foodzie box and try to come up with a recipe for it. This month? Schoolhouse Kitchen’s Horseradish Dill Mustard.

I love that Schoolhouse Kitchen is based on the notion of giving back. Proceeds go to education, specifically farm-based education programs. And the top of the jar is just too cute/wonderful for words.

The mustard itself was awesome. Tangy and sweet and just slightly spicy. I’m not a huge fan of mustard or dill but somehow I loved it. But what, you ask, did I make with it?

Well, seeing as it arrived today and our submissions are due tonight (silly me forgot to e-mail them my address in a timely fashion), I went with something quick and easy but still delicious: veggie burgers.

Black Bean Mustard Veggie Burger
Makes two patties

1/2 cup black beans
2 tablespoons Schoolhouse Kitchen Horseradish-Dill Mustard
1 egg white
2 tablespoons cornmeal
1 tablespoon flour
1/8 teaspoon salt (more to taste, depending on whether your black beans are salted)
1/4 cup diced veggies of choice (I used onions and bell peppers)
1/2-1 tablespoon nutritional yeast (optional)
2-4 tablespoons breadcrumbs (optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and grease a baking sheet quite well.

In a small bowl, mash black beans very well. Add in mustard and continue mashing. Add egg white and stir until well mixed. Add in cornmeal, flour, salt, veggies, and nutritional yeast (if using). Stir together well (this will be a kind of goopy mess). If desired, add in breadcrumbs. If your mixture is far too liquidy (it should be pretty wet, but should kind of clump together pretty decently) then add another tablespoon of flour or cornmeal. Add more salt to taste.

Spoon mixture into two separate “patties” on baking sheet (as shown in photo above recipe). Bake for about 5 minutes, then remove and let set for 2 or so minutes. Flip patties over (they’ll be kind of delicate, so watch out) and bake for another 4-5 minutes or until relatively hardened.

Let cool and serve up on a bun of your choosing. I was unable to obtain lettuce and tomatoes, but I imagine that would be amazing.

Of course, you can also serve it up with some more mustard. Just to give it a little extra creamy kick.

As for me? I’m studying neuropsychology and I’ve never seen so many terms in my life… to the tune of “geniculostriate pathway” or “oligodendroglia” or “ventromedial system”.

Too bad there’s no song for that.

Did you actually do the whole Schoolhouse Rock thing? I was a Magic School Bus girl myself ;)

26 Responses to “schoolhouse rock”

  1. katshealthcorner March 31, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    I used to watch Magic School Bus all of the time! I LOVE IT!!! Ms. Frizzle is my favorite! :D

  2. Ellie March 31, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    this looks awesome, mustard is one of my fave condiments! I actually DID see the video right before I came to the U.S.!! haha and sooo crazy!! I just sang this song today while I was at work haha!

  3. Christine @ Merf In Progress March 31, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    In college I sang with an a cappella group, and we did a Schoolhouse Rock medley. I loved the preamble to the Constitution song. I can still recite the words to the Preamble, which is a great cocktail party trick (not).

  4. Mandi March 31, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    I remember watching school house rock a couple times, but I definitely preferred magic school bus. :D Those veggie burgers look great! Although I’m not sure how I’d like that mustard- I’ve never been a fan of horseradish.

  5. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) March 31, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Conjunction junction, what’s your function? Hooking up words and phrases and clauses…

    That’s the second time in two days your blog has made me sing! :)

  6. Erica D April 1, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    Magic School bus all the way!! Although I do still have the Preamble memorized from a Schoolhouse Rock video, and that’s pretty impressive.

  7. Tara April 1, 2011 at 3:53 am #

    Congrats! That sounds like so much fun. The recipe is awesome because I don’t need that many veggie burgers, and this makes enough just for me (or me and a friend).
    I was a magic school bus girl too. I never saw school house rock until 7th grade.

  8. Jess@HealthyExposures April 1, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    Oooh, the burgers look awesome! I can just imagine that mustard with black beans; yum! Glad you were excited about the challenge :]

  9. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) April 1, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    Yay! I’m glad you got onto the tasting panel thing! That sounds like SO much fun!! :D

    Awww.. those burgers look AMAZING girl!!!! I really, really want to try them! :)

    <3 <3

  10. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 1, 2011 at 5:00 am #

    I didn’t really like Schoolhouse Rock either! Totally agree on the Magic School Bus! That show was so good. Your veggie burgers look delish!! Have a great Friday!

  11. Ma Ma Megan April 1, 2011 at 5:53 am #

    I remember watching schoolhouse rock but I don’t remember anything I learned. haha.
    I’ve never seen any magic school house shows, but i’ve read books!

  12. Jenny April 1, 2011 at 7:10 am #

    Lol they use to make us watch school house rocks in elementary. I thought it was cute haha Those veggies burgers look delicious! :D

  13. movesnmunchies April 1, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    i loved schoolhouse rock AND magic school bus!!! so lucky you got to try that- !! nice recipe too gal-woo!

  14. Jess April 1, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    omg magic schoolbus- i loved it!

  15. keepnthefaith April 1, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    Mmmm I’m always on the lookout for a new vegie burger recipe :)

  16. Carlee April 1, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    That veg burger sounds AWESOME! And looks awesome too! I love how they put cornmeal and nooch in it!

  17. paijery April 1, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Ahh that mustard needs to be in my life!! With the veggie burgers of course :)
    I used to watch magic school bus! So many great lessons lol!!

  18. fashionfitnessfoodie April 1, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    conjunction junction whats your function!?!?
    im not a big mustard or dill fan either so i’m wondering if i would like this too!

  19. The Teenage Taste April 2, 2011 at 6:15 am #

    I’ve seen Schoolhouse Rock numerous times (maybe a little too much?) but my favorite is still Bill Nye the Science Guy. I loved those shows!

    Congrats on being chosen for Foodzie! What an honor! Those veggie burgers look awesome!

  20. Jess April 2, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    I remember school house rock–wow!! LONG time ago :)

    YUMMMM!!

  21. BrittFit April 2, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    mmmmmmmmm great recipe idea! I’m definitely trying this when i get home :)

  22. MegSmith April 2, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    Haha I still remember the School House Rock from junior high…it was ridiculous

    Those veggie patties looks wonderful!!!

  23. MegSmith April 2, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    look* (sorry)

  24. Sara April 2, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    first off, hell yeah magic schoolbus was the greatest
    2nd, i am a new blogger, who is slightly embarrassed/shy about blogging and can you offer any words of wisdom/tips?
    3rd, if you are still on the hunt for awesome chocolate chip cookies i have one that might interest you…

  25. kissmybroccoli April 5, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    I think I maybe saw one Schoolhouse Rock video in school…something about prepositions I think. I was much more of a Magic School Bus gal tho, especially the one where they explored the inside of the stomach! Who knew then that I’d end up with a medical career? :)

    I saw that mustard on Jess’s blog the other day and started drooling immediately! You lucky duck! And those bean burgs look/sound great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. welcome to my life. « Of Cookies & Carrots - April 6, 2011

    […] Dinner! I froze one of the two black bean burgers I made last week so I could have it on a busy day. Like, perhaps, […]

Leave a Reply

