fiberlicious.

4 Apr

I’m braindead already so please excuse the ridiculous title. I may or may not be humming Fergalicious in my head. Please don’t judge?

Awhile back I was sent some lovely goods from FiberGourmet, a company that makes low-calorie versions of many of your favorite treats. Unfortunately I haven’t had time to try out the one I was most excited about, their whole wheat pasta, but I will definitely let you know when I do!

My loot also consisted of a few different bags of high-fiber snack crackers mimicking Cheeze-Its and Wheat Thins. I also got a microwavable cinnamon cake to try out. Nutritionally, they all looked awesome: 80 calories for the bag and tons of fiber, with 90 for the mini cake. But what about flavor?

Nacho Snacks

These were quite good. They had a little bit of that grainy feel as a result of the extra fiber, but they were also impressively filling. Normally I want to keep eating crackers indefinitely but I felt mostly satisfied by thsi snack pack. To me, they basically tasted like Cheese-Its with a little bit of spice to them.

Cheese Snacks

These were more “basic” version of the aforementioned Nacho Snacks. I thought they could’ve used maybe a bit more cheesy punch but they definitely hit the spot! I think most people who rely on Cheeze-Its will probably notice the grainier feel but for those of us who are more healthily inclined they’re definitely a great substitute.

Wheat Snacks

I think these were my favorite! They don’t have quite the same nutty taste as Wheat Thins or anything, but they’re unassumingly wheaty. Also, the somewhat “fiber”-y texture is less noticeable in these, because I wasn’t expecting a purely white-flour texture (as I would with Cheeze-Its).

They lent themselves quite well to being dipped in hummus… but I definitely ate most of the bag plain. Again, these actually felt satisfying and filling, which is highly abnormal for crackers.

Cinnamon Cake

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect of this… Two little packets mixed together with water = cake?!

I do like the idea of a smaller portion-size of cake, though, because I can never justify baking an entire one…

The verdict? I liked it. It was light and sweet and satisfying and didn’t taste like fiber. I thought it was a little too sweet, though, and I purposely didn’t put all of the sugar topping (it looked like way too much to me, and turns out it was!).

Thanks FiberGourmet, for sharing your products with me! It was definitely fun to try them out and I would definitely eat them as snacks on occasion or when I need a cracker/cake fix.

Note: I received these products free of charge from FiberGourmet, but the opinions above are 100% honest and aside from the products I am not being compensated for sharing my opinion. :)

12 Responses to “fiberlicious.”

  1. Ellie April 4, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Mmmm I used to eat a bag of cheez-its evvveryyy single day when I was in high school! No wonder I had food coma the next class haha. Great eats nicole! hope you’re doing great :D

  2. movesnmunchies April 5, 2011 at 4:07 am #

    oo desse look TASTyy … i LOVE ME FIBER!

  3. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 5, 2011 at 4:55 am #

    The snacks all sound pretty tasty! Great review! :)

  4. kissmybroccoli April 5, 2011 at 6:22 am #

    Always great to find healthified and portion-controlled treats! I bought a bag of the cheddar flavor Food Should Taste Good chips and cracked them open last night…yeah, I almost ate HALF the bag…did I mention they came from Sam’s Club? Yeah, BIG bag! :-/ Haha!

  5. BrittFit April 5, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    looks delish :)

  6. Jenny April 5, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Cheddar flavored chips are the best! I just bought some cheddar sun chips Sunday and it reminded me of how long it had been since I had chips :D

  7. Kimberley April 5, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I read this post earlier but was in a hurry and didn’t comment, but I have had the fergie song stuck in my head every since except I have been using “fiberlicious” ha ha

  8. Carlee April 5, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Oooh! The cheez its look the best for sure! I wish I could eat em! :)

  9. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) April 5, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    All those crackers look fabulous! :D I used to like cheese-its so I might like the cheese ones, and I know I would love the wheat snacks :)

    Great review!! Have a fabulous week girlie! :)

    <3 <3

  10. fashionfitnessfoodie April 5, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    OOO everything looks so amazing :)Where can I buy!?

  11. megan @ the oatmeal diaries April 6, 2011 at 1:01 am #

    I love single-serve cakes too! All these snacks look tasty :)

  12. Stephanie April 6, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Fiberlicious. Hee hee. Doesn’t take much to amuse me! :) Those crackers look delicious!

Leave a Reply

