welcome to my life.

6 Apr

For a twist on What I Ate Wednesday, I’m gonna bring you a day in my life…

8:00 Wake up in the morning feeling nothing like P. Diddy. Unless P. Diddy feels groggy and drugged-out. Which actually is plausible…

I’m typically ravenous when I wake up, so I ate right when I woke up. I neglected to take a picture of the after portion, but I used Katie’s Voluminous Oatmeal trick and here’s what it looked like last night…

cuckoo for cocoa powder

I then hopped back into bed and reset my alarm for 9:05, aka 10 minutes before my class starts…

9:20. Actually roll out of bed and make my way to class. Oops.

9:20-1:00 Do some learning. About the millions of parts of the brain, acid-base equilibria, and how to use statistics in biological studies.

1:00-1:15. Rush back to my dorm room and prep me one of these:

I just discovered these at my school yesterday. I was already a fan of Amy’s Breakfast Burritos, but the gluten-free version intrigued me. The outside looks kind of crepe-like, and somehow it gets slightly crispy in the microwave.

I actually liked it better than the gluten-filled version! But Amy’s can basically do no wrong, so…

1:15-1:30 – Shower. And put on my second outfit of the day…

1:30-2:00 – Walk a few blocks to a copy shop to pick up my bio lab manual. Yes, it’s the second week of the quarter. Apparently out of 124 students enrolled, I was #121 to pick up their manual… whooops.

2:15-3:20 – Learn Industrial/Organizational Psychology from possibly the cutest old professor ever. He’s wonderful.

3:20-3:30. Have a snack. A salady snack. (Had other snacks scattered throughout the day that I’m not bringing up because I didn’t photograph them…)

taste the rainbow!

3:30-4:15. Update my resume for the career fair on campus.

4:15-5:00. Spend forever trying on outfits for aforementioned career fair. Of course I didn’t realize the new clothes I bought were just a touch too big until just now… Oops.

Outfit #3… well, part of it. Not my best outfit OR my best photograph. Or cleanest mirror. Or most flattering picture. Thank you awkward angle for making my hips look even wider.

Also got side tracked and take pictures of myself making ridiculous faces. Because I can.

My friends call this “the Nicole face”


5:00-6:45. Chat it up with lots of potential employers as I try to figure out what exactly I want to do with my summer. At this point I’m not even sure what continent I’ll be on… I’d love to find an internship somewhere around here, but my interests are so varied that I’m not ever quite sure how to present myself!

6:45-7:15 Dinner! I froze one of the two black bean burgers I made last week so I could have it on a busy day. Like, perhaps, today.

7:15-7:45. Make cookie dough. It’s still sitting in my fridge. I’ll tell you allll about it once I bake it. ;)

7:45-indefinitely. Do massive amounts of neuropsychology reading. Do massive amounts of blogreading. Write this post. Probably enjoy my new favorite thing ever: pb flour + dark chocolate cocoa powder + stevia + salt + water. nom.

And to think this isn’t even the busiest day this week…

Yikes!!!

Tell me about your day! :)

22 Responses to “welcome to my life.”

  1. keepnthefaith April 6, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    My day sucked, but it all of a sudden got better :) your posts always make me smile girl. Thx for being you!!

  2. Mandi April 6, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    My day wasn’t too exciting. I woke up at 6 to go for run, then came back to shower and eat, headed off to work, then got home and spent my time reading blogs and doing homework. I’m excited to see the result of that cookie dough though. :) And I love your ‘second outfit of the day’. You, Nicole, are gorgeous!

  3. Emilia April 6, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    My main question is…. where’s the copious amounts of carrots?
    :)

  4. snackgirlgoeshealthy April 6, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    I swear I would marry you if I was a guy! YOUR GORG! AKA gorgeous ;) Seriously stuunnning! I can’t tell you enough times!! and I don’t say that all that often!!

    Anyhow those burritos look delicious! IMMA pick me one up tomorrow at the health market! The wrap of it looks kinnnda funny though! ahah.

    I’m ready to try one of those burgers now! :)

  5. Jess@HealthyExposures April 7, 2011 at 4:30 am #

    You’re so pretty, girl! And hush – I love the career fair outfit ;)

  6. Kimberley April 7, 2011 at 5:46 am #

    I love the amount of outfit changes ;)

  7. BrittFit April 7, 2011 at 5:55 am #

    good luck with all your school work… I’ve been there girl …. YOU CAN DO IT!

  8. movesnmunchies April 7, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    ahahaha love the wake up…i never feel like P.Diddy….
    ah how does all that keep you full?? i would be starvin.. but i suppose i just have a very big appetite… !
    WOW.. that cookie dough looks insanee

  9. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 7, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    Looks like you’ve got it together for being so darn busy! <3 I love how you still manage to eat super healthy in college! I did sometimes, but there were a lot of nachos in my face. and also panera bread wayyyy to frequently. and the pizza… ok I was a hot mess while I got my BS! true story!

    I have to find that burrito!!!! yum! I love that its dairy free!

    Happy WIAW Nicole! <3

  10. This Italian Family April 7, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Nicole, you are stunning. So beautiful. Really. Just thought you should know. :)

    Also, lotsa yummy eats in this post!

  11. hippierunner April 7, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Whooo #121 lol!! You are so pretty; you’re nuts if you think your hips look wide! Is that oatmeal cookie dough? Mmmmm. Awesome post!

  12. fashionfitnessfoodie April 7, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    love your silly faces.
    my day is not as exciting as yours.
    it would look like
    wake up
    eat
    play
    eat
    blog
    eat
    you get the point :)

  13. Ma Ma Megan April 7, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Your so perty.
    I have a signature “megan face” i’m told. ha. I don’t notice when I pull it though ;)

    That burrito looks yummy. I’ve tried the one with gluten in it – but now I want to try the gluten free one!

  14. katshealthcorner April 7, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    You are so cute! :D My day was amazing, because of THIS POST! :D

  15. Tara April 7, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    My was not nearly as packed as yours! My outfits consisted of pajamas, school attire, and workout clothes. I went to school, went to my track meet, went to the gym (I didn’t run at the meet because I’m hurt and have to use the elliptical :( ) and then finally got home! I guess I was pretty busy after all.

  16. Jenny April 7, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    I love all the close up pictures of you, so gorgeous!!! Yummy voluminous oats, wish there was the after pic :D Can’t wait to see what you do with the cookie dough, yummyyyy

  17. runyogarepeat April 7, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Good luck on figuring out your summer plans! I am such a planner, so it kills me not to have a plan set yet.

  18. Nicolette @ Momnivore's Dilemma April 7, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Back when I was in college in the stone age, gluten wasn’t in the American lexicon like it is now.

    Does that Amy’s burrito have any soy in it??? I know it said GF and vegan…just wondering if you know off hand. I used to eat those all the time when I was in grad school.

    Your schedule makes me pine for the days when learning was my only responsibility…Sigh… Maybe when my kids go to school…LOL…

  19. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) April 8, 2011 at 4:34 am #

    Even though I’ve said it like a million times…. you’re so gorgeous girl!! You really are! :D

    My day was filled with school (sigh), bioscience club meetings, helping my brother ask his girlfriend to prom (we spelled “prom?” with that party paper stuff and taped it onto her garage!), and of course, some yummy food :D

    Your cookie dough is making me want to make some cookies!! Cookie dough makes for the BEST days ever! :) :)

    <3 <3

  20. Stephanie April 9, 2011 at 6:32 am #

    My day was a busy day, but it seems like every day is a busy day lately! Your salad is pretty…I don’t usually crave salads, but I would love to dive right into that one! You have such beautiful dark eyes.

  21. kissmybroccoli April 10, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    You are the cutest!! I swear your eyes are mesmerizing…and with that I also swear that I’m not hitting on you! ;)

    “Wake up in the morning feeling nothing like P. Diddy. Unless P. Diddy feels groggy and drugged-out. Which actually is plausible…” <- You CRACK me up! Haha!

    I'm def gonna have to try out the pb flour/cocoa combo! Sounds yum!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. tgif: monkey edition. « Of Cookies & Carrots - April 8, 2011

    […] Anyways, about that cookie dough… […]

Leave a Reply

