mail-marathon-manic-monday.

11 Apr

I finished my test! Still have about 50 million things to do, but at least that’s less than 50 million and one… right?

Today was quite a day. Let’s get you up to speed on my life. Let’s just say I made a borderline-insane decision this morning…

Yep. I signed up for a half-marathon. Nope, I’ve never run race. The most I’ve run in one go is 7 miles. I figure I have 6 months… I should be able to do it, right? I’m okay with walking parts if necessary. I consider this an early birthday present to me… The race is the 16th, and my birthday is the 19th (is that in your calendars yet?!). Now I just need to get these feet out on the pavement…

I also got some mail. I *love* mail.

This package only included two items. But they were two very wonderful items…

Yeah, I forgot my charger at home. Luckily my friend has an xTI as well so I just used hers… but still annoying! So I was happy to be reunited. :)

And the kicker…

Please disregard the nutritional facts. The important part is the description. Crunchy chocolate confection egg filled with Sonho de Valsa bon bons. These maaaassive Easter eggs are a Brazilian tradition… and my mom likes to send them to me.

I’m not complaining.

For size reference, here’s the monster egg next to my Mickey cup…

That, my friends, is over a pound of chocolate. Be jealous.

And of course no package would be complete without an appearance by the furballs:

Thanks momma. :)

Okay, that’s all I got for ya for now. I have some foodie-plans in the works but have been somewhat low on energy/time so it’s been hard to squeeze them in! I’ll try to get something more interesting up soon though. ;)

What’s your favorite easter candy?
Anyone else running the Nike marathon? I know if you’re not a student there’s a random drawing involved so I guess nobody knows yet… yay for being a student! Except for that whole “test” thing…

23 Responses to “mail-marathon-manic-monday.”

  1. Jenny April 11, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    I am very jealous of your chocolate, not even gonna lie. And yay for being done with your test! Bet you kicked butt :D

  2. Mandi April 11, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Ahh, I’m excited for you about that half marathon! I’d really like to do you one too sometime but I’m pretty intimidated by the idea. That egg is huge! And I have to admit, you have me quite jealous of it over here. :) My favorite Easter candy would have to be those caddbury mini eggs. Seriously, if I find those in my house they’ll be gone in a day.

  3. Ma Ma Megan April 11, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Ah I’m so excited for you! Better get training :)
    I would love to do a half marathon someday. But first I’m going to try a 5k :P

  4. hippierunner April 11, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Ahh, can’t wait for you to start training! It’s going to be so exciting for ya!! I want a piece of that egg!!

  5. keepnthefaith April 11, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    I’m so jealous of that egg!! Its ginormous! I wish my parents would send me sweet treats and care packages like that. My mom just buys me kitchen hand towels.

  6. fashionfitnessfoodie April 11, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    At first I thought it said that the serving size was 1.5 and was thinking ummm where do i get one of those!?!? Still, its always nice to indulge!

    I want to run a half too but I can only run about 6….We’ve got time :)

  7. Tara April 11, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Congrats on signing up for the race! You’re gonna do awesome. Races are my favorite thing ever.
    That egg is huge! I want one! My favorite easter candy is definitely dark chocolate coconut cream eggs.

  8. silvana April 11, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Danny made the card!
    Love,
    Mom

  9. katshealthcorner April 11, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Congrats on signing up for your Marathon! I wish I can do a Marathan some day. :)

  10. Ellie April 11, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    way to go on the race Nicole!! that’s great~ and how funny that they sent you a giant egg! that so reminds me of Argentina! ahhh memories…

  11. movesnmunchies April 12, 2011 at 3:53 am #

    YAY for the 1/2! thats kinda what i did too.. i was like WHY NOT!!? you will be so so prepared do not fret!!

  12. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition April 12, 2011 at 6:20 am #

    Congrats on registering for your first race!! That is so exciting! You can do it!

  13. BrittFit April 12, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    haha love this post. those dogs are soooo cute

  14. itsthecookiemonster April 12, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    hey! thanks for your commments! you have no idea how happy it makes me when someone is reading my blog! :) i replied to u on my blog !

    that easter egg is gignormous! i saw those on granville island (i live in vancouver) and i really really wanted to get one but my friend pulled me away, thank goodness she did! LOL

  15. Jess@HealthyExposures April 12, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    ahaha…that first picture of the egg? my immediate thought was “Is that a ham?!?!”. Yes, I thought someone mailed you…a ham. I’m still laughing a little.
    Congrats on signing up for the marathon, girl! I absolutely know you can do it!!

  16. Vivianne April 12, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    I think it’s so great that you took the plunge and registered for a race! Racing is exhilarating. I ran xc in high school (;

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! (:

    Maybe I’ll have to get myself a pound of chocolate for exam time… Or just a giant container of PB… or maybe BOTH! (;

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots April 12, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

      haha in another post i showed off the maaassive pb jars my parents buy at home… costco sized. 71 servings (if you count 2 tbsp as a serving, which is kidn of debatable sometimes ;) ). so much deliciousness, so little time.

      <3
      n

  17. Lucy @ The Sweet Touch April 12, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    That egg looks delicious! My favorite Easter candy is the Reese egg – check out my blog if you want to see my homemade version!

  18. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) April 12, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Congratulations on signing up! I could only run six miles two months before my first half marathon- you will be able to do it no problem!

  19. runyogarepeat April 12, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Congrats! I heard that race was awesome, is it the one they give out Tiffany necklaces at the end?! Great choice for your first race!

  20. Gillian April 13, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    My boyfriend is from Sao Paulo and he always talks about those eggs and the way they display them on the ceilings of the markets.

    Congratulations on signing up for the race!

  21. Briana April 13, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    Sorry, I’m late to the party… CONGRATS on signing up for your first half! Signing up is sometimes the hardest part! I ran my first half 2 years ago and I fell in love, hence my running blog! I’m so excited for you :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. bunny-eats. « Of Cookies & Carrots - April 24, 2011

    […] I totally broke out the massive egg […]

Leave a Reply

